Protocol for handling of Notice of Action

Protocol made as between:

THE MILITARY POLICE COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

- and -

THE CANADIAN FORCES PROVOST MARSHAL


  1. Definitions
    In this Protocol:
    1. NOA document” means a Notice of Action produced by the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (the CFPM) pursuant to s.250.51 of the National Defence Act, as well as correspondence between the CFPM and the Military Police Complaints Commission (the MPCC) related to the Notice of Action prior to publication of the MPCC's Final Report;
    2. “redacted information” means information that the CFPM believes may not be disclosed to the public because it is privileged, designated, classified, sensitive and/or potentially injurious to the national interest.
  2. Purpose
    Acknowledging that both the MPCC and the CFPM share a responsibility to protect privileged, designated, classified, sensitive and/or potentially injurious information to the national interest from disclosure, and also have an obligation to ensure to the greatest extent possible, that MPCC Public Interest Hearings and Public Interest Investigations are public proceedings, the parties hereto agree to the following Protocol intended to govern the handling of NOA documents in the context of MPCC Public Interest Hearings and Public Interest Investigations.
  3. Redacted Information
    1. NOA documents will be written such that redacted information will be limited to circumstances where there is no other way to respond to the MPCC's Interim Report.
    2. Where a NOA document contains redacted information, the following procedures will apply:
      1. The CFPM will provide the MPCC with two versions of the NOA document:
        1. A redacted version for publication in conjunction with the MPCC's Final Report (the public version); and '
        2. A non-public version not for publication (the non-public version). The non-public version of the NOA document will be designated or classified, as legally required and contain as much of the information redacted from the public version as can legally be disclosed to the MPCC.
      2. The MPCC and the CFPM may enter into good faith discussions in order to resolve any issues arising from the redactions to the public version of a NOA document in order to facilitate the publication of a NOA document with sufficient information while protecting from disclosure information that is privileged, designated, classified, sensitive and/or potentially injurious to the national interest. The content of such discussions, but not the fact they have taken place, will be on a confidential and without prejudice basis.
      3. If information is redacted in the public version of a NOA document, the MPCC and the CFPM may follow any available legal processes to seek a determination as to the disclosure of any information redacted from the public version of the NOA document.
      4. The MPCC and the CFPM agree that any available legal processes referred to in 3.2(c) will be pursued without delay.
  4. Publication
    1. The MPCC will not publish the public version of a Notice of Action prior to the release of its Final Report. Pending publication of the Final Report, the public version of a Notice of Action may be marked as “to be published only in conjunction with the Final Report.”
    2. The public version of a Notice of Action produced by the CFPM in response to an Interim Report will be published in its entirety as an Appendix to the MPCC's Final Report.
  5. Public Document
    1. The MPCC and the CFPM agree that this protocol may be made public.

Signed at Ottawa, Ontario this 20 day of July, 2015.

Signature of Michel Séguin
_______________________________

Michel Seguin
Interim Chairperson
MPCC
Signature of Colonel Robert Delaney
_______________________________

Colonel Robert Delaney
CFPM
Date modified:

Protocole pour le traitement de la Notification

Protocole entre :

LA COMMISSION D'EXAMEN DES PLAINTES CONCERNANT LA POLICEMILITAIRE

— et —

LE GRAND PRÉVÔT DES FORCES CANADIENNES


  1. Définitions
    Dans le présent protocole :
    1. par « document de notification », on entend une notification produite par le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (le GPFC) aux termes du para. 250.51 de la Loi sur la défense nationale, ainsi que la correspondance entre le GPFC et la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la CPPM) relativement à la notification avant la publication du rapport final de la CPPM;
    2. par « renseignements caviardés », on entend les renseignements que le GPFC estime ne pas pouvoir être divulgués au public parce qu'ils sont de nature privilégiée, désignée, classifiée, sensible ou qu'ils sont potentiellement préjudiciables aux intérêts nationaux.
  2. Obiectif
    Reconnaissant que la CPPM et le GPFC partagent la responsabilité de protéger contre toute divulgation les renseignements de nature privilégiée, désignée, classifiée, sensible, ou potentiellement préjudiciables aux intérêts nationaux, qu'ils ont également l'obligation de garantir, autant que possible, que les audiences d'intérêt public et les enquêtes d'intérêt public de la CPPM sont des instances publiques, les parties conviennent du protocole ci-après énoncé visant à régir le traitement des documents de notification dans le contexte des audiences d'intérêt public et des enquêtes d'intérêt public de la CPPM.
  3. Renseignements caviardés
    1. Les documents de notification seront rédigés de façon à limiter les renseignements caviardés aux cas où il n'y a aucun autre moyen de répondre au rapport provisoire de la CPPM.
    2. Lorsqu'un document de notification contient des renseignements caviardés, les procédures suivantes s'appliqueront:
      1. le GPFC fournira à la CPPM deux versions du document de notification :
        1. une version caviardée aux fins de publication conjointement avec le rapport final de la CPPM (la version publique);
        2. une version non publique à ne pas publier (la version non publique). La version non publique du document de notification sera désignée ou classifiée, tel que l'exige la loi et contiendra tous les renseignements caviardés qui se trouvent dans la version publique et qui peuvent être légalement divulgués à la CPPM.
      2. La CPPM et le GPFC peuvent entamer des discussions de bonne foi afin de régler toute question découlant du caviardage de la version publique d'un document de notification afin de faciliter la publication du document de notification qui inclurait suffisamment d'information tout en protégeant contre la divulgation les renseignements qui sont de nature privilégiée, désignée, classifiée, sensible ou potentiellement préjudiciables aux intérêts nationaux. La teneur de telles discussions, et non le fait que celles-ci ont eu lieu, sera à titre confidentiel et sous toutes réserves.
      3. Si des renseignements sont caviardés dans la version publique d'un document de notification, la CPPM et le GPFC peuvent entreprendre tout recours juridique disponible afin de faire statuer sur la divulgation de tout renseignement caviardé dans la version publique du document de notification.
      4. La CPPM et le GPFC conviennent que tout recours juridique disponible dont il est fait mention au paragraphe 3.2(c) sera entrepris sans délai.
  4. Publication
    1. La CPPM ne publiera pas la version publique d'une notification avant la publication de son rapport final. En attendant la publication du rapport final, la version publique d'une notification peut porter la mention « à publier seulement conjointement avec le rapport final. »
    2. La version publique d'une notification produite par le GPFC en réponse au rapport provisoire sera publiée intégralement sous forme d'appendice au rapport final de la CPPM.
  5. Document public
    1. La CPPM et le GPFC conviennent que le présent protocole peut être rendu public.

Signé à Ottawa (Ontario), en ce 20 jour de juillet 2015.

Signature de Michel Séguin
_______________________________

Michel Séguin
Président par intérim
CPPM
Signature de Colonel Robert Delaney
_______________________________

Colonel Robert Delaney
GPFC
Date de modification :