Contract Opportunities - Lawyers

The Military Police Complaints Commission (Commission) was established by the Government of Canada and became operational on December 1, 1999. The Commission’s mandate is to provide independent, civilian oversight of Canadian Forces military police. The Commission became the first civilian oversight authority which is external, autonomous, and independent of the Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces. The Commission monitors investigations and the disposition of complaints about military police conduct by the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal, independently investigates such complaints, as appropriate, and investigates allegations of interference in military police investigations.

In order to meet operational requirements, from time to time, the Commission hires lawyers on contract for a specified project and duration. This may range from hiring a lawyer to work and direct the work of investigators, assist the Commission in the drafting of reports, prepare specific legal opinions or act as Commission counsel in a public interest investigation or hearing.

Please review the work requirements below and, if you are qualified and interested, you are invited to submit your cover letter, résumé and other supporting documents to the address shown below.

Generally, we are looking for:

Lawyers, on a part-time/full-time contract basis, possessing the following attributes:

Language: Various (English only, bilingual in French and English depending upon the project);

Security Clearance: Secret (The MPCC will sponsor security clearances)

If you meet the requirements stated above and are interested in applying to be added to our pool of lawyers, please submit a cover letter describing your experiences and qualifications against the statement of work above. Please submit a copy of your résumé/curriculum vitae and send it to us at:

Military Police Complaints Commission
270 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa ON K1P 5G8

Attention: Julianne C. Dunbar, General Counsel

Please note that the Commission will retain résumés on file and will only be in touch with candidates having demonstrated the required experience when vacancies arise in the pool of contract lawyers.

For more information, please contact Ms. Julianne Dunbar, General Counsel of the Military Police Complaints Commission at 613-943-5592 or email at Julianne.Dunbar@mpcc-cppm.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Possibilités de contrat - Avocats

La Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission), constituée par le gouvernement du Canada, a entrepris ses activités le 1er décembre 1999. Son mandat est d’assurer la surveillance civile de la police militaire des Forces canadiennes, en tant que toute première instance de surveillance civile, externe, autonome et indépendante du ministère de la Défense nationale et des Forces canadiennes. La Commission est chargée de suivre le déroulement des enquêtes menées par le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes relativement aux plaintes pour inconduite qui ont été portées contre des membres de la police militaire, d’examiner elle-même ces plaintes au besoin et de faire sa propre enquête sur les allégations d’ingérence dans les enquêtes de la police militaire.

Afin de rencontrer ses besoins opérationnels, la Commission doit à l’occasion, recruter des avocats sur une base contractuelle pour un projet et une durée spécifiques. Les fonctions peuvent varier entre embaucher un avocat pour diriger le travail des enquêteurs, collaborer avec la Commission à l'égard de la rédaction de rapports, préparer des conseils juridiques spécifiques ou encore, agir en tant qu’avocat-conseil dans le cadre d’une enquête ou d’une audience publique.

Nous vous invitons à examiner les exigences de travail énoncées ci-dessous. Si vous possédez les compétences nécessaires et êtes intéressé(e) à joindre l’effectif de la Commission, veuillez soumettre une lettre de présentation, votre curriculum vitae et tout autre document pertinent à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessous.

Habituellement, nous recherchons :

Avocats, à temps plein ou à temps partiel sur une base contractuelle. Les candidatures présentant les qualités suivantes seront considérées :

Exigence linguistique : Divers profils linguistiques (anglais seulement, bilingue en anglais et français, dépendamment du projet)

Cote de sécurité : Secret (La Commission parrainera les autorisations de sécurité)

Si vous répondez aux exigences mentionnées ci-dessus et souhaitez que votre candidature soit ajoutée à notre répertoire d’avocats, veuillez faire parvenir une lettre de présentation, dans laquelle vous démontrez que vous satisfaites aux exigences (expérience et compétences) du présent énoncé de qualités, accompagnée d’une copie de votre curriculum vitae à :

Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire
270, rue Albert, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5G8

À l’attention de : Julianne C. Dunbar, avocate générale

Veuillez prendre note que la Commission conservera les curriculum vitae des candidats ayant démontré l’expérience essentielle et communiquera uniquement avec les postulants qualifiés lorsqu’ il y aura un poste à doter dans le bassin d’emploi des enquêteurs contractuels.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Mme Julianne Dunbar, avocate générale de la Commission, au 613-943-5592 ou par courriel à Julianne.Dunbar@mpcc-cppm.gc.ca.

Date de modification :