Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2014-2015

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conference fees for the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2015. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government's priorities.

Under Part IV of the National Defence Act, the MPCC mandate is to examine complaints arising from either the conduct of Military Police members in the exercise of policing duties or functions or from interference in their police investigations. To carry out this mandate, the Chairperson has the power to investigate, to cause the MPCC to conduct a public interest investigation, convene public hearings, and report its findings and make recommendations based on those findings. The MPCC also sustained its Outreach Program, clarifying its mandate and complaints processes to its stakeholders.

Detailed information can be found in the MPCC's Report on Plans and Priorities, Departmental Performance Report and Annual Report.

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the MPCC
(in dollars)
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2014 Change
Travel: Public Servants 64,986 54,951 10,035
Travel: Non-Public Servants 36,919 55,045 (18,126)
Total Travel 101,905 109,996 (8,091)
Hospitality 1,225 3,073 (1,848)
Conference Fees 798 5,105 (4,307)
Total 103,928 118,174 (14,246)
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant travel) N/A N/A N/A

Significant Variances Compared With the Previous Fiscal Year

Travel

Public Servants:
Compared to 2013-14, departmental travel expenditures by public servants increased mainly as a result of additional travel related to the Fynes Public Interest Hearing (PIH), the multi-jurisdictional conduct review, and to support core mandate activities such as travel associated with conduct and interference investigations.
Non-Public Servants:
Compared to fiscal year 2013-14, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased significantly mainly due to a reduction in travel by investigators and lawyers on contracts.
Hospitality:
Compared to fiscal year 2013-14, departmental hospitality expenditures decreased due mainly to a reduction in the number of organized events combined with generally scaled down events versus previous years.
Conferences Fees:
Compared to fiscal year 2013-14, departmental conference fees expenditures decreased mainly due to refinements made to the MPCC's internal coding structure, as it relates to conferences and training expenses, in accordance with Treasury Board policies.
Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2014-2015

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l'appui du mandat du ministère ou de l'organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

En vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale, le mandat de la CPPM est d'examiner les plaintes découlant soit de la conduite des membres de la police militaire dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions policières ou de l'ingérence dans une enquête policière. Pour réaliser ce mandat, le président a le pouvoir d'enquêter, de provoquer la CPPM de mener une enquête d'intérêt public, de tenir des audiences publiques, et de rendre compte de ses conclusions et de faire des recommandations fondées sur ces conclusions. La CPPM a également poursuivi son Programme de sensibilisation, afin de clarifier son mandat et ses processus de plaintes auprès de ses intervenants.

Le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la CPPM et le Rapport annuel renferment de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la CPPM
(en dollars)
Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépenses pour l'exercice précédant se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Écart
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 64 986 54 951 10 035
Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires 36 919 55 045 (18 126)
Total des dépenses de voyage 101 905 109 996 (8 091)
Accueil 1 225 3 073 (1 848)
Frais de participation aux conférences 798 5 105 (4 307)
Total 103 928 118 174 (14 246)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre (également inclus dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires) S/O S/O S/O

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyage

Fonctionnaires :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses de voyage des fonctionnaires du ministère ont augmenté, principalement en raison des voyages supplémentaires liées à l'audience d'intérêt public (AIP) Fynes, l'examen d'une plainte pour inconduite multi-juridictionnelle, et pour soutenir les activités liées au mandat principal tels que les voyages liés aux plaintes pour inconduite et ingérence.
Non-fonctionnaires :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses de voyage des non-fonctionnaires du ministère ont diminué de manière significative en raison principalement d'une réduction des voyages par les enquêteurs et les avocats sur une base contractuelle.
Accueil :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses d'accueil de la CPPM ont diminué, principalement en raison de la réduction du nombre d'événements organisés combinée à des événements généralement revus à la baisse par rapport aux années précédentes.
Frais de participation aux conférences :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2013-2014, les frais de participation aux conférences du ministère ont diminué principalement en raison d'améliorations apportées à la structure de codage de la CPPM, en ce qui concerne les frais de conférence et de formation, conformément aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor.
Date de modification :