Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended December 31, 2012

Contents

1 Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates.

The Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) reviews and investigates complaints concerning military police (MP) conduct and investigates allegations of interference in MP investigations. It reports its findings and makes recommendations directly to the MP and National Defence leadership.

1.1 Basic Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the MPCC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year.

This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the MPCC prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

2 Highlights

The MPCC’s ongoing reference level is $3.5MFootnote 1 annually and has not significantly changed over the past 5 years.

The MPCC’s Main Estimates reference levels for Fiscal Year (FY) 2012-13 are $4.6M. The increase, of $1.1M, from the on-going level, is due to special purpose funding approved for the Fynes Public Interest Hearing (PIH).

In FY 2011-12, the MPCC received approval to spend $2.5M to support the Fynes PIH for a period of 3 years beginning in FY 2011-12 and scheduled to end in FY 2013-14. Subsequently, due to delays in launching the Fynes PIH and a longer than expected process to finalize the Afghanistan PIH Final Report, the MPCC required a re-profile of lapsed funding from 2011-12 to 2012-13. The reprofile consisted of $509K, for the Fynes PIH and $473K for the Afghanistan PIH.

During the Fynes PIH initial phases, the MPCC had to readjust the PIH plan, update the budget plan to include unplanned and unanticipated activities, and readjust the hearing schedule itself due to delays in the start up. The main reason for the revised PIH plan was due to the additional two months of hearings combined with a two month pre-hearing preparation. These events were not foreseeable until well into the PIH. Furthermore, additional legal requirements which were not anticipated by any of the parties until recently have been identified. Even at this stage of the PIH, additional unplanned and unforeseen activities continue to surface. As a result the MPCC sought and secured approval for additional funding for the Fynes PIH in the amount of $3.3M over three years beginning in FY 2012-13.

Also, during the second quarter of FY 2012-13, the MPCC began proceedings on a multi-jurisdictional conduct review investigation. To offset significant costs related to the case the MPCC sought and received approval for funding in the amount $1.7M over a three year period beginning in FY 2012-13.

The year-to-date expenditures for the third quarter of FY 2012-13 have increased by $102K over the third quarter of FY 2011-12. The increase is attributable to costs related to increased accommodation costs, the Fynes PIH and the multi-jurisdictional conduct review investigation.

3 Risks and Uncertainties

Based on the quarterly assessment, the following are the high level risks and uncertainties;

4 Significant Changes

There have been significant changes in the following areas;

Operations

The MPCC concluded the Afghanistan PIH and all related activities.

During this quarter, the MPCC sought additional funds to support the Fynes PIH and a large complex case.

Reference Level

The MPCC conducted a program review and has identified reference level shortfalls or gaps. Additional reviews and consultation has been initiated to determine the approach to address these gaps.

5 Approval by Senior Officials

This section is to provide the approval of Senior Officials, as required by the Policy on Financial Resource Management, Information and Reporting as follows:

Approved by:

________________________
Glenn Stannard, Chairperson
Signed in Ottawa, Canada
December 31, 2012

________________________
Sylvain Roy, Chief Financial Officer
Signed in Ottawa, Canada
December 31, 2012



A Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-13 ($000)
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end
Total Authorities 8,809 1,292 4,220
Vote 20 – Net operating expenditures 8,537 1,216 3,993
Statutory authorities – Employee Benefit Plans 362 76 227

Fiscal year 2011-12 ($000)
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end
Total Authorities 5,993 1,190 3,039
Vote 20 – Net operating expenditures 5,694 1,115 2,814
Statutory authorities – Employee Benefit Plans 299 75 225

B Statement of Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-13 ($000)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end
Total net budgetary expenditures 8,809 1,292 4,220
Personnel 2,378 509 1,753
Transportation and communications 455 53 220
Information 28 (22) 21
Professional and special services 5,369 619 1,812
Rentals 413 109 340
Repairs and maintenance 18 1 2
Utilities, materials and supplies 88 16 52
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 60 7 20

Fiscal year 2011-12 ($000)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end
Total net budgetary expenditures 5,993 1,190 3,039
Personnel 1,986 409 1,318
Transportation and communications 106 40 120
Information 50 33 40
Professional and special services 3,527 606 1,308
Rentals 147 82 167
Repairs and maintenance 3 1 3
Utilities, materials and supplies 35 11 35
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 139 8 48
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel se terminant le 31 décembre 2012

Contenu

1 Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses.

La Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) examine les plaintes concernant la conduite des policiers militaires et fait enquête sur ces plaintes ainsi que sur les allégations d'ingérence dans les enquêtes menées par des policiers militaires. Elle formule des recommandations et présente ses conclusions directement aux hauts dirigeants de la police militaire et de la Défense nationale.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de la CPPM accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2012-2013.

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise des lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise d’autres lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre du processus d’établissement du rapport sur le rendement ministériel, la CPPM utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels, conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles s’appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore établis en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen externes.

2 Faits saillants

Le niveau de référence permanent de la CPPM est de 3,5 millions de dollarsNote de bas de page 1 par an. Il a connu peu de changements au cours des cinq dernières années.

Le niveau de référence du budget principal des dépenses 2012–2013 de la CPPM est de 4,6 millions de dollars. L’augmentation de 1,1 million par rapport au niveau permanent découle de fonds spéciaux affectés à l’audience d’intérêt public (AIP) sur le dossier Fynes.

En 2011–2012, la CPPM a reçu l’autorisation de dépenser 2,5 millions de dollars pour soutenir l'AIP Fynes pendant trois ans, à compter de 2011-2012; l'audience devrait prendre fin en 2013–2014. Compte tenu du retard dans le lancement de l'AIP Fynes et puisque la rédaction du rapport final sur l'AIP concernant l'Afghanistan a nécessité plus de temps que prévu, la CPPM a demandé que des fonds non utilisés de 2011–2012 soient reportés à 2012–2013. Le report de fonds s’élève à 509 000 $ pour l’AIP Fynes et à 473 000 $ pour l’AIP sur l’Afghanistan.

Au cours des premières étapes du dossier Fynes, la CPPM a dû ajuster le plan des AIP, mettre à jour le plan budgétaire afin d’y inclure des activités imprévues, et ajuster le calendrier des audiences en raison du retard accusé. Le plan des AIP a été revu principalement en raison des deux mois supplémentaires d’audiences et de la préparation de deux mois préalable aux audiences. Ces besoins ne se sont déclarés qu’une fois le processus de l’AIP bien entamé. En outre, des obligations juridiques qui n’avaient pas été prévues par les parties ont récemment été soulevées. Même à cette étape du processus, des activités imprévues continuent d’apparaître. C’est pourquoi la CPPM a demandé et obtenu des fonds supplémentaires pour l’AIP Fynes (3,3 millions de dollars sur trois ans à compter de 2012–2013).

De plus, au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2012–2013, la CPPM a lancé une enquête relative à une plainte pour inconduite faisant intervenir de multiples compétences. Afin de compenser les importants coûts liés à ce dossier, la CPPM a demandé et obtenu 1,7 million de dollars en fonds supplémentaires sur une période de trois ans débutant en 2012–2013.

Les dépenses cumulatives à ce jour pour le troisième trimestre de 2012–2013 ont augmenté de 102 000 $ par rapport au même trimestre de 2011–2012. Cette hausse est attribuable à l’augmentation des coûts d’hébergement, à l’AIP Fynes et à l’enquête faisant intervenir de multiples compétences.

3 Risques et incertitudes

Si l’on considère l’évaluation trimestrielle, les éléments suivants présentent des risques et des incertitudes élevés :

4 Changements importants

D’importants changements ont été relevés dans les secteurs suivants :

Opérations

La CPPM a mené à bien l’AIP sur l’Afghanistan et les activités connexes.

Au cours du trimestre, la CPPM a demandé des fonds supplémentaires pour couvrir les coûts liés à l’AIP Fynes et à un important dossier complexe.

Niveau de référence

La CPPM a réalisé un examen de ses programmes et a trouvé des manques à gagner et des écarts relativement aux niveaux de référence. D’autres examens et consultations ont été lancés afin de trouver l’approche à utiliser pour combler ces manques à écarts.

5 Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Cette section présente l’approbation des hauts fonctionnaires, comme l’exige la Politique sur la gestion financière des ressources, l’information et les rapports financiers :

Approuvé par :

________________________
Glenn Stannard, président
Signé à Ottawa, Canada
Le 31 décembre 2012

__________________________________
Sylvain Roy, dirigeant principal des finances
Signé à Ottawa, Canada
Le 31 décembre 2012



A. État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2012–2013 (en milliers de dollars)
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2013
Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Total des autorisations 8 809 1 292 4 220
Crédit 20 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 8 537 1 216 3 993
Autorisations législatives – Régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 362 76 227

Exercice financier 2011–2012 (en milliers de dollars)
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2012
Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Total des autorisations 5 993 1 190 3 039
Crédit 20 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 5 694 1 115 2 814
Autorisations législatives – Régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 299 75 225

B. Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2012–2013 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses au cours du trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 8 809 1 292 4 220
Personnel 2 378 509 1 753
Transport et communications 455 53 220
Information 28 (22) 21
Services professionnels et spéciaux 5 369 619 1 812
Location 413 109 340
Services de réparation et d’entretien 18 1 2
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 88 16 52
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 60 7 20

Exercice financier 2011–2012 (en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses au cours du trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 5 993 1 190 3 039
Personnel 1 986 409 1 318
Transport et communications 106 40 120
Information 50 33 40
Services professionnels et spéciaux 3 527 606 1 308
Location 147 82 167
Services de réparation et d’entretien 3 1 3
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 35 11 35
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 139 8 48
Date de modification :