Beamish Public Interest Investigation (MPCC‑2016‑040) - Homepage

The Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada (MPCC) is conducting a public interest investigation (PII) into a historical complaint that alleges torture and abuse of former CAF members.

In December 2016, the MPCC received a complaint from counsel for Mr. Jeffrey Beamish, a former CAF member. The complaint relates to a CFNIS investigation into alleged torture during training exercises that occurred at the Infantry Battle School at CFB Wainwright between October 1983 and March 1984.

Mr. Beamish alleges that while participating in an exercise that included a Prisoner of War scenario, he and approximately 32 other recruits were stripped and placed in prison cells that were too small to allow them to move or sit. The complaint further alleges that, over the following 24 to 48 hours, the naked recruits were sprayed through the jail door bars with cold water from a hose while the windows were left open, letting in the outside air. It is alleged that the temperature outside was between -15°C and -30°C.

The complaint alleges that this exercise resulted in Mr. Beamish suffering from major depressive disorder, PTSD, night terrors, paranoia and adjustment issues.

Mr. Beamish made a complaint to the Military Police (MP), who referred the matter to the CFNIS. In August 2016, the CFNIS member in charge of conducting the investigation called the complainant to advise him that the investigation was closed.

The complaint is about the conduct and performance of the CFNIS investigator and specifically alleges “professional negligence, incompetence, and failing to investigate serious criminal allegations.”

On April 11, 2018, Hilary McCormack, Chairperson of the Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada, decided that the MPCC will conduct a public interest investigation into this complaint. She also noted that other CFNIS members were involved in the decision to close the CFNIS investigation, and identified them, as well as the CFNIS investigator, as subjects of the complaint.

Updates on the progress of the investigation will be posted in the "Timeline".

For information, please contact:

Michael Tansey
Communications Advisor
Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada
Telephone: 613-487-3765
Cell: 613-851-4587
commission@mpcc-cppm.gc.ca
www.mpcc-cppm.gc.ca

Timeline

Beamish Public Interest Investigation Timeline
Date Event
October 3, 2018 Request for additional disclosure sent to the CFPM
September 5, 2018 Investigative assessment and plan approved by the Commission Chairperson
April 11, 2018 Decision to conduct a public interest investigation
Date modified:

Enquête d'intérêt public Beamish (CPPM-2016-040) - Accueil

La Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada (CPPM) mène une enquête d’intérêt public se rapportant à une plainte historique alléguant que des anciens membres des FAC ont été victimes de torture et d’abus. 

En décembre 2016, la CPPM a reçu une plainte de l’avocat de M. Jeffrey Beamish, un ancien membre des FAC. La plainte se rapporte à une enquête du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) sur des allégations de torture qui aurait été commise pendant des exercices de formation à l’École de combat à la BFC Wainwright entre octobre 1983 et mars 1984.

M. Beamish allègue que, lors d’un exercice qui comprenait un scénario axé sur les prisonniers de guerre avec environ 32 autres recrues, les recrues ont dû se dévêtir avant d’être placées dans des cellules carcérales exiguës dans lesquelles il était impossible de bouger ou de s’asseoir. La plainte allègue que, au cours des 24 à 48 heures qui ont suivi, les recrues, toujours nues, ont subi des douches d’eau froide données à l’aide d’un boyau d’arrosage entre les barreaux de la cellule, alors que l’air extérieur entrait par les fenêtres ouvertes. La température extérieure aurait varié entre -15°C et -30°C.

La plainte allègue qu’en raison de cet exercice, M. Beamish souffre d’un trouble dépressif majeur, d’un TSPT, de terreurs nocturnes, de paranoïa et de problèmes d’adaptation.

M. Beamish s’est plaint à la police militaire (PM), qui a renvoyé l’affaire au Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC). En août 2016, le membre du SNEFC responsable de l’enquête a appelé le plaignant pour l’aviser que l’enquête était terminée.

La plainte concerne la conduite et le travail de l’enquêteur du SNEFC, et allègue plus particulièrement « la négligence professionnelle, l’incompétence, et l’omission d’enquêter sur des allégations criminelles sérieuses ».

Le 11 avril 2018, Hilary McCormack, la présidente de la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada, a décidé que la CPPM tiendra une enquête d'intérêt public sur la plainte. Elle a constaté que d’autres membres du SNEFC avaient pris part à la décision de mettre fin à l’enquête. La Commission a identifié ces personnes, ainsi que l’enquêteur du SNEFC, comme personnes visées par la plainte.

Des mises à jour concernant les progrès de l’enquête seront fournies dans la section « Chronologie ».

Pour de l’information, veuillez contacter :

Michael Tansey
Conseiller en communications,
Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada
Téléphone : 613-487-3765
Cell. : 613-851-4587
commission@mpcc-cppm.gc.ca
www.mpcc-cppm.gc.ca

Chronologie

Chronologie de l'enquête d'intérêt public Beamish
Date Évènement
Le 11 avril 2018 Décision de mener une enquête d’intérêt public
Date de modification :