Bill C-15 Strengthening Military Justice

Bill C-15 was tabled in the House of Commons on October 7, 2011. It proposes a number of amendments to the National Defence Act (NDA) primarily related to the military justice system for the Canadian Forces. While the Bill does not directly address the jurisdiction or authorities of the Commission, one provision of the Bill of concern to the Commission relates to the proposed authority of the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff (VCDS) to direct military police investigations: s.18.5 (3) (in Clause 4). The Commission regards this proposal as highly problematic and it submitted a brief on this matter to the House of Commons Standing Committee on National Defence on October 26, 2011.

This proposed authority would effectively abrogate key provisions of the March 2, 1998 Accountability Framework signed by the VCDS and the CFPM of the day. The purpose of this Framework was to adapt the command relationship of the VCDS and CFPM such that the latter would retain appropriate independence from the chain of command in the conduct of individual law enforcement investigations.

More recently, the independence and integrity of military policing have been further supported through changes to the Military Police command structure. Effective April 1, 2011, all Military Police members when performing their policing duties are under the command of the CFPM. The proposed authority for the VCDS in subsection 18.5 (3) in Clause 4 of the Bill is thus out of step with efforts over the past 15–20 years to recognize and support the independence of the Military Police within the CF, particularly when conducting law enforcement investigations. Perhaps more importantly, however, the authority in question runs counter to Canadian law and practice regarding the independence of police investigations generally.

As far as the Commission is aware, there have been no problems with the VCDS-CFPM Accountability Framework which justify its revocation and the proposed subsection 18.5 (3) runs counter to various efforts over the years to shore up public confidence in the independence of military policing. For these reasons, and for other legal and constitutional reasons, the Commission is of the view that this subsection should be deleted from Bill C-15.

Date modified:

Projet de loi C-15 Loi visant à réformer la justice militaire

Le projet de loi C-15 a été déposé à la Chambre des communes le 7 octobre 2011. On y propose un certain nombre de changements à la LDN, principalement au système de justice militaire des FC. Bien que le projet de loi ne traite pas directement de la compétence ou des pouvoirs de la Commission, une de ses dispositions est préoccupante pour la Commission parce qu’elle a trait à l’autorité proposée du VCEMD de diriger les enquêtes de la PM : alinéa 18.5 (3) (à la disposition 4). Selon la Commission, cette proposition est très problématique. Elle a déposé un document d’information à ce sujet auprès du Comité permanent de la défense nationale de la Chambre des communes le 26 octobre 2011.

Ce pouvoir proposé annulerait en fait des dispositions principales du cadre de responsabilisation du 2 mars 1998 signé par le VCEMD et le GPFC de l’époque. Ce cadre avait pour but d’adapter le rapport de commandement du VCEMD et du GPFC de sorte que ce dernier puisse conserver un degré d’indépendance convenable vis-à-vis de la chaîne de commandement dans le cadre de ses enquêtes sur des questions liées au maintien de l’ordre.

Plus récemment, on a renforcé l’indépendance et l’intégrité de la PM grâce à des changements à la structure de commandement de la PM. Depuis le 1er avril 2011, le GPFC assume le commandement intégral de tous les policiers militaires dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions de nature policière. Le pouvoir proposé pour le VCEMD à l’alinéa 18.5 (3) ne cadre donc pas avec les efforts déployés au cours des 15 à 20 dernières années pour reconnaître et appuyer l’indépendance de la PM au sein des FC, en particulier dans le cadre des enquêtes sur des questions touchant le maintien de l’ordre. Fait peut-être de plus grande importance encore toutefois, le pouvoir en question est contraire au droit canadien et à la pratique concernant l’indépendance des enquêtes de la police en général.

Selon la Commission, rien par rapport au cadre de responsabilisation du VCEMD-GPFC ne justifie son abrogation, et l’alinéa 18.5 (3) proposé est contraire aux divers efforts déployés au cours des années pour accroître la confiance du public vis-à-vis de l’indépendance de la PM. Pour ces raisons et pour d’autres raisons d’ordre juridique et constitutionnel notées ci-dessus, la Commission estime que cet alinéa doit être retiré du projet de loi C-15.

Date de modification :