Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2015

Table of contents

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

The Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) reviews and investigates complaints concerning Military Police (MP) conduct and investigates allegations of interference in MP investigations. It reports its findings and makes recommendations directly to the MP and national defence leadership.

1.1 Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the MPCC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal year (FY) 2015-16. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the FY in which it is issued.

The MPCC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the MPCC spent approximately 16% of its authorities in the first quarter of 2015-16 compared to 21% in 2014-15.

The MPCC’s total budgetary expenditures decreased by $267,000 in the first quarter of 2015-16, compared to the same period in 2014-15. There were five significant variances explaining this decrease:

Additional Financial Information: Additional financial information on the MPCC’s financial and expenditure management can be found in the Reports on Plans and Priorities, the Annual Reports, the Departmental Performance Reports, the Future-oriented Financial Statements, the Quarterly Financial Reports and the Annual Financial Statements.

3. Risks and uncertainties

An unavoidable risk the MPCC will always face is the uncertainty regarding the number and complexity of complaints it must monitor and/or investigate each year. The MPCC cannot control the time it takes a complaint to be resolved. It must depend upon the efficiency of its investigative partners and the speed with which the Provost Marshal responds to the MPCC’s interim reports.

The MPCC’s caseload continues to grow with an increase of 29% new cases in the past five years. Some cases are carried over from year to year. One notable case, involving a complex, multi-jurisdictional investigation, has taken four years to make its way from initial review to interim report..

The funds set aside in December 2013 to cover the cost of renovating MPCC offices and converting its large boardroom into a hearing room remain unspent. Renovations have not yet begun due to a number of factors: the lengthy project management system used by the lease holder (Public Works and Government Services Canada), and the requirement to adhere to the Government of Canada’s fit-up standards as outlined in the Workplace 2.0 Initiative. The MPCC has had to renegotiate its lease beyond 2017, causing further delays and a re-profiling of funds into FY 2015-16.

Work on the renovation to the MPCC offices in expected to begin in September 2015.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There were no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs in the 1st quarter of FY 2015-16.

However, the MPCC is forecasting an increase in personnel (salaries) surplus due to the lengthy staffing processes associated with the newly created positions as a result of the program integrity review.

5. Approval by Senior Officials

This section is to provide the approval of Senior Officials, as required by the Policy on Financial Resource Management, Information and Reporting as follows:

Approved by:


Original signed by
________________________
Michel Séguin, Interim Chairperson

Original signed by
________________________
Elsy Chakkalakal, A/Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
August 21, 2015

A. Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2015-16 (in thousands of dollars)
Authority
Vote/Statutory
Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2016* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Total Authorities 5,615 896 896
Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 5,158 782 782
Budgetary statutory authorities - Contributions to employee benefit plans 457 114 114
Fiscal Year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)
Authority
Vote/Statutory
Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2015* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Total Authorities 5,619 1,163 1,163
Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 5,171 1,051 1,051
Budgetary statutory authorities - Contributions to employee benefit plans 448 112 112

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

B. Departmental budgetary expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2015-16 (in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at
quarter-end
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,615 896 896
Personnel 3,175 695 695
Transportation and communications 103 19 19
Information 13 2 2
Professional and special services 985 166 166
Rentals 420 8 8
Repair and maintenance 1 0 0
Utilities, materials and supplies 41 4 4
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 859 0 0
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 18 2 2
Other subsidies and payments 0 0 0
Fiscal Year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at
Quarter-end
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,619 1,163 1,163
Personnel 3,159 548 548
Transportation and communications 128 34 34
Information 14 13 13
Professional and special services 1,195 416 416
Rentals 432 87 87
Repair and maintenance 2 0 0
Utilities, materials and supplies 52 10 10
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 615 0 0
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 22 1 1
Other subsidies and payments 0 54 54
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015

Table des matières

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses.

La Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) révise et fait enquête sur les plaintes concernant la conduite d'un policier militaire et fait enquête sur les allégations d'ingérence dans des enquêtes menées par des policiers militaires. La CPPM formule des recommandations et présente ses conclusions directement aux hauts dirigeants de la police militaire et du ministère de la Défense nationale.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de la CPPM accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2015–2016. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de la loi de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

La CPPM utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L'État des autorisations ci-dessous indique que la CPPM a dépensé environ 16 % de ses autorisations au cours du premier trimestre de l'AF 2015-2016 par rapport à 21 % en 2014-2015.

La CPPM a connu une baisse de 267 000 $ de ses dépenses budgétaires totales au premier trimestre de 2015-2016, par rapport à la même période en 2014-2015. Cinq écarts importants expliquent cette baisse:

Renseignements financiers supplémentaires : Des renseignements supplémentaires sur la gestion des finances et des dépenses sont présentés dans les Rapports sur les plans et les priorités, les Rapports annuels, les Rapports ministériels sur le rendement, les États financiers prospectifs, les Rapports financiers trimestriels et les États financiers annuels.

3. Risques et incertitudes

La CPPM doit faire face à l'incertitude quant au nombre et complexité de plaintes qu'elle doit surveiller ou sur lesquelles elle doit enquêter chaque année, et il s'agit là d'un risque inévitable. Elle ne peut pas contrôler les délais de traitement des plaintes et elle dépend de l'efficacité de ses partenaires d'enquêtes et de la vitesse à laquelle le grand prévôt traite les rapports provisoires de la CPPM.

La charge de travail de la Commission ne cesse d'augmenter, le nombre de nouveaux cas s’étant accru de 29 % depuis cinq ans. Certains cas sont reportés d'une année à l'autre. Il convient de mentionner un cas notable, relativement à une enquête multi-juridictionnelle complexe, qui a pris quatre ans avant pour passer de l'examen initial au rapport provisoire.

Les fonds réservés en décembre 2013 pour rénover les locaux de la CPPM et convertir sa grande salle de réunion en salle d'audience n'ont toujours pas été dépensés. Les travaux de rénovation n'ont pas encore débuté pour de nombreuses raisons dont entre autres, le fait que le détenteur du bail (Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada) emploie un long processus de gestion de projets et la CPPM doit se conformer aux normes d'aménagement du gouvernement du Canada décrites dans l’initiative Milieu de travail 2.0. La CPPM doit renégocier son bail au-delà de 2017, ce qui entraîne d'autres retards et un report des fonds pour l'AF 2015-2016.

On prévoit commencer les rénovations en septembre 2015.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a eu aucun changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes dans le premier trimestre pour l’exercice financier 2015-2016.

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Cette section vise à fournir l'approbation des cadres supérieurs, tel que requise par la Politique sur la gestion financière des ressources, l'information et les rapports financiers, comme suit:

Approuvé par:


Original signé par
________________________
Michel Séguin, Président par intérim

Original signé par
________________________
Elsy Chakkalakal, Dirigeant principal des finances par intérim

Ottawa (Canada)
21 Août 2015

A. État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016 (en milliers de dollars)
Autorisation
Crédit/législative
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2016*
Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés
à la fin du trimestre
Autorisations totales 5 615 896 896
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 5 158 782 782
Autorisations législatives budgétaires - Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 457 114 114
Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)
Autorisation
Crédit/législative
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2015*
Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le
30 juin 2014
Cumul des crédits utilisés
à la fin du trimestre
Autorisations totales 5 619 1 163 1 163
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 5 171 1 051 1 051
Autorisations législatives budgétaires - Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 448 112 112

* N’inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

B. Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2016
Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé
le 30 juin 2015
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 615 896 896
Personnel 3 175 695 695
Transports et communications 103 19 19
Information 13 2 2
Services professionnels et spéciaux 985 166 166
Location 420 8 8
Services de réparation et d’entretien 1 0 0
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 41 4 4
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 859 0 0
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 18 2 2
Autres subventions et paiements 0 0 0
Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice
se terminant
le 31 mars 2015
Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé
le 30 juin 2014
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 619 1 163 1 163
Personnel 3 159 548 548
Transport et communications 128 34 34
Information 14 13 13
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 195 416 416
Location 432 87 87
Services de réparation et d’entretien 2 0 0
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 52 10 10
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 615 0 0
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 22 1 1
Autres subventions et paiements 0 54 54
Date de modification :