Conduct Case Summary MPCC-2016-034

The thrust of this complaint, filed on September 23, 2016, is that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) had failed to respond to issues the complainant – himself a Military Police (MP) member - had raised in an email originally sent to the CFPM in August 2015. In the email, the complainant cited grievances against members of his chain of command (CoC). His grievances or complaints against these personnel related to alleged harassment, discrimination, intolerance and various alleged failures of leadership; the failure of those CoC members to take any remedial action after the complainant had brought these issues to their attention; alleged reprisals taken against him by members of the CoC in response to his raising these issues; and a further failure of the CoC to respond to his claims about being subject to such reprisals.

In discussions between the complainant and Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) personnel, the complainant clarified that he did not wish to pursue complaints against the individual MP members whose conduct he referenced in these documents. Rather, he expressed his wish to pursue his complaint in respect of the lack of a response by the CFPM to these and other issues raised in his August 2015 email.

Due to the fact that the complaint was against the CFPM himself, it was referred in the first instance to the Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS), in accordance with National Defence Act (NDA) subsection 250.26(2).

In February 2017, the CDS issued his decision on the complaint. The CDS directed that no further investigation be undertaken in the matter. His reasons, which follow, were twofold.

Firstly, the CDS noted that the issues that the complainant sought to raise with the CFPM were administrative in nature.  Thus it would follow that the CFPM’s alleged inaction in response to the complainant’s August 2015 email was also an administrative matter, and therefore excluded from the “policing duties and functions” that may be the subject of a Military Police (MP) conduct complaint, in accordance with subsection 250.18(1) of the NDA and the regulations made thereunder: Complaints About the Conduct of Members of the Military Police Regulations (specifically, section 2).

Secondly, the CDS concluded, pursuant to NDA paragraph 250.28(2)(b), that, even if he had not determined that the complaint related to matters outside the scope of the MP conduct complaints process as set out in Part IV of the NDA, he would still consider that the complaint would be more appropriately addressed through a different statutory process. In this case, the CDS felt that the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) grievance process set out in Part II of the NDA – and which the complainant had already been using – would be the most appropriate.

In October 2017, the complainant requested a review of his complaint by the MPCC. The MPCC agreed with the CDS’s conclusion that the issues raised by the complainant with the CFPM were matters of internal personnel management within the CF MP Group CoC and thus fell within the domain of administration, rather than policing duties under the legislation governing the complaints process.

The MPCC also agreed with the CDS’s assessment that the issues raised in this complaint, even if they were not found to be outside the scope of the MP conduct complaints process (and therefore the jurisdiction of the MPCC), they would be better addressed under other processes available within the CAF, such as the grievance process. Therefore, further treatment under the MP conduct complaints process need not be undertaken.

Date modified:

Résumé du dossier d'inconduite CPPM-2016-034

La plainte en cause, déposée le 23 septembre 2016, porte sur le fait que le Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) n’a pas répondu aux problématiques que le plaignant a soulevées dans un courriel envoyé en août 2015. Dans ce courriel, le plaignant – lui-même un policier militaire - exposait ses griefs à l’endroit de membres de sa chaîne de commandement (C de C). Ses griefs ou doléances envers ces personnes concernaient des allégations de harcèlement, de discrimination, d’intolérance et de diverses formes de manque de leadership; le fait que ces membres de la C de C n’aient pris aucune mesure pour corriger la situation après que le plaignant eut porté ces problématiques à leur attention; des allégations de représailles dont il a fait l’objet de la part des membres de la C de C pour avoir soulevé les problématiques en question; et le fait que les membres de la C de C n’aient pas répondu à ses allégations quant auxdites représailles qu’il subissait.

Lors de discussions avec le personnel de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM), le plaignant a précisé que sa volonté n’était pas de donner suite aux plaintes envers les différents policiers militaires dont la conduite est abordée dans ces documents. Il souhaite plutôt donner suite à sa plainte quant au fait que le GPFC n’a donné aucune réponse à ces problématiques en particulier et à d’autres qu’il avait soulevées dans son courriel d’août 2015.

Étant donné que la plainte visait le GPFC, elle a été renvoyée en premier lieu au chef d’état‑major de la défense (CEMD), conformément au paragraphe 250.26(2) de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN).

En février 2017, le CEMD a rendu sa décision au sujet de la plainte. Il a ordonné qu’aucune autre enquête ne soit entreprise dans cette affaire, et ce, pour les deux motifs présentés ci‑dessous.

Premièrement, le CEMD a signalé que les problématiques que le plaignant voulait soulever auprès du GPFC étaient de nature administrative. Il s’ensuit donc que l’inaction alléguée de la part du GPFC en réponse au courriel d’août 2015 du plaignant était aussi une question administrative, et elle est par conséquent exclue de la notion de « fonctions de nature policière » pouvant faire l’objet d’une plainte pour inconduite contre la police militaire, aux termes du paragraphe 250.18(1) de la LDN et du Règlement sur les plaintes portant sur la conduite des policiers militaires (plus précisément à l’article 2) pris en vertu de la LDN.

Deuxièmement, en se fondant sur l’alinéa 250.28(2)b) de la LDN, le CEMD a conclu que, même s’il n’avait pas établi que l’objet de la plainte dépassait le cadre du processus des plaintes portant sur la conduite de la police militaire énoncé dans les textes législatifs, il aurait tout de même été d’avis que le recours à un autre processus prévu par la loi – à savoir le processus relatif aux griefs des Forces canadiennes énoncé à la partie II de la LDN, auquel le plaignant a déjà eu recours – conviendrait mieux.

En octobre 2017, le plaignant a demandé à la CPPM d’examiner sa plainte. La CPPM se montre  d’accord avec la conclusion du CEMD, que les lacunes alléguées qui font l’objet de cette plainte semblent être de nature administrative et dépassent donc la portée du processus des plaintes portant sur la conduite de la police militaire, qui se veut axé sur la conduite des policiers militaires dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions de nature policière auprès de la collectivité militaire en général et du public.

La CPPM était également d’accord avec l’évaluation de la part du CEMD que le processus relatif aux plaintes envers la police militaire n’était pas le bon moyen d’examiner les problématiques qu’il a soulevées. Comme signalé par le CEMD, le système de griefs des Forces canadiennes convient mieux à ce type d’affaires.

Date de modification :