Fynes Public Interest Hearing - Timeline

Date Event
September 16, 2013 Updated versions of Military Police and CFNIS policies and procedures entered as exhibits before the Commission.
September 15, 2013 Written submissions filed by counsel for the subjects of the complaint about recently received updated versions of relevant Military Police and CFNIS policies and procedures.
September 4, 2013 Written submissions filed by counsel for the complainants about recently received updated versions of relevant Military Police and CFNIS policies and procedures.
February 14, 2013 Letter (PDF, 43 kB)* from the Minister of National Defence to the Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission advising of a decision to implement the Commission’s recommendation to grant additional funding for the cost of the legal representation of the complainants in the Public Interest Hearing.
January 9, 2013 Oral closing submissions presented before the Commission by counsel for the complainants and counsel for the subjects of the complaint.
January 8, 2013 Written reply submissions filed by counsel for the complainants.
January 8, 2013 Written reply submissions filed by counsel for the subjects of the complaint.
January 2, 2013 Written closing submissions filed by counsel for the complainants.
January 2, 2013 Written closing submissions filed by counsel for the subjects of the complaint.
November 30, 2012 Decision (PDF, 132 kB)* issued on the request for an adjournment of the closing submissions. The Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission denied the request. Written closing submissions will be filed on January 2, 2013. Written reply submissions may be filed by each Party on January 8, 2013. Oral closing submissions will be heard on January 9, 2013.
November 29, 2012 Decision (PDF, 143 kB)* issued on the request for distribution of the MPCC Interim Report to the complainants. The Chair of Military Police Complaints Commission denied the complainants’ request to receive and comment on the Interim Report and the Notice of Action.
November 23, 2012 Letter received from Department of Justice counsel Ms. Elizabeth Richards, on behalf of the subjects of the complaint, responding to the complainants’ request for an adjournment of the closing submissions.
November 16, 2012 Request received from counsel for the complainants, Col (ret’d) Drapeau, for the scheduling of closing submissions to be delayed until a funding decision is made by the Minister of National Defence pursuant to the Commission’s recommendation.
November 16, 2012 Submissions received from Department of Justice counsel Mr. Alain Préfontaine, on behalf of the Government of Canada, responding to the request for distribution of the MPCC Interim Report to the complainants.
November 16, 2012 Letter received from Department of Justice counsel Ms. Elizabeth Richards advising that the subjects of the complaint are not seeking to call additional evidence.
November 5, 2012 Request received from counsel for the complainants, Col (ret’d) Drapeau, for distribution of the MPCC Interim Report to the complainants.
November 1, 2012 Decision (PDF, 108 kB)* issued on the request for an adjournment of the closing submissions. The Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission granted the request. The date for the presentation of closing submissions before the Commission was set for January 9, 2013.
October 30, 2012 Decision (PDF, 109 kB)* issued on the Motion for a funding recommendation for the preparation of the closing submissions. The Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission sent his recommendation to provide funding for the complainants’ legal representation to the Minister of National Defence.
October 26, 2012 Submissions received from counsel for the complainants, Col (ret’d) Drapeau, responding to the request for an adjournment of the closing submissions.
October 24, 2012 Letter received from Department of Justice counsel Mr. Alain Préfontaine advising that the Government of Canada relies on its October 11, 2011 submissions in response to the complainants’ Motion for a funding recommendation and that the Government of Canada will consider the Commission’s recommendation, if the Commission decides to make one.
October 23, 2012 Request received from Department of Justice counsel Ms. Richards for an adjournment of the closing submissions currently scheduled for November 15, 2012.
October 19, 2012 Motion by counsel for the complainants, Col (ret’d) Drapeau, requesting that the Commission issue a recommendation of public funding for legal representation for the complainants, Mr. Shaun Fynes and Mrs. Sheila Fynes, for the preparation of closing submissions.
March 27, 2012 Commencement of the Public Interest Hearing into the military police investigations relating to the death of Corporal Stuart Langridge.
March 21, 2012 Decision (PDF, 112 kB)* issued on the adjournment request. The Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission granted the request in part. The date set for the commencement of the Hearing remains March 27, 2012. The Hearing will then be adjourned for one week beginning on March 28, 2012, and will resume on April 3, 2012.
March 19, 2012 Written representations by Department of Justice counsel Ms. Elizabeth Richards on behalf of the subjects of the complaint, opposing the request for an adjournment.
March 18, 2012 Request by Col (ret’d) Drapeau, counsel for the complainants, for an adjournment of the Hearing by four to six weeks to allow for preparation and receipt of all disclosure materials.
March 16, 2012 Letter (PDF, 1,018 kB)* from the Minister of National Defence to the Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission advising of a decision to implement the Commission’s recommendation to grant funding for the cost of the legal representation of the complainants in the Public Interest Hearing
January 23, 2012 Decision (PDF, 112 kB)* issued on the adjournment request. The Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission granted the request in part and set the date for commencement of the Hearing to March 27, 2012.
January 20, 2012 Letter (PDF, 22 kB)* received by the Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission from the President of the Treasury Board, advising that the funding recommendation has been forwarded to the Minister of National Defence.
January 17, 2012 Case conference held. The Parties presented submissions to the Commission on the request for an adjournment of the Hearing pending the Government’s decision about funding for legal representation for the complainants.
January 5, 2012 Notice of Hearing (PDF, 29kb)* issued for a case conference on January 17, 2012, to hear representations from the Parties about Col Drapeau’s request.
December 30, 2011 Request by Col (ret’d) Drapeau, counsel for the complainants, for an adjournment of the Hearing until a response is received from the Government about funding of legal representation for the complainants.
December 13, 2011 Letter (PDF, 33 kB)* from the MPCC Chair to the President of the Treasury Board forwarding the letter received from the complainants’ counsel.
December 7, 2011 Letter (PDF, 38 kB)* received from counsel for the complainants indicating that no determination has been made by Government on the Commission’s funding recommendation and that a motion for adjournment may be presented as result.
November 15, 2011 Procedural Guidelines (PDF, 73 kB)* issued by the Military Police Complaints Commission Chair for the conduct of the Hearing.
October 26, 2011 Decision (PDF, 224 kB)* issued on the Motion for a funding recommendation. The Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission sent his recommendation to provide funding for the complainants’ legal representation to the President of the Treasury Board.
October 19, 2011 Case Conference held. The date for the commencement of the Hearing was fixed to February 27, 2012.
October 6, 2011 Revised Notice of Hearing (PDF, 36 kB)* issued to the Parties for Case Conference on October 19, 2011.
October 5, 2011 Submissions of the Government of Canada in response to the complainants’ Motion for a funding recommendation received from Department of Justice counsel Mr. Alain Préfontaine.
October 4, 2011 Ruling of the Commission granting the request for an adjournment in part. Case Conference adjourned to October 19, 2011.
September 26, 2011 Request received from Department of Justice counsel Ms. Elizabeth Richards for an adjournment of the Case Conference from October 13, 2011 to October 27, 2011.
September 26, 2011 Motion requesting that the Commission issue a recommendation of public funding for legal representation for the complainants, Mr. Shaun Fynes and Mrs. Sheila Fynes. The Motion was brought by counsel for the complainants, Col (ret’d) Michel Drapeau, and will be presented at the Case Conference.
September 21, 2011 Notice of Hearing issued to the Parties for Case Conference on October 13, 2011.
September 6, 2011 Decision (PDF, 126 kB)* to Hold a Public Interest Hearing.
April 29, 2011 Decision (PDF, 186 kB)* to Conduct a Public Interest Investigation.

Copies of documents not posted on this page can be obtained from the Commission upon request.

*Note: to read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

Date modified:

Chronologie de l'audience d’intérêt public Fynes (CPPM-2011-004)

Pour une meilleure fonctionnalité, veuillez vous assurer que vous avez la version la plus récente du lecteur Adobe.

Date Évènement
16 septembre 2013 Versions mises à jour de politiques et procédures de la police militaire et du SNEFC entrées comme élément de preuve devant la Commission.
15 septembre 2013 Représentations écrites soumises par l’avocate des personnes visées par la plainte concernant des versions mises à jour, et reçues récemment, de politiques et procédures de la police militaire et du SNEFC pertinentes au dossier.
4 septembre 2013 Représentations écrites soumises par l’avocat des plaignants concernant des versions mises à jour, et reçues récemment, de politiques et procédures de la police militaire et du SNEFC pertinentes au dossier.
14 février 2013 Lettre de la part du ministre de la Défense nationale au président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire, avisant d’une décision de mettre en œuvre la recommandation d’accorder un financement additionnel pour la représentation légale des plaignants à l’audience d’intérêt public.
9 janvier 2013 Représentations finales orales présentées devant la Commission par l’avocat des plaignants et l’avocate des personnes visées par la plainte.
8 janvier 2013 Réplique écrite soumise par l’avocat des plaignants.
8 janvier 2013 Réplique écrite soumise par l’avocate des personnes visées par la plainte.
2 janvier 2013 Représentations finales écrites soumises par l’avocat des plaignants.
2 janvier 2013 Représentations finales écrites soumises par l’avocate des personnes visées par la plainte.
30 novembre 2012 Décision sur la demande pour un ajournement des représentations finales rendue. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a rejeté la demande. Les représentations finales écrites seront déposées le 2 janvier 2013. Une réplique écrite pourra être déposée par chaque partie le 8 janvier 2013. Les représentations finales orales seront entendues le 9 janvier 2013.
29 novembre 2012 Décision rendue sur la demande de distribution du rapport intérimaire de la CPPM aux plaignants. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a rejeté la demande des plaignant de recevoir et commenter le rapport intérimaire et l’avis d’action.
23 novembre 2012 Lettre reçue de la part de l’avocate du ministère de la Justice, Maître Elizabeth Richards, au nom des personnes visées par la plainte, répondant à la demande des plaignants d’ajourner les représentions finales.
16 novembre 2012 Demande reçue de la part de l’avocat des plaignants, col (à la retraite) Drapeau, afin que la date des représentations finales soit remise après qu’une décision concernant le financement soit prise par le ministre de la Défense nationale, suite à la recommandation de la Commission.
16 novembre 2012 Représentations reçues de la part de l’avocat du ministère de la Justice, Me Alain Préfontaine, au nom du gouvernement du Canada, répondant à la requête concernant la distribution du rapport intérimaire de la CPPM aux plaignants.
16 novembre 2012 Lettre reçue de la part de l’avocate du ministère de la Justice, Me Elizabeth Richards, avisant que les personnes visées par la plainte ne chercheront pas à soumettre davantage de preuves.
5 novembre 2012 Demande reçue de la part de l’avocat des plaignants, col (à la retraite) Drapeau, afin de distribuer le rapport intérimaire de la CPPM aux plaignants.
1er novembre 2012 Décision rendue sur la demande pour un ajournement des représentations finales. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a accordé la demande. La date des représentations finales devant la Commission a été fixée au 9 janvier 2013.
30 octobre 2012 Décision sur la requête pour une recommandation de financement pour la préparation des représentations finales. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a envoyé sa recommandation de financement pour la représentation légale des plaignants au ministre de la Défense.
26 octobre 2012 Représentations reçues de la part de l’avocat des plaignants, le Col (à la retraite) Drapeau, répondant à la demande pour un ajournement des représentations finales.
24 octobre 2012 Lettre de la part de Maître Alain Préfontaine du ministère de la Justice avisant que le gouvernement du Canada invoque ses représentations du 11 octobre 2011 en réponse à la requête des plaignants pour une recommandation de financement et que le gouvernement du Canada prendra en considération la recommandation de la Commission, si celle-ci décide d’en émettre une.
23 octobre 2012 Demande reçue de la part de l’avocate du ministère de la Justice, Maître Richards, pour un ajournement des représentations finales présentement prévues pour le 15 novembre 2012.
19 octobre 2012 Requête de l’avocat des plaignants, le Col (à la retraite) Drapeau, demandant que la Commission émette une recommandation de financement public pour la représentation légale des plaignants, M. Shaun Fynes et Mme. Sheila Fynes pour la préparation des représentations finales.
27 mars 2012 Début de l’audience d’intérêt public au sujet des enquêtes de la police militaire se rapportant à la mort du caporal Stuart Langridge.
21 mars 2012 Décision rendue sur la demande d’ajournement. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a accordé la demande en partie. La date de début de l’audience demeure le 27 mars 2012. L’audience sera ensuite ajournée pour une semaine débutant le 28 mars 2012 et reprendra le 3 avril 2012.
19 mars 2012 Observations écrites de l’avocate du ministère de la Justice, Maître Élizabeth Richard, au nom des personnes visées par la plainte, s’opposant à la demande d’ajournement.
18 mars 2012 Demande de la part du col (à la retraite) Drapeau, avocat pour les plaignants, pour un ajournement de l’audience de quatre à six semaines afin de permettre la préparation pour l’audience et la réception de la divulgation documentaire.
16 mars 2012 Lettre de la part du ministre de la Défense nationale reçue par le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire, avisant d’une décision de mettre en œuvre la recommandation d’accorder un financement pour la représentation légale des plaignants à l’audience d’intérêt public.
23 janvier 2012 Décision (PDF, 163 kB)* rendue sur la demande d’ajournement. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a accordé la demande en partie et a fixé la date de début de l’audience au 27 mars 2012.
20 janvier 2012 Lettre reçue par le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire de la part du président du Conseil du Trésor, avisant que la recommandation de financement a été envoyée au ministre de la Défense nationale.
17 janvier 2012 Tenue d’une conférence préparatoire. Les parties ont présenté des représentations à la Commission sur la demande pour un ajournement de l’audience en attendant la décision du gouvernement concernant le financement de la représentation légale pour les plaignants.
5 janvier 2012 Avis d’audience (PDF, 128kb)* distribué pour la tenue d’une conférence préparatoire le 17 janvier 2012 pour entendre les représentations des parties à propos de la demande du Col Drapeau.
30 décembre 2011 Demande de la part du col (à la retraite) Drapeau, avocat pour les plaignants, pour un ajournement de l’audience jusqu’à ce qu’une réponse concernant la recommandation de financement de représentation légale pour les plaignants soit reçue de la part du gouvernement.
13 décembre 2011 Lettre du président de la CPPM au président du Conseil du Trésor faisant suivre la lettre de l’avocat des plaignants.
7 décembre 2011 Réception d’une lettre de l’avocat des plaignants indiquant qu’aucune décision n’a été prise par le gouvernement suivant les recommandations de financement de la Commission. En conséquence, une requête d’ajournement pourrait être présentée.
15 novembre 2011 Lignes directrices concernant la procédure (PDF, 158 kB)* pour la conduite de l’audience promulguées par le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire.
26 octobre 2011 Décision (PDF, 392 kB)* rendue par la Commission sur la requête pour une recommandation de financement. Le président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire a envoyé sa recommandation de financement pour la représentation légale des plaignants au président du Conseil du Trésor.
19 octobre 2011 Tenue de la conférence préparatoire. La date pour le commencement des audiences a été fixée au 27 février 2012.
6 octobre 2011 Avis d’audience révisé distribué aux parties annonçant la tenue d’une conférence préparatoire le 19 octobre 2011.
5 octobre 2011 Représentations du gouvernement du Canada en réponse à la requête des plaignants pour une recommandation de financement reçues de maître Alain Préfontaine du ministère de la Justice.
4 octobre 2011 Décision de la Commission accordant la demande d'un ajournement en partie. La conférence préparatoire est remise au 19 octobre 2011.
26 septembre 2011 Demande reçue de Maître Elizabeth Richards du ministère de la Justice pour un ajournement de la conférence préparatoire du 13 octobre 2011 au 27 octobre 2011.
26 septembre 2011 Requête demandant que la Commission émette une recommandation de financement public pour la représentation légale des plaignants, M. Shaun Fynes et Mme. Sheila Fynes. La requête a été présentée par l’avocat des plaignants, le colonel (à la retraite) Michel Drapeau, et sera présentée à la conférence préparatoire.
21 septembre 2011 Avis d’audience distribué aux parties annonçant la tenue d’une conférence préparatoire le 13 octobre 2011.
6 septembre 2011 Décision (PDF, 145 kB)* de tenir une audience d’intérêt public.
29 avril 2011 Décision (PDF, 181 kB)* de conduire une enquête d’intérêt public.

Une copie des documents qui ne sont pas publiés sur cette page Web peut être obtenue en communiquant avec la Commission.

Date de modification :