Beamish Public Interest Investigation (MPCC‑2016‑040) – Homepage

Military Police Complaints Commission releases Final Report in Public Interest Investigation into allegations of torture and abuse of former CAF members

Ottawa August 31, 2021 – Following a Public Interest Investigation, the Military Police Complaints Commission has found that a Military Police (MP) conduct complaint regarding the adequacy of a Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (CFNIS) into historical allegations of torture and abuse of former members of the Canadian Armed Forces are not substantiated.

The allegations were made by a participant in training exercises at the Infantry Battle School at Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Wainwright between October 1983 and March 1984. The complainant, Jeffry Beamish, alleged that he and 32 other recruits were stripped naked, placed in small prison cells and sprayed repeatedly with cold water while the window to the cells was kept open during sub-zero temperatures in February. They were also subjected to interrogation under a cold shower that went on for several hours.

The recruits were denied access to food or drink, as well as sanitary and toilet facilities. Mr. Beamish and a number of the former trainees have stated that they now suffer from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder as a result of the exercise.

The complaint was filed with the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) in December 2016. Following a preliminary review of material related to the case, MPCC Chairperson Hilary C. McCormack decided to conduct a Public Interest Investigation (PII) into the complaint in April 2018.

Aside from the allegations of torture and abuse, Mr. Beamish also made four other allegations related to the CFNIS lead investigator’s handling of the initial investigation. The PII determined that all five allegations were unsubstantiated, however the MPCC made five recommendations designed to improve military police investigations and oversight.

The MPCC interviewed 40 witnesses during its investigation, which found that the training exercise took place, more or less as alleged by the complainant. The investigation determined that the exercise was not an officially authorized part of the Battle School training and that it was not in keeping with basic infantry training standards at the time.

The PII determined that a Regional Military Prosecutor advised the CFNIS that charges under the Code of Service Discipline of the National Defence Act would not be possible because of the statute of limitations in force at the time of the exercise. Subsequently, a provincial Crown Attorney in Alberta advised the CFNIS that the case also lacked a reasonable prospect of conviction on charges under the Criminal Code.

“This means that, even if there is some evidence to support the elements of a chargeable offence, the chances of actually proving the case are such that it is not worth the expenditure of judicial resources of proceeding with the case,” said Ms. McCormack. “It does not mean that the prosecutor disagrees that the facts, as alleged, occurred,” she said in releasing the 115 page report. The CFNIS did not pursue the investigation or lay charges after receiving the advice of the provincial crown.

In its Final Report, the Commission made three recommendations to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) and two to the Minister of National Defence that address a range of issues, including:

The CFPM has fully accepted two of the three MPCC recommendations addressed to him; while partially accepting the third. At this time, the Commission continues to await a response from the Minister of National Defence to the two recommendations addressed to that office. The Commission intends to re-issue its report once the response from the Minister is received.

“It is hoped that this investigation, in as much as it has vindicated the complainant’s memory and viewpoint, will help to provide him and the other victims with some closure to what was clearly a traumatic event,” said Ms. McCormack. “The criminal justice system is an imperfect institution and one that is not designed for obtaining personal validation or vindication for victims. This is especially true for those who seek recourse after the passage of many years.”

Contact:

Michael Tansey
Communications Advisor
Military Police Complaints Commission
Cell: 613‑851‑4587
Tel: 613‑487‑3765
www.mpcc-cppm.gc.ca

Timeline

Beamish Public Interest Investigation Timeline
Date Event
August 31, 2021 Final Report following a public interest investigation | Available in PDF format only (954 KB)
June 4, 2021 Interim Report setting out the MPCC’s findings and recommendations with respect to the complaint issued to the MND, the CDS, the JAG and the CFPM.
January 28, 2021 Chairperson approves Investigation Assessment Report. Drafting of the MPCC’s Interim Report commences.
November 9, 2020 Investigation Assessment Report submitted to the Commission Chairperson for review and deliberation, with a view to the preparation of the MPCC’s Interim Report to the CF Provost Marshal.
October 6, 2020 MPCC investigative team completes final witness interview. The team proceeds with the preparation of an Investigation Assessment Report.
July 20, 2020 Final response from CFPM to request for search for additional MP records initially requested on January 16, 2019: CFPM unable to access further such records
May 29, 2020 Letter sent to CFPM providing further details on request for search for additional MP records, further to previous letters of January 16, 2019, April 25, 2019 and January 27, 2020.
May 20, 2020 In-person witness interviews resume, with appropriate safety precautions in place
Mid-March 2020 With the implementation of emergency measures in response to the COVID‑19 pandemic, some witness interviews which had been scheduled to be conducted in person had to be cancelled and rescheduled, due to restrictions on travel and on interpersonal contact. Other interviews proceeded by telephone. The emergency situation also slowed the processing of disclosure requests.
January 27, 2020 Letter sent to CFPM to narrow scope of search for additional MP records relative to disclosure request of January 16 and April 25, 2019
January 8, 2020 Response to disclosure request of December 16, 2019 received from Canadian Army Doctrine & Training Centre.
December 16, 2019 Request for disclosure of further information and materials sent to CFPM.
October 9, 2019 Disclosure of the information and documents requested on September 6, 2019 provided to the Commission by the CF MP Group
September 10, 2019 Portion of the materials requested in the Commission's January 16 and April 25, 2019 letters provided to the Commission by the CF MP Group. Information also provided to the Commission about searches being conducted to locate additional materials
September 6, 2019 Request sent to the CFPM for disclosure of additional information and materials
April 25, 2019 Letter sent to the CF MP Group reiterating the Commission’s January 16, 2019 request to have Military Police records searched to locate additional relevant materials
April 25, 2019 CFNIS member involved in supervising the CFNIS investigation identified as an additional subject of the complaint and notified by the Commission
April 5, 2019 Disclosure of a portion of the documents requested on January 16, 2019 provided to the Commission by the CF MP Group
April 1, 2019 Letter received from the CF MP Group advising that no records were found in response to the Commission’s disclosure request of December 13, 2018
March 29, 2019 Letter received from the CF MP Group providing information in response to the Commission’s January 17, 2019 request for disclosure
January 17, 2019 Request sent to the CFPM for disclosure of additional information and materials
January 16, 2019 Letter sent to the CF MP Group requesting that Military Police records be searched to locate additional relevant materials, further to the receipt by the Commission of documents provided by the complainant
January 11, 2019 Letter received from the CF MP Group advising that no records were found in response to the Commission’s disclosure request of December 10, 2018
December 20, 2018 Disclosure of the documents requested on December 4, 2018 provided to the Commission by the CAF
December 13, 2018 Request sent to the CFPM for disclosure of additional DND/CAF records believed to be relevant to the PII
December 10, 2018 Request sent to the CFPM for disclosure of additional Military Police records
December 4, 2018 Disclosure request sent to the CAF for access to documents relevant to the PII
November 28, 2018 Witness interviews begin
November 15, 2018 Disclosure of the documents requested on October 3, 2018 provided to the Commission by the CFPM
October 3, 2018 Request for additional disclosure sent to the CFPM
September 5, 2018 Investigative assessment and plan approved by the Commission Chairperson
April 11, 2018 Decision to conduct a public interest investigation
Date modified:

Enquête d'intérêt public Beamish (CPPM‑2016‑040) – Accueil

La Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire publie son rapport final sur l’enquête d’intérêt public sur les allégations de torture et d’abus sur d’anciens membres des FAC

Ottawa le 31 août 2021 – À la suite d’une enquête d’intérêt public, la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) a conclu qu’une plainte pour inconduite déposée concernant le caractère inadéquat d’une enquête menée par le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) sur des allégations historiques de torture et de mauvais traitements infligés à d’anciens membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) n’est pas vérifiée.

Les allégations ont été déposées par un participant à des exercices d’entraînement à l’École de combat d’infanterie de la base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) Wainwright entre octobre 1983 et mars 1984. Le plaignant, Jeffrey Beamish, alléguait que lui et 32 autres recrues ont été déshabillés, placés dans de petites cellules de prison et aspergés à plusieurs reprises d’eau froide alors que la fenêtre des cellules était maintenue ouverte par des températures inférieures à zéro en plein mois de février. Ils ont également été soumis à un interrogatoire sous une douche froide qui a duré plusieurs heures.

Les recrues se sont vu refuser l’accès à la nourriture ou à la boisson, ainsi qu’aux installations sanitaires. M. Beamish et un certain nombre d’anciens stagiaires ont déclaré qu’ils souffrent aujourd’hui du syndrome de stress post‑traumatique attribuable à cet exercice.

La plainte a été déposée auprès de la CPPM en décembre 2016. Après un examen préliminaire des documents liés à l’affaire, la présidente de la CPPM, Hilary C. McCormack, a décidé de mener une enquête d’intérêt public (EIP) sur la plainte en avril 2018.

Outre les allégations de torture et d’abus, M. Beamish a également formulé quatre autres allégations liées à la façon dont l’enquêteur principal du SNEFC a traité l’enquête initiale. L’enquête d’intérêt public a déterminé que les cinq allégations n’étaient pas fondées, mais la CPPM a formulé cinq recommandations visant à améliorer les enquêtes de la police militaire, ainsi que la capacité de la CPPM d’accomplir son mandat de surveillance.

La CPPM a interrogé 40 témoins au cours de son enquête, qui a révélé que l’exercice d’entraînement a eu lieu, plus ou moins comme l’a allégué le plaignant. L’enquête a déterminé que l’exercice n’était pas une partie officiellement autorisée de la formation de l’École de combat et qu’il n’était pas conforme aux normes de formation de base de l’infanterie à l’époque.

L’enquête d’intérêt public a déterminé qu’un procureur militaire régional a informé le SNEFC que des accusations en vertu du code de discipline militaire de la Loi sur la défense nationale ne seraient pas possibles en raison du délai de prescription en vigueur au moment de l’exercice. Par la suite, un procureur de la Couronne provincial de l’Alberta a informé le SNEFC que l’affaire n’offrait pas non plus de perspective raisonnable de condamnation en vertu du Code criminel.

« Cela signifie que, même s’il existe des preuves pour étayer les éléments d’une infraction punissable, les chances de prouver l’affaire sont telles qu’il ne vaut pas la peine de dépenser des ressources judiciaires pour poursuivre l’affaire », a déclaré Mme McCormack. « Cela ne signifie pas que le procureur n’est pas d’accord avec les faits allégués », a-t-elle ajouté en publiant le rapport de 128 pages. Le SNEFC n’a pas poursuivi l’enquête ni déposé d’accusations après avoir reçu l’avis de la Couronne provinciale.

Dans son rapport final, la Commission a formulé trois recommandations au Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) et deux au ministre de la Défense nationale qui traitent d’une série de questions, notamment :

Le GPFC a pleinement accepté deux des trois recommandations de la CPPM qui lui était adressé, tandis la troisième recommandation a été acceptée partiellement. À l’heure actuelle, la Commission attend toujours une réponse du ministre de la Défense nationale aux deux recommandations qui lui ont été adressées. La Commission a l’intention de publier à nouveau son rapport dès qu’elle aura reçu la réponse du ministre.

« Nous espérons que cette enquête, dans la mesure où elle a confirmé la mémoire et le point de vue du plaignant, contribuera à lui permettre, ainsi qu’aux autres victimes, de tourner la page sur ce qui était clairement un événement traumatisant », a déclaré Mme McCormack. « Le système de justice pénale est une institution imparfaite qui n’est pas conçue pour permettre aux victimes d’obtenir une validation ou une justification personnelle. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour celles qui cherchent à obtenir un recours après de nombreuses années. »

Contact :

Michael Tansey
Conseiller en communications
Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire
Cellulaire : 613‑851‑4587
Tél. : 613‑487‑3765
www.mpcc-cppm.gc.ca

Chronologie

Chronologie de l'enquête d'intérêt public Beamish
Date Évènement
31 août 2021 Rapport final à la suite d’une enquête d’intérêt public | Disponible en version PDF seulement (1,03 Mo)
4 juin 2021 Rapport provisoire énonçant les conclusions et les recommandations de la CPPM relativement à la plainte transmis au min DN, au CEMD, au JAG et au GPFC.
28 janvier 2021 La présidente approuve le rapport d'évaluation d'enquête. La rédaction du rapport provisoire de la CPPM commence.
9 novembre 2020 L’Évaluation et rapport d’enquête a été soumis à la présidente de la Commission pour examen et délibération, en vue de la préparation du rapport provisoire de la CPPM au Grand Prévôt des FC.
6 octobre 2020 L’équipe chargée de l’enquête de la CPPM complète la dernière entrevue des témoins. L’équipe procède à la rédaction de l’Évaluation et rapport d’enquête.
20 juillet 2020 Réponse finale du GPFC à la demande de recherche de dossiers supplémentaires de la PM formulée le 16 janvier 2019 : le GPFC ne peut pas accéder à d’autres dossiers de ce type.
29 mai 2020 Lettre envoyée au GPFC pour fournir de plus amples détails sur la demande de recherche de dossiers supplémentaires de la PM, suite aux lettres du 16 janvier 2019, du 25 avril 2019 et du 27 janvier 2020.
20 mai 2020 Les entrevues avec les témoins en personne reprennent, en respectant les mesures de sécurité appropriées.
Mi-mars 2020 Suite aux mesures d’urgence mises en place en raison de la pandémie de COVID‑19, certaines entrevues avec des témoins qui devaient avoir lieu en personne ont dû être annulées et reportées, compte tenu des restrictions en matière de voyage et de contacts interpersonnels. D’autres entrevues se sont déroulées par téléphone. Par ailleurs, la situation d’urgence a ralenti le traitement des demandes de divulgation.
27 janvier 2020 Lettre envoyée au GPFC pour restreindre la recherche de dossiers supplémentaires de la PM concernant les demandes de divulgation du 16 janvier et du 25 avril 2019.
8 janvier 2020 Le Centre de doctrine et d’instruction de l’Armée canadienne répond à la demande de divulgation du 16 décembre 2019.
16 décembre 2019 Demande de divulgation d’informations et de documents supplémentaires envoyée au GPFC.
9 octobre 2019 Divulgation de l’information et documents additionnels demandés le 6 septembre 2019 transmise à la Commission par le Groupe de la PM des FC.
10 septembre 2019 Divulgation d'une partie des documents demandés par la Commission dans ses lettres datées du 16 janvier et 25 avril 2019 transmise à la Commission par le Groupe de la PM des FC. De l'information a également été donnée à la Commission concernant les recherches qui sont faites pour retrouver des documents additionnels
6 septembre 2019 Demande envoyée au GPFC pour la divulgation d'information et documents additionnels
25 avril 2019 Lettre envoyée au Groupe de la PM des FC réitérant la demande faite par la Commission le 16 janvier 2019 pour qu’une recherche des dossiers de la Police militaire soit effectuée afin de trouver des documents pertinents additionnels
25 avril 2019 Membre du SNEFC impliquée dans la supervision de l’enquête du SNEFC identifiée comme personne additionnelle visée par la plainte et avisée par la Commission
5 avril 2019 Divulgation d’une partie des documents demandés le 16 janvier 2019 transmise à la Commission par le Groupe de la PM des FC
1 avril 2019 Lettre reçue du Groupe de la PM des FC indiquant qu’aucun document n’a été trouvé en réponse à la demande de divulgation envoyée par la Commission le 13 décembre 2018
29 mars 2019 Lettre reçue du Groupe de la PM des FC fournissant de l’information en réponse à la demande de divulgation envoyée par la Commission le 17 janvier 2019
17 janvier 2019 Demande envoyée au GPFC pour la divulgation d’information et documents additionnels
16 janvier 2019 Lettre envoyée au Groupe de la PM des FC demandant qu’une recherche des dossiers de la Police militaire soit effectuée afin de trouver des documents pertinents additionnels, à la suite de la réception par la Commission de documents fournis par le plaignant
11 janvier 2019 Lettre reçue du Groupe de la PM des FC indiquant qu’aucun document n’a été trouvé en réponse à la demande de divulgation envoyée par la Commission le 10 décembre 2018
20 décembre 2018 Divulgation des documents demandés le 4 décembre 2018 transmise à la Commission par les FAC
13 décembre 2018 Demande envoyée au GPFC pour obtenir la divulgation de dossiers additionnels du MDN et des FAC que la Commission croit être pertinents à l’EIP
10 décembre 2018 Demande envoyée au GPFC pour obtenir la divulgation de dossiers additionnels de la Police militaire
4 décembre 2018 Demande de divulgation envoyée aux FAC pour obtenir l’accès à des documents pertinents à l’EIP
28 novembre 2018 Début des entrevues avec les témoins
15 novembre 2018 Divulgation des documents demandés le 3 octobre 2018 transmise à la Commission par le GPFC
3 octobre 2018 Demande de divulgation additionnelle envoyée au GPFC
5 septembre 2018 Évaluation et plan d’enquête approuvé par la Présidente de la Commission
11 avril 2018 Décision de mener une enquête d’intérêt public
Date de modification :