Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited) for the year ending March 31, 2014

Military Police Complaints Commission

For the year ended March 31
  Estimated
Results
2013-14
Planned
Results
2014-15
(in dollars)
Net cost of operations $6,317,896 $5,281,513
Expenses
Complaints Resolution Program $3,983,333 $2,639,664
Internal Services 2,334,563 2,641,849
Total expenses 6,317,896 5,281,513
 

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the Military Police Complaints Commission (the Commission) as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for the fiscal year 2013-14 is based on the actual results as at December 31, 2013 and forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

These assumptions are adopted as at December 31, 2013.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2013-14 and for 2014-15, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations, the Commission has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Commission will not be updating the forecasts for any changes for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using the Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2011-12 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Commission's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans and worker's compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The Commission is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Commission do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Commission has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of Net Cost of Operations to Requested Authorities
  Estimated
2013-14
Planned
2014-15
(in dollars)
Requested authorities $6,293,370 $5,618,520
Net cost of operations $6,317,896 $5,281,513
 
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Services provided without charge (178,608) (225,067)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (42,066) (62,866)
Change in employee future benefits 138,764 -
Revenue not available for spending 66 -
Change in vacation pay and compensatory leave 15,482 (12,134)
Refunds of prior year's expenditures 3,786 -
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (62,576) 4,981,446
 
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible capital assets 38,050 637,074
 
(b) Authorities Requested
  Estimated
2013-14
Planned
2014-15
(in dollars)
Authorities provided
Requested authorities $6,293,370 $5,618,520
Vote 25 - Operating expenditures $10,878,279 $5,171,097
Statutory amounts 248,134 447,423
  11,126,413 5,618,520
Less:    
Lapsed: Operating (4,833,043) -
 
Date modified:

État des résultats prospectif (non vérifié) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014

Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire

Pour l’exercise se terminant le 31 mars
  Résultats
estimatifs
2013–2014
Résultats
prévus
2014–2015
(en dollars)
Coût de fonctionnement net 6 317 896 $ 5 281 513 $
Charges
Programme de résolution des plaintes 3 983 333 $ 2 639 664 $
Services internes 2 334 563 $ 2 641 849 $
Total des charges 6 317 896 $ 5 281 513 $
     

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires à l’état des résultats prospectif

1. Méthodes et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectifs a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission) qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l’exercice

2013–2014 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2013 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l’exercice 2014–2015.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2013.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2013–2014 et pour 2014–2015, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation d’un état des résultats prospectifs, la Commission établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique sont entre autres :

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités sera présenté, la Commission ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement entrées en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2011–2012, lesquelles s’appuient sur les Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement de la Commission sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts, de placements et d’avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

La Commission est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties à la Commission ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d’un exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de la Commission diffèrent suivant qu’ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement et des autorisations demandées
  Estimatif
2013–2014
Prévu
2014–2015
(en dollars)
Autorisations demandées 6 293 370 $ 5 618 520 $
Coût de fonctionnement net 6 317 896 $ 5 281 513 $
 
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations:
Services fournis gratuitement (178 608) $ (225 067) $
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (42 066) $ (62 866) $
Variation des avantages sociaux futurs 138 764 $ -  
Revenu non disponible pour dépenser 66 $ -  
Diminution des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 15 482 $ (12 134) $
Remboursement des dépenses des exercices précédents 3 786 $ -  
Total des postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (62 576) $ 4 981 446 $
 
Rajustements pour les postes n’ayant pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 38 050 $ 637 074 $
 
(b) Autorisations demandées
  Estimatif
2013–2014
Prévus
2014–2015
(en dollars)
Autorisations demandées
Autorisations demandées 6 293 370 $ 5 618 520 $
Crédit 25 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 10 878 279 $ 5 171 097 $
Montants des autorisations législatives 248 134 $ 447 423 $
  11 126 413 $ 5 618 520 $
Soustraire : Périmés de fonctionnement    
  (4 833 043) $ -  
 
Date de modification :