Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited) for the year ending March 31, 2016

Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31
(in dollars)
Expenses Forecast Results
2015‑16
Planned Results
2016‑17
Complaints Resolution Program $2,455,642 $2,491,866
Internal Services 2,430,123 2,648,320
Total expenses 4,885,765 5,140,186
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers $4,885,765 $5,140,186

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the forecast results for the fiscal year 2015‑16 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2015 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2016‑17 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

These assumptions are adopted as at December 31, 2015.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2015‑16 and for 2016‑17, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations, the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the MPCC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using the Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2015‑16 fiscal year, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the MPCC's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for accommodation, employer contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and workers’ compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions that do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence, or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities, to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The MPCC is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the MPCC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years.  Accordingly, the MPCC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in dollars)
  Forecast Results
2015‑16
Planned Results
2016‑17
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers $4,885,765 $5,140,186
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Services provided without charge by other government departments (214,195) (252,930)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (61,272) (194,704)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave 917 (22,241)
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (274,550) (469,875)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible capital assets including work in progress 1,170,854 15,000
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 1,170,854 15,000
Forecast current year lapse 88,883 0
Requested authorities $5,870,952 $4,685,311
(b) Authorities Requested (in dollars)
Authorities requested: Forecast Results
2015‑16
Planned Results
2016‑17
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 5,414,346 4,217,527
Statutory amounts 456,606 467,784
Requested authorities 5,870,952 4,685,311
Date modified:

État des résultats prospectif (non vérifié) pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2016

Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada
État des résultats prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en dollars)
Charges Résultats projetés
2015‑2016
Résultats prévus
2016‑2017
Programme de résolution des plaintes 2 455 642 2 491 866
Services internes 2 430 123 2 648 320
Total des charges 4 885 765 5 140 186
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 4 885 765 5 140 186

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes à l'état des résultats prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l'exercice 2015‑2016 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l'exercice 2016‑2017.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2015.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2015‑2016 et pour 2016‑2017, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectifs, la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique sont entre autres :

Une fois que le rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, la CPPM ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement qui sont entrées en vigueur pour l'exercice 2015‑2016, lesquelles s'appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement de la CPPM sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit aux termes de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont comptabilisés à titre de charges lorsque le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou qu'il a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d'opérations qui ne font pas partie d'un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, dans la mesure où la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement est approuvée par le Parlement avant l'achèvement de l'état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l'entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l'accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de paiement de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d'avances, ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

La CPPM est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties à la CPPM ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d'un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l'exercice précédent, de l'exercice en cours ou d'exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net de la CPPM pour l'exercice diffère suivant qu'il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement et des autorisations demandées (en dollars)
  Résultats projetés
2015‑2016
Résultats prévus
2016‑2017
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 4 885 765 5 140 186
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (214 195) (252 930)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (61 272) (194 704)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 917 (22 241)
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (274 550) (469 875)
Rajustements pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles incluant travaux en cours 1 170 854 15 000
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 1 170 854 15 000
Prévision de la péremption de l'année courante 88 883 0
Autorisations demandées 5 870 952 4 685 311
(b) Autorisations demandées (en dollars)
Autorisations demandées Résultats projetés
2015‑2016
Résultats prévus
2015‑2016
Crédit 1 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 5 414 346 4 217 527
Montants des postes législatives 456 606 467 784
Autorisations demandées totales 5 870 952 4 685 311
Date de modification :