Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2013-2014

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conference fees for the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government's priorities.

Under Part IV of the National Defence Act, the MPCC mandate is to examine complaints arising from either the conduct of Military Police members in the exercise of policing duties or functions or from interference in their police investigations. To carry out this mandate, the Chairperson has the power to investigate, to cause the MPCC to conduct a public interest investigation, convene public hearings, and report its findings and make recommendations based on those findings. The MPCC also sustained its Outreach Program, clarifying its mandate and complaints processes to its stakeholders.

Detailed information can be found in the MPCC's Report on Plans and Priorities, Departmental Performance Report and Annual Report.

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the MPCC
(in dollars)
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expenditures for the previous year ending March 31, 2013 Change
Travel: Public Servants 54,951 34,722 20,229
Travel: Non-Public Servants 55,045 166,483 (111,438)
Total Travel 109,996 201,205 (91,209)
Hospitality 3,073 2,405 668
Conference Fees 5,105 8,819 (3,714)
Total 118,174 212,429 (94,255)
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant travel) N/A N/A N/A

Significant Variances Compared With the Previous Fiscal Year

Travel

Public Servants:
Compared to 2012-13, departmental travel expenditures by public servants increased mainly due to a change in the Chairperson’s allowance. The Chairperson no longer has an allowance to live in Ottawa (i.e. Chairperson lives in Windsor, Ontario), resulting in increased travel costs between Ottawa and Windsor for both day to day MPCC business and for the Fynes Public Interest Hearing (PIH). Overall, the MPCC is saving a significant amount of funding under the new arrangement.
Non-Public Servants:
Compared to fiscal year 2012-13, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased significantly. The high 2012-13 cost was mainly due to witnesses, complainants, legal representatives and investigators travelling for PIH's being conducted in the MPCC's offices in Ottawa.
Hospitality:
Compared to fiscal year 2012-13, departmental hospitality expenditures increased by a minimal amount mainly due to an increase in attendance for the National Public Service Week activities.
Conferences Fees:
Compared to fiscal year 2012-13, departmental conference fees expenditures decreased mainly due to the MPCC reducing the number of employees attending conferences to cut costs.
Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2013-2014

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l'appui du mandat du ministère ou de l'organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

En vertu de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale, le mandat de la CPPM est d'examiner les plaintes découlant soit de la conduite des membres de la police militaire dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions policières ou de l'ingérence dans une enquête policière. Pour réaliser ce mandat, le président a le pouvoir d'enquêter, de provoquer la CPPM de mener une enquête d'intérêt public, de tenir des audiences publiques, et de rendre compte de ses conclusions et de faire des recommandations fondées sur ces conclusions. La CPPM a également poursuivi son Programme de sensibilisation, afin de clarifier son mandat et ses processus de plaintes auprès de ses intervenants.

Le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de la CPPM et le Rapport annuel renferment de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de la CPPM
(en dollars)
Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses pour l'exercice précédant se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Écart
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 54 951 34 722 20 229
Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires 55 045 166 483 (111 438)
Total des dépenses de voyage 109 996 201 205 (91 209)
Accueil 3 073 2 405 668
Frais de participation aux conférences 5 105 8 819 (3 714)
Total 118 174 212 429 (94 255)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre (également inclus dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires) S/O S/O S/O

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyage

Fonctionnaires :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses de voyage des fonctionnaires du ministère ont augmenté, principalement en raison d'un changement dans l'allocation du Président. Le Président n'a plus une allocation pour habiter à Ottawa (le président habite à Windsor, Ontario). Cela a entraîné une augmentation des frais de déplacement entre Ottawa et Windsor pour les activités quotidiennes de la CPPM et pour l'audience d'intérêt public (AIP) Fynes. Dans l'ensemble, la CPPM sauve une quantité importante de financement dans le cadre du nouvel accord.
Non-fonctionnaires :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses de voyage des non-fonctionnaires du ministère ont diminué de manière significative. Le coût élevé en 2012-2013 est principalement attribuable à des témoins, plaignants, représentants légaux et enquêteurs voyageant pour l'AIP qui s'est tenue dans les bureaux de la CPPM à Ottawa.
Accueil :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses d'accueil du ministère ont augmenté d'un montant très minime principalement attribuable à une augmentation de la fréquentation pour les activités de la Semaine nationale de la fonction publique.
Frais de participation aux conférences :
En comparaison avec l'exercice 2012-2013, les frais de participation aux conférences du ministère ont diminué, principalement en raison de la réduction du nombre d'employés participant aux conférences.
Date de modification :