Conduct Case MPCC‑2019‑004 Summary

The complainant, a Captain in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), alleged that an investigation by the Military Police concerning him was not conducted in an expeditious manner. He also alleged that the Military Police did not dismiss the allegations of fraud made against him as being trivial, frivolous, vexatious, or made in bad faith and that the outcome of their investigation was prejudiced by the contents of a labour grievance he had launched. Other allegations were that he was threatened by one of the Military Police investigators, that unknown Military Police members improperly disclosed information concerning the investigation to his superior officer, and that he was not notified of the claims that were made to prompt the investigation of him.

The conduct complaint was dealt with in the first instance by the Professional Standards (PS) Branch of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) as per subsection 250.26(1) of the National Defence Act. Professional Standards found the complaint to be unsubstantiated and so the complainant referred it to the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (Commission) for review.

Upon receipt of the complaint, the Commission requested disclosure of all relevant Military Police file materials from the CFPM. The Commission conducted a detailed review of the materials received from the CFPM, in order to assess whether the Commission needed to take additional investigative steps. The Commission determined that further investigation was necessary, including interviews of the complainant and the subjects.

The Commission identified two subjects of the conduct complaint. At the time of the criminal investigation of the complainant they were both Military Police members assigned to duties as investigators.

The Commission found that the criminal investigation had been conducted in an expeditious manner and that the Military Police had no grounds to dismiss the allegations of fraud made against the complainant as being trivial, frivolous, vexatious, or made in bad faith. The Commission also found no evidence that the subjects had any knowledge of the complainant’s labour grievance, nor any evidence that he had been threatened by one of the Military Police investigators. The Commission found no evidence that unknown Military Police members improperly disclosed information concerning the investigation to the complainant’s superior officer and also found that in the absence of charges being laid, there was no obligation on the Military Police investigators to notify the complainant of the claims that were made to prompt the investigation of him. All the allegations made by the complainant, therefore, were found to be unsubstantiated.

In response to the Commission’s Report, the CFPM accepted the Commission’s findings and observation in this matter.

Date modified:

Résumé du dossier d'inconduite CPPM‑2019‑004

Le plaignant, un capitaine des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), a allégué qu’une enquête de la Police militaire le concernant n’avait pas été menée avec diligence. Il a également affirmé que la Police militaire n’avait pas rejeté les allégations de fraude portées contre lui comme étant insignifiantes, futiles, vexatoires ou étaient portées de mauvaise foi et que l’issue de cette enquête avait été compromise par le contenu d’un grief qu’il avait déposé. Par ailleurs, il aurait été menacé par l’un des enquêteurs de la Police militaire, des policiers militaires inconnus auraient indûment divulgué des renseignements concernant l’enquête à son supérieur et il n’aurait pas été informé des allégations qui ont été faites pour qu’une enquête soit menée à son sujet.

La plainte pour inconduite a été traitée en première instance par la Direction générale des normes professionnelles du Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC), conformément au paragraphe 250.26(1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale. La Direction générale des normes professionnelles a conclu que la plainte n’était pas verifiée. Le plaignant l’a donc transmise à la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (la Commission) pour examen.

À la réception de la plainte, la Commission a demandé au GPFC de lui communiquer tous les éléments pertinents du dossier de la Police militaire. La Commission a procédé à un examen détaillé des documents fournis par le GPFC, afin de déterminer si elle devait prendre d’autres mesures d’enquête. Elle a jugé nécessaire de poursuivre l’enquête, incluant des entrevues avec le plaignant et les personnes visées.

La Commission a identifié deux personnes faisant l’objet de la plainte pour inconduite. Au moment de l’enquête criminelle sur le plaignant, ils étaient tous deux enquêteurs au sein de la Police militaire.

Selon la Commission, l’enquête criminelle a été menée avec diligence et la Police militaire n’avait aucune raison de rejeter les allégations de fraude formulées à l’encontre du plaignant comme étant insignifiantes, futiles, vexatoires ou étaient portées de mauvaise foi. La Commission n’a également trouvé aucune preuve que les personnes concernées avaient connaissance du grief déposé par le plaignant ni aucune preuve qu’il avait été menacé par l’un des enquêteurs de la Police militaire. Par ailleurs, elle n’a trouvé aucune preuve que des policiers militaires inconnus ont indûment divulgué des informations concernant l’enquête au supérieur du plaignant. Elle a également constaté qu’en l’absence d’accusations, les enquêteurs de la Police militaire n’étaient pas tenus de communiquer au plaignant les allégations qui ont été faites afin de déclencher l’enquête à son sujet. Toutes les allégations faites par le plaignant ont donc été jugées non verifiées.

En réponse au rapport de la Commission, le GPFC a accepté les conclusions et les observations de la Commission dans cette affaire.

Date de modification :