International Standards for Police Oversight

Table of Contents

Introduction

The letter accompanying the Military Police Complaints Commission's 2005 Annual Report made reference to “international standards” for independent oversight of law enforcement. One astute recipient of the letter asked for elaboration. In short: “What are the international standards for police oversight?” This article is adapted from our letter responding to this question, which we felt would be of general interest to others involved in police oversight.

Everywhere police discharge special responsibilities for the protection of society which require the exercise of special powers and authority over other citizens. In any place which cares to preserve or to establish the rule of law, it will be recognized that those with special powers - and especially those impinging directly on individual liberty - will require special accountability for the use of those powers. So it should not be surprising that states in various international fora have begun to share their experiences and best practices in the field of democratic policing, including police oversight.

From the outset, we should make it clear that we are not alleging the existence of specific binding international legal obligations for Canada on this issue - although this may come. Certainly, there are international instruments in the field of human rights which do impose obligations on Canada in relation to the exercise of police powers, including the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948 (widely considered to reflect customary international law in a number of areas) and the 1966 International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. Of necessity, these types of obligations implicitly require that the police be under effective state control. However, beyond that, international human rights law in this area is generally satisfied by the legal (preferably constitutional) recognition of certain rights of persons suspected or accused of crimes, particularly upon arrest or detention, along with access to judicial remedies for breach of these rights.

However, while there may be no hard international legal rules regarding independent police oversight bodies, what might be termed “soft” international standards for police oversight are now emerging. These have largely been derived by analogy with the UN General Assembly's 1993 “Paris Principles”, which specified minimum standards for national human rights oversight bodies. There is an obvious link between the work of human rights bodies and external police oversight bodies. Indeed, in a number of countries, external review of police conduct is handled by the national human rights oversight body.

The principal sources of relevance to Canada for such standards are the Commonwealth and the Council of Europe (where Canada, along with the USA, Russia, Japan and Israel, has observer status).

Apart from the Paris Principles themselves, the UN has yet to elaborate specific standards for independent oversight of police. The UN Code of Conduct for Law Enforcement Officials, adopted by resolution of the General Assembly in 1979, does not address issues of oversight. In May of 1989, the UN Economic and Social Council adopted a set of guidelines (subsequently endorsed by the UN General Assembly in Resolution 44/162 of December 15, 1989) for implementing the Code of Conduct. Canada was then a member of the UN Economic and Social Council and co-sponsored the draft General Assembly Resolution endorsing the Guidelines. While these guidelines (entitled: Guidelines for the Effective Implementation of the Code of Conduct for Law Enforcement Officials) include requirements for the establishment of effective mechanisms of external control and supervision, in addition to systems of internal discipline, with particular provision for the handling of complaints from the public, there is no elaboration on the authorities and resources which the oversight mechanisms performing this function should possess. However, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime is expected to issue a report on this issue later this year.

What follows is a discussion of selected specific standards which have been elaborated by international organizations with which Canada is associated.

The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative's 2005 Report, entitled “Police Accountability: Too Important to Neglect, Too Urgent to Delay” is an interesting discussion of standards and best practices for police oversight. It must be noted that while the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (CHRI) is accredited to the Commonwealth and submits periodic reports to the Commonwealth heads of government, it is an independent non-governmental organization and thus its views are not necessarily those of the Commonwealth or its member states. Nonetheless, the CHRI does enjoy special status within the Commonwealth as well as with the UN Economic and Social Council as a respected international human rights NGO.

In its 2005 Report (at p. 64) the CHRI maintains that the 1993 “Paris Principles” (formally, “Principles Relating to the Status of National Institutions”) adopted by the UN General Assembly regarding minimum standards for national human rights bodies, “apply equally to any oversight body”, including those for oversight of police. Elements of the Paris Principles which are relevant to the work independent police oversight bodies include the following principals related to “Methods of Operation”:

Within the framework of its operation, the national institution shall: (a) Freely consider any questions falling within its competence, whether they are submitted by the Government or taken up without referral to a higher authority, on the proposal of its members or of any petitioner; (b) Hear any person and obtain any information and any documents necessary for assessing situations falling within its competence;.

In 2001, the Commonwealth Secretariat expanded upon the Paris Principles with a document entitled, “National Human Rights Institutions: Best Practices”. In its above-mentioned 2005 Report on police accountability, the CHRI derives its recommended minimum requirements for police oversight bodies from the Secretariat's “Best Practices” for national human rights bodies as well as the Paris Principles.

The following minimum requirements for a successful police oversight body are identified by the CHRI in its 2005 Report (at p. 64):

  1. Independence: should be independent of the executive and the police and empowered to report directly to Parliament.
  2. Sufficient Powers: should have the authority to independently investigate complaints and issue findings. This requires the concomitant powers to conduct hearings, subpoena documents and compel the presence of witnesses including police. It should also be able to identify organizational problems in the police and suggest systemic reforms.
  3. Adequate resources: should have sufficient funds to investigate at least the more serious complaints referred to it. Skilled human resources to investigate and otherwise deal with complaints should also be available.
  4. Power to follow up on recommendations: should be empowered to report its findings and recommendations to the public, and to follow up on actions taken by the police chief in response to its recommendations. It should also be able to draw Parliament's attention to instances where police take no action.

Both the CHRI's police accountability report and the Commonwealth Secretariat's Best Practices for national human rights institutions place considerable emphasis on the need for such oversight bodies to have a firm constitutional or at least statutory underpinning for its activities, which “clearly lay out jurisdiction, purpose and parameters.” in order to “protect the body from political whim”. This means that, according to the CHRI, the existence, mandate and powers of independent police oversight bodies should, at a minimum, be fully set out in statute law, and should not be dependent upon regulations or other delegated legislation that can be amended unilaterally by the executive branch.

In terms of the necessary powers for a police oversight body, the CHRI report notes (at p. 65) that

Strong investigative powers are a key factor for the success of oversight agencies. The most effective oversight bodies require not only powers to investigate independently but also to call for evidence and compel police co-operation. They must also be able to make recommendations about individual cases as much as systemic improvements that will be acknowledged and acted upon.

The CHRI report further emphasizes (p. 67) the importance of the oversight body's ability to review systemic matters:

Best practice indicates that apart from investigating individual complaints, oversight bodies also need to be able to review patterns of police behaviour and the functioning of internal discipline and complaints processing systems. Without these powers to monitor and review trends, they may end up receiving repeated individual complaints about similar forms of police misconduct, without being able to identify and address their root causes.

The foregoing points clearly speak, not only to the need for independent police oversight bodies to have sufficient powers to investigate complaints and, in so doing, to have access to all relevant information in the possession of police, but also for such bodies to have the authority to effectively monitor the internal police response to complaints and to investigate related systemic issues which may go beyond the specific concerns raised by complainants.

Council of Europe

The European Code of Police Ethics (ECPE), adopted by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe in September 2001, also contains provisions relevant to effective independent oversight of police. However, these standards are more general in nature than those outlined by the CHRI.

Article 59 of the ECPE states: “The police shall be accountable to the state, the citizens and their representatives. They shall be subject to efficient external control.” The official Commentary to this article specifies that there should be effective accountability to an external public body in addition to a police force's necessary accountability to the state as such. The Commentary further indicates that “openness and transparency of the police are . basic requirements for accountability/control to be effective.

Article 61 of the ECPE provides that: “Public authorities shall ensure effective and impartial procedures for complaints against the police.

Finally, article 62 of the Code states: “Accountability mechanisms, based on communication and mutual understanding between the public and the police, shall be promoted.” The Commentary elaborates that “mechanisms which foster the settlement of disputes between the public and the police are to be recommended”, but adds that “such mechanisms should preferably be independent of the police.” This article, and the supporting commentary, suggest the need for maximum transparency and openness by police in their responses to complaints, particularly vis-à-vis complainants. The article also suggests that, while informal resolution of police complaints is to be encouraged, it should not be left entirely to the police themselves. While the article is not explicit on this point, it would seem only logical for the relevant independent oversight body to supply the needed element of independence to the informal complaint-resolution process.

Conclusion

Clearly, the area of international standards for independent oversight of police is a relatively new and evolving one. While not binding on Canadian governments, the standards discussed above are worth keeping in mind when police oversight legislation is being designed, redesigned or interpreted. All those involved in independent police oversight will all want to closely follow future developments in this area, both through CACOLE and the new International Oversight Initiative, whose inauguration is timely indeed.

Prepared and submitted by the Military Police Complaints Commission August 23, 2006

SYNOPSIS

A. Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (2005 Report)

Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (2005 Report)

In its report entitled, Police Accountability: Too Important to Neglect, Too Urgent to Delay, CHRI identified the following standards for external Police Oversight Bodies (POBs).

  1. Independence: POBs should be independent of the executive and the police and empowered to report directly to Parliament. Their existence, jurisdiction and authorities should, at a minimum, be set out in statute law.
  2. Sufficient powers: POBs should have the authority to independently investigate complaints and issue findings. In particular, to be effective, POBs require:

    • the power to conduct hearings;
    • the power to subpoena documents and compel the cooperation of witnesses including the police;
    • the authority to address organizational and systemic issues as well as individual incidents; and
    • the power to monitor the internal handling of complaints by police
  3. Adequate resources: POBs should have sufficient funds to investigate at least the more serious complaints referred to it. Skilled human resources to investigate and otherwise deal with complaints should also be available.
  4. Power to follow up: POBs should be empowered to report its findings and recommendations to the public, and to follow up on actions taken by police in response to its recommendations. They should also be able to draw Parliament's attention to instances of police inaction.

B. Council of Europe

(2001 European Code of Police Ethics)

Articles 59 to 62 of the Code require:

Date modified:

Normes internationales en matière de surveillance de la police

Table des matières

Introduction

La lettre d'accompagnement du rapport annuel de 2005 de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire faisait référence aux « normes internationales » en matière de surveillance indépendante de la police. Un destinataire bien avisé a demandé qu'on élabore sur le sujet. En bref, « Quelles sont les normes internationales en matière de surveillance de la police? » . Le présent article est une adaptation de la réponse qui a été donnée et il a été rédigé dans la perspective qu'il pourrait intéresser d'autres intervenants engagés dans la surveillance de la police.

La police s'acquitte de responsabilités particulières pour la protection de la société, lesquelles passent par l'exercice de pouvoirs spéciaux sur d'autres citoyens. Partout où l'on se préoccupe de préserver ou d'établir la primauté du droit, on reconnaîtra que ceux et celles qui sont investis de pouvoirs spéciaux - en particulier des pouvoirs qui empiètent directement sur les libertés individuelles - devront rendre compte de façon particulière de l'exercice de ces pouvoirs. L'on ne s'étonnera donc pas que les États aient commencé à partager, dans diverses tribunes internationales, leur expérience et leurs pratiques exemplaires dans le domaine du maintien démocratique de l'ordre, y compris la surveillance de la police.

D'entrée de jeu, précisons que nous ne prétendons pas qu'il y ait à cet égard certaines obligations juridiques internationales contraignantes pour le Canada - du moins à l'heure actuelle. Il existe certes des instruments internationaux dans le domaine des droits de la personne qui comportent pour le Canada des obligations quant à l'exercice des pouvoirs policiers, notamment la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme de 1948 (largement considérée comme un reflet du droit international coutumier dans de nombreux domaines) et le Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques de 1966 (auquel a adhéré le Canada). De telles obligations impliquent forcément un contrôle efficace de la police par l'État. Ceci dit, le respect du droit international en matière de droits de la personne n'implique généralement que la reconnaissance juridique (de préférence constitutionnelle) de certains droits des personnes soupçonnées ou accusées de crimes, en particulier lors de l'arrestation ou de la détention, ainsi que l'accès à des recours juridiques en cas de violation de ces droits.

Bien qu'il n'existe pas de règles de droit international rigides concernant les organismes indépendants de surveillance de la police, des normes internationales que l'on pourrait qualifier de « souples » commencent à émerger dans ce domaine. Ces normes ont été en grande partie inspirées des « Principes de Paris » adoptés en 1993 par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, lesquels précisaient les normes minimales des organismes nationaux de surveillance des droits de la personne. Il existe des similitudes certaines entre le travail des organismes de droits de la personne et celui des organismes externes de surveillance de la police. D'ailleurs, dans bon nombre de pays, c'est l'organisme indépendant de surveillance en matière de droits de la personne qui mène l'examen indépendant de la conduite policière.

Les sources les plus pertinentes pour le Canada quant aux normes à établir sont le Commonwealth et le Conseil de l'Europe (où le Canada a un statut d'observateur tout comme les États Unis, la Russie, le Japon et Israël).

Mis à part les Principes de Paris, les Nations Unies n'ont pas encore élaboré de normes spécifiques en ce qui concerne la surveillance indépendante de la police. Le Code de conduite des Nations Unies pour les responsables de l'application des lois, adopté par résolution de l'Assemblée générale en 1979, ne traite pas des questions de surveillance. En mai 1989, le Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies a adopté une série de principes directeurs (lesquels ont été sanctionnés par la suite par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies dans la Résolution 44/162 du 15 décembre 1989) afin de mettre en oeuvres le Code de conduite. Le Canada était à l'époque membre du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies et a coparrainé l'ébauche de Résolution de l'Assemblée générale sanctionnant ces principes. Bien que ces principes directeurs (intitulés Principes directeurs en vue de l'application effective du Code de conduite pour les responsables de l'application des lois) comprennent des exigences relativement à la création de mécanismes effectifs de contrôle et de supervision externe par le biais de dispositions particulières pour le traitement de plaintes provenant du public, en plus de systèmes relatifs à la discipline interne, les pouvoirs et les ressources que ces mécanismes devraient posséder n'y sont pas élaborés. Toutefois, l'Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime devrait publier un rapport sur cette question d'ici la fin de l'année.

Nous aborderons maintenant certaines normes particulières qui ont été élaborées par des organismes internationaux auxquels le Canada est associé.

Le Commonwealth

Le rapport de 2005 sur l'Initiative du Commonwealth pour la défense des droits de la personne (Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative), intitulé Police Accountability: Too Important to Neglect, Too Urgent to Delay présente une intéressante analyse des normes et des pratiques exemplaires concernant la surveillance de la police. Bien que cette Initiative (CHRI) soit accréditée auprès du Commonwealth et qu'elle présente des rapports périodiques aux chefs d'États du Commonwealth, il s'agit d'un organisme non gouvernemental indépendant. Ses vues ne sont donc pas nécessairement celles du Commonwealth ou des États membres. Néanmoins, la CHRI jouit d'un statut particulier au sein du Commonwealth et auprès du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies, à titre d'organisme international respecté de défense des droits de la personne.

Dans son rapport de 2005, la CHRI soutient que les Principes de Paris (« Principes concernant le statut des institutions nationales » ) adoptés en 1993 par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et portant sur les normes minimales applicables aux organismes nationaux de protection des droits de la personne s'appliquent également à tout organisme de surveillance, y compris les organismes de surveillance de la police. Les éléments des Principes de Paris qui s'appliquent au travail des organismes indépendants de surveillance de la police incluent les principes suivants sous le titre « Modalités de fonctionnement » :

Dans le cadre de son fonctionnement, l'institution nationale doit : (a) Examiner librement toutes questions relevant de sa compétence, qu'elles soient soumises par le gouvernement ou décidées par auto saisine sur proposition de ses membres ou de tout requérant; (b) Entendre toute personne, obtenir toutes informations et tous documents nécessaires à l'appréciation de situations relevant de sa compétence; .

En 2001, le Secrétariat du Commonwealth s'est inspiré des Principes de Paris en développant ceux ci dans un document intitulé « National Human Rights Institutions : Best Practices » . Dans son rapport de 2005 sur la responsabilisation de la police, la CRHI a proposé des exigences minimales relativement aux organismes de surveillance de la police, en s'appuyant sur les pratiques exemplaires pour les organismes nationaux de protection des droits de la personne mises de l'avant par le Secrétariat et sur les Principes de Paris.

Exigences minimales pour tout organisme efficace de surveillance de la police identifiées par la CHRI dans son rapport de 2005 :

[traduction]

  1. Indépendance : Il doit être indépendant du pouvoir exécutif et des forces de police et il doit pouvoir rendre directement compte au Parlement.
  2. Pouvoirs suffisants : Il doit être investi des pouvoirs nécessaires pour enquêter sur les plaintes et déposer des constatations en toute indépendance. Cela nécessite l'existence de pouvoirs concomitants permettant de tenir des audiences, d'exiger la production de documents et d'assigner des témoins, y compris des membres des forces policières. Il doit également pouvoir identifier les problèmes organisationnels au sein de la police et recommander des réformes systémiques.
  3. Ressources adéquates : Il doit avoir les fonds nécessaires pour faire enquête tout au moins concernant les plaintes les plus importantes qui lui sont soumises. Il doit disposer de ressources humaines compétentes en matière d'enquêtes ou dans le traitement des plaintes.
  4. Pouvoir de suivi de ses recommandations : Il doit être habilité à faire rapport au public de ses conclusions et recommandations et à assurer le suivi des mesures prises par le chef de police à la suite de ses recommandations. Il doit aussi pouvoir porta à l'attention du Parlement les situations où la police ne prend aucune mesure.

Les deux rapports (celui de la CHRI sur la responsabilisation de la police et celui du Secrétariat du Commonwealth sur les pratiques exemplaires pour les institutions nationales de droits de la personne) soulignent l'importance que les organismes de surveillance exercent leurs activités selon un cadre constitutionnel ou législatif solide, qui en définit clairement les compétences, la raison d'être et les paramètres afin de protéger l'organisme contre les caprices politiques. Selon la CHRI, cela signifie que l'existence, la mission et les pouvoirs des organismes indépendants de surveillance de la police doivent, tout au moins, être pleinement établis en vertu d'un texte législatif et non pas en vertu d'un texte réglementaire ou d'autres instruments délégués pouvant être modifiés de façon unilatérale par le pouvoir exécutif.

En ce qui concerne les pouvoirs nécessaires aux organismes de surveillance de la police, le rapport de la CHRI note ce qui suit :

[traduction] De solides pouvoirs d'enquête sont un élément primordial pour la réussite des organismes de surveillance. Ceux qui sont les plus efficaces disposent non seulement du pouvoir de mener une enquête de façon indépendante mais aussi d'exiger des éléments de preuve et d'obliger la police à coopérer. Ils doivent également pouvoir formuler des recommandations en ce qui concerne les cas individuels aussi bien que les améliorations systémiques, qui devront être reconnues et prises en compte.

Le rapport de la CHRI souligne plus loin l'importance que les organismes de surveillance soient habilités à se pencher sur les questions systémiques :

[traduction] Les pratiques exemplaires démontrent qu'en plus d'enquêter sur des cas individuels, les organismes de surveillance doivent pouvoir examiner les modèles de comportement policiers ainsi que le fonctionnement des systèmes de discipline internes et de traitement des plaintes. S'ils n'ont pas ces pouvoirs de suivre et d'examiner les orientations organisationnelles, ils risquent de voir se répéter les plaintes individuelles concernant des formes semblables d'inconduite policière, sans pouvoir en examiner les causes profondes.

Il ressort clairement des points précédents que les organismes indépendants de surveillance de la police doivent non seulement disposer des pouvoirs d'enquête sur les plaintes et avoir accès à toute l'information pertinente détenue par la police, mais ils doivent aussi être investis du pouvoir de surveiller efficacement les mesures internes prises par la police à la suite de plaintes et d'enquêter sur les problèmes systémiques connexes qui peuvent aller au delà des préoccupations spécifiques des plaignants.

Conseil de l'Europe

Le Code européen d'éthique de la police (CEEP), adopté par le Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l'Europe en septembre 2001 contient également des dispositions qui sont pertinentes pour l'efficacité d'une surveillance indépendante de la police. Ces normes sont toutefois de nature plus générale que celles qui ont été définies par la CHRI.

L'article 59 de la CEEP stipule : « La police doit être responsable devant l'État, les citoyens et leurs représentants. Elle doit faire l'objet d'un contrôle externe efficace. » Le commentaire officiel sur cet article précise qu'en plus de sa nécessaire responsabilité devant l'État, un service de police doit être effectivement responsable devant un organisme public externe. On ajoute que « l'ouverture et la transparence de la police sont [...] des conditions indispensables à l'efficacité de tout système de responsabilité / contrôle » .

L'article 61 de la CEEP dispose que « Les pouvoirs publics doivent mettre en place des procédures effectives et impartiales de recours contre la police » .

Enfin, l'article 62 du Code énonce ce qui suit : « Il conviendrait d'encourager la mise en place de mécanismes favorisant la responsabilité et reposant sur la communication et la compréhension entre la population et la police » . Le commentaire sur l'article affirme entre autres : « Il convient de privilégier la mise en place de mécanismes permettant le règlement des différends entre la population et la police » . Il ajoute que « de tels mécanismes devraient, de préférence, être indépendants de la police » . Selon l'article et le commentaire, la police doit faire preuve d'un maximum de transparence et d'ouverture dans son traitement des plaintes, en particulier vis à vis des plaignants. On note également que même s'il faut favoriser un règlement informel des différends, ces questions ne devraient pas être entièrement du ressort de la police. Bien que l'article ne soit pas explicite à ce sujet, nous pouvons aisément en déduire que l'organisme indépendant de surveillance assurerait l'élément d'indépendance nécessaire au processus informel de résolution des plaintes.

Conclusion

De toute évidence, les normes internationales à l'égard de la surveillance indépendante de la police sont un domaine relativement nouveau et en pleine évolution. Bien qu'elles n'aient aucune force contraignante pour le gouvernement canadien, les normes examinées précédemment seront certainement un guide utile lors de l'élaboration, de la modification ou de l'interprétation des lois concernant la surveillance de la police. Tous les intervenants concernés voudront certainement suivre de près les nouveaux développements dans ce domaine, tant par le biais de l'Association canadienne de surveillance civile du maintien de l'ordre que par le biais de la nouvelle Initiative internationale en matière de surveillance, dont le lancement arrive fort à propos.

Préparé et présenté par la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire

SOMMAIRE

A. Initiative du Commonwealth pour la défense des droits de la personne (Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative [CHRI]) - rapport de 2005

Dans son rapport intitulé Police Accountability: Too Important to Neglect, Too Urgent to Delay, la CHRI a établi les normes suivantes applicables aux Organismes de Surveillance de la Police (ci-après les OSP) indépendants :

[traduction]

  1. Indépendance
    Les OSP devraient être indépendants du pouvoir exécutif et des forces policières en plus de rendre des comptes directement au Parlement. L'existence, la compétence et les pouvoirs des OSP devraient, à tout le moins, être prévus par une loi.
  2. Pouvoirs suffisants
    Les OSP devraient être investis des pouvoirs nécessaires pour enquêter sur les plaintes et émettre des conclusions en toute indépendance. Pour y arriver, ils devraient, entre autres, être habilités à :
    • tenir des audiences;
    • exiger la production de documents et la coopération de témoins, y compris des membres des forces policières;
    • résoudre les problèmes organisationnels et systémiques ainsi que les situations particulières;
    • superviser à l'interne le traitement des plaintes effectué par les policiers.
  3. Ressources adéquates
    Les OSP devraient pouvoir disposer, d'une part, d'un financement suffisant pour mener des enquêtes concernant, au moins, les plaintes les plus sérieuses qui leur sont référées et, d'autre part, de ressources humaines qualifiées.
  4. Pouvoir de suivi
    Les OSP devraient avoir le pouvoir de rendre compte de leurs conclusions et de leurs recommandations auprès du public ainsi que d'assurer le suivi des mesures prises par les forces policières dans la foulée de ces recommandations. Ils devraient également avoir la capacité d'attirer l'attention du Parlement dans les cas d'inaction policière.

B. Conseil de l'Europe

(Code européen d'éthique de la police - 2001)

Les articles 59 à 62 du Code européen d'éthique de la police (CEEP) prévoient ce qui suit :

Date de modification :