MPCC Policy on Openness and Privacy

The Military Police Complaints Commission (“MPCC” or “the Commission”) is a federal, independent tribunal created to provide for independent civilian oversight of military policing.

This document outlines the MPCC’s policy on the openness of its processes and describes how it handles issues relating to privacy.

The Commission’s mandate is divided into four main categories:

  1. Monitors the handling of conduct complaints conducted by the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) in the first instance;
  2. Reviews conduct complaints where the complainant is dissatisfied with the Professional Standards investigation and/or its results. This may result in a fresh investigation by the Commission;
  3. Investigates in the first instance interference complaints made by a Military Police (MP) member or his supervisor; and
  4. Conducts public interest investigations and/or hearings when the Chairperson deems it to be in the public interest to do so.

Commission Final Reports are provided to the Minister of National Defence, the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal, the complainant, the persons who are subjects of the complaint, all persons who have satisfied the Commission that they have a substantial and direct interest in the complaint as well as senior Canadian Forces and Department of National Defence officials.

The Commission has a mandate to investigate two types of complaints: conduct complaints, in respect of which the Commission generally acts in a review capacity following a first instance investigation and/or disposition by the CFPM; and interference complaints (complaints by MPs about improper interference in their investigations), where the Commission has exclusive investigative jurisdiction.

The majority of the Commission’s cases are conduct complaint reviews. Conduct complaint reviews commence with a paper review of the Professional Standards investigation in the first instance as well as the initial military police investigation complained of, followed by any necessary investigation by the Commission. This is a “behind closed door” investigation.

In all conduct and interference cases that are not deemed to be in the public interest, the Commission issues a Final Report to the complainant, subject member(s) and Departmental officials. The Commission then posts de-personalized summaries of the decisions on the MPCC website. No names are mentioned and the case is summarized in a page or two.

The National Defence Act gives a discretionary power to the Chairperson to launch an investigation and possibly a hearing where he or she considers this to be in the public interest. A decision from the Chairperson outlining why the complaint is in the public interest triggers a public interest investigation and/or hearing process.

The Chairperson may determine a complaint is in the public interest based on the seriousness of the allegations where elements of the complaint strike at core issues in policing or where the allegations involve the infringement of important statutory rights, to name a few examples. A public interest investigation and/or hearing may be in the interest of the Military Police members, the Military Police as an entity, the Canadian Forces and the Canadian public in order to re-establish their reputation and credibility. The interest of the public is served by ensuring complaints are properly handled.

The Commission operates very much like a court when it conducts public interest hearings pursuant to Part IV of the National Defence Act. These hearings are presumptively open to the public.

Following a public interest investigation and/or hearing the Commission forwards its Final Report to the complainant, the subject member(s), and all persons who have satisfied the Commission that they have a substantial and direct interest in the complaint as well as other Department of National Defence officials. In the cover letter attaching the Final Report it is noted the Final Report will be posted on the Commission’s website in the near future. Once the report is translated into both official languages the Final Report is then posted on the Commission website.

A public interest investigation is conducted as a “behind closed door” investigation in that interviews of witnesses are not open to the public. Public interest investigations are more cost effective and expedient and therefore are used more often than the hearing option.

Whether the case deemed in the public interest is conducted by means of an investigation or a hearing has no bearing on the “public interest” in knowing the result as well as how the Commission arrived at their conclusions, findings and recommendations as reported in the Commission’s Final Report.

A public hearing is a process that is open to the public except those portions held in private for specific reasons enunciated in the National Defence Act.

For all cases deemed in the public interest, the Commission posts full text decisions on its website including names of complainants, subject member(s) and key witnesses. However, exceptions exist such as in the case of minors, victims of sexual assault, sensitive medical information and other exceptional circumstances. Initials and/or vetting are used in these circumstances.

In addition, public interest decisions are written to avoid using the names or personal information of third parties whose identities are not critical to a full understanding of the case.

Public hearings shall be recorded according to the Commission’s rules of procedures and transcripts and exhibits are provided to anyone who requests a copy. Such requests may be made through the Registrar of the MPCC.

When a public interest hearing is convened, the Commission operates based on the open court principle. The open court principle is significant in our legal system. In accordance with that principle and the Commission’s governing statute, public interest hearings are to be open to the public except in those circumstances where the test for a private hearing in whole or in part is met. Due to its mandate and the nature of its proceedings, the Commission maintains an open justice policy to foster transparency in its processes, accountability and fairness in its proceedings.

The Commission’s website, notices and other publications advise parties and the community its hearings are open to the public. Parties engaging the MPCC’s services should be aware that when the Chairperson calls a public interest hearing the process presumes a public airing of the complaint, including the public availability of its decisions. Parties and witnesses are subject to public scrutiny when giving evidence before the Commission. Commission decisions identify parties and key witnesses by name and may set out information about them that is relevant to the determination of the complaint.

At the same time, the MPCC acknowledges that in some instances mentioning an individual’s personal information during a hearing or in a written decision may affect that person’s life. Privacy concerns arise more frequently when some identifying aspects of a person’s life become public. These include information about an individual’s home address, date of birth, sensitive medical information to name a few. The MPCC endeavors to include such information only to the extent that it is relevant and necessary.

With advances in technology and the possibility of posting material electronically – including Commission decisions – the MPCC recognizes in some instances it may be appropriate to limit the concept of openness as it relates to circumstances of individuals who are parties or witnesses in public interest proceedings.

In exceptional circumstances, the MPCC departs from its open justice principles, and in doing so, the Commission may grant requests to maintain the confidentiality of specific evidence and tailor its decisions to accommodate the protection of an individual’s privacy.

The MPCC’s policy is consistent with the statement of the Heads of Federal Administrative Tribunals Forum (endorsed by the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals) and the principles found in the Protocol for the Use of Personal Information in Judgments approved by the Canadian Judicial Council.

MPCC public interest Final Reports are available electronically on its website. In an effort to establish a balance between public access to its decision and privacy concerns, the MPCC has taken measures to prevent internet searches of full-text versions of decisions posted on its website. This was accomplished by using the “web robot exclusions protocol”, which is recognized by internet search engines (e.g. Google and Yahoo). As a result, an internet search of a person’s name will not yield any information from the full-text versions of decisions posted on the MPCC’s website. We cannot guarantee that the technological measures taken will always be respected or free of malfunctions. Please address any questions or concerns that you may have to the Registrar of the MPCC.

Official Languages

The MPCC website is subject to the Official Languages Act and applicable Treasury Board policies. The MPCC strives to ensure that all information is available simultaneously in English and French.

In accordance with the Official Languages Act, the Commission posts all its decisions and summaries in both official languages on this website. Reasonable delays may occur from the time a document is released to the time the translated document is posted on the website.

Date modified:

Politique de la CPPM sur la transparence et la protection des renseignements personnels

La Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« CPPM » ou « la Commission ») est un tribunal fédéral indépendant créé dans le but d’exercer une surveillance civile indépendante de la police militaire.

Le présent document décrit la politique de la CPPM à l’égard de la transparence de ses processus et le traitement des questions relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le mandat de la Commission se divise en quatre grandes catégories:

  1. Surveiller le traitement que fait le Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (« GPFC ») des plaintes pour inconduite en première instance;
  2. Examiner les plaintes pour inconduite des plaignants insatisfaits de l’enquête par les Normes professionnelles ou de ses résultats. Cet examen peut conduire à la tenue d’une nouvelle enquête par la Commission;
  3. Enquêter en première instance les plaintes pour ingérence commise par un membre de la police militaire (« PM ») ou son superviseur; et
  4. Faire tenir une enquête ou convoquer une audience d’intérêt public si le président l’estime préférable dans l’intérêt du public.

Les rapports finaux de la Commission sont transmis au ministre de la Défense nationale, au GPFC, au plaignant, aux personnes visées par la plainte, à toutes les personnes qui ont convaincu la Commission qu’elles ont un intérêt important et direct dans la plainte ainsi qu’aux officiers supérieurs des Forces canadiennes et aux hauts fonctionnaires du ministère de la Défense nationale.

La Commission a pour mandat de faire enquête sur deux types de plaintes : les plaintes pour inconduite, sur lesquelles la Commission n’effectue généralement qu’un examen à la suite d’une enquête en première instance ou d’une décision du GPFC, et les plaintes pour ingérence, soit les plaintes déposées par des policiers militaires concernant une ingérence indue dans leurs enquêtes, pour lesquelles la Commission détient des pouvoirs d’enquête exclusifs.

La majorité des causes de la Commission portent sur des plaintes pour inconduite. L’examen d’une plainte pour inconduite commence par l’examen sur papier de l’enquête menée par le bureau des Normes professionnelles en première instance ainsi que de la première enquête de la police militaire faisant l’objet de la plainte. S’ensuit ensuite la tenue à huis clos de toute enquête nécessaire de la Commission.

Dans le cas des plaintes pour inconduite et ingérence n’étant pas jugées d’intérêt public, la Commission transmet son rapport final au plaignant, à la ou aux personnes visées par la plainte et aux fonctionnaires du Ministère. La Commission publie ensuite un résumé dépersonnalisé de ses décisions sur son site Web. Aucun nom n’est mentionné, et l’affaire est résumée en une ou deux pages.

La Loi sur la défense nationale donne au président le pouvoir discrétionnaire de faire tenir une enquête et de convoquer une audience s’il l’estime préférable dans l’intérêt public. Dans sa décision, le président explique les raisons pour lesquelles la plainte est d’intérêt public, ce qui déclenche une enquête ou une audience.

Le président peut déterminer qu’une plainte est dans l’intérêt public en se fondant sur la gravité des faits allégués, soit sur des éléments de la plainte qui s’attaquent à des enjeux fondamentaux du maintien de l’ordre, ou sur des faits allégués se rapportant à la violation d’importants droits prévus par la loi, pour ne nommer que quelques raisons. Il peut être dans l’intérêt de membres de la police militaire, de la police militaire en tant qu’entité, des Forces canadiennes et de la population canadienne de faire tenir une enquête ou de convoquer une audience d’intérêt public afin de rétablir leur réputation et crédibilité. On sert l’intérêt du public en veillant à ce que les plaintes soient traitées convenablement.

La Commission fonctionne à peu près comme un tribunal qui convoque des audiences d’intérêt public en vertu de la Partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale. Il est présumé que ces audiences sont publiques.

À la suite d’une enquête ou d’une audience d’intérêt public, la Commission transmet son rapport final au plaignant, à la ou aux personnes mises en cause, à toutes les personnes qui ont convaincu la Commission qu’elles ont un intérêt important et direct dans la plainte, ainsi qu’à d’autres représentants des Forces canadiennes et du ministère de la Défense nationale. Dans la lettre de présentation jointe au rapport final, il est indiqué que celui-ci sera publié sur le site Web de la Commission dans un avenir rapproché, soit quand il aura été traduit et qu’il sera disponible dans les deux langues officielles.

On dit d’une enquête d’intérêt public qu’elle est tenue à « huis clos » quand les entrevues menées avec les témoins ne sont pas rendues publiques. Les enquêtes d’intérêt public étant plus rentables et rapides que les audiences, on y recourt davantage.

Que l’affaire jugée dans l’intérêt public donne lieu à une enquête ou à une audience n’influe en rien l’« intérêt du public » à en connaître les résultats et à connaître la manière dont la Commission en est arrivée à ses conclusions, constatations et recommandations, telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans son rapport final.

Une audience d’intérêt public est un processus public, à l’exception des parties tenues à huis clos pour des raisons précises expliquées dans la Loi sur la défense nationale.

La Commission publie le texte complet de ses décisions sur des plaintes d’intérêt public sur son site Web, y compris le nom des plaignants, de la ou des personnes visées par la plainte et des principaux témoins, sauf s’il s’agit de mineurs, de victimes d’agression sexuelle, de renseignements médicaux de nature délicate et d’autres circonstances exceptionnelles. Elle n’indique alors que les initiales ou recourt à d’autres moyens de filtrage.

En outre, les décisions portant sur des plaintes d’intérêt public sont rédigées de manière à ne pas révéler le nom des tiers ou fournir des renseignements personnels sur ceux-ci, leur identité n’étant pas essentielle à la pleine compréhension de l’affaire.

Les audiences publiques doivent être enregistrées conformément aux règles de procédure de la Commission, et les transcriptions et les pièces sont fournies à quiconque en demande une copie. De telles demandes doivent être présentées à la greffière de la CPPM.

Lorsqu’une audience d’intérêt public est convoquée, la Commission fonctionne selon le principe de l’audience publique. Ce principe revêt une grande importance dans notre système juridique. Conformément à ce principe ainsi qu’à la loi habilitante de la Commission, les audiences sont publiques, sauf quand les critères d’une audience à huis clos sont satisfaits en tout ou en partie. En raison de son mandat et de la nature de ses délibérations, la Commission a mis en place une politique de justice transparente pour favoriser la transparence de ces processus, la responsabilisation et l’équité de ses délibérations.

La Commission informe les parties et la collectivité de la tenue d’audiences publiques par l’intermédiaire de son site Web, d’avis et d’autres publications. Les parties qui retiennent les services de la CPPM doivent savoir que la convocation par le président d’une audience d’intérêt public suppose la diffusion publique de la plainte, y compris les décisions. Les parties et les témoins font l’objet d’un examen attentif du public lorsqu’ils témoignent devant la Commission. On trouve, dans les décisions de cette dernière, le nom des parties et des principaux témoins ainsi que de l’information sur eux, si elle est pertinente à la décision rendue sur la plainte.

Parallèlement, la CPPM reconnaît que dans certains cas, la mention de renseignements personnels au cours d’une audience ou dans une décision écrite peut avoir une incidence sur la vie de la personne concernée. Les préoccupations liées à la protection des renseignements personnels surviennent plus souvent quand des aspects liés à l’identité et à la vie d’une personne deviennent publics. Il s’agit entre autres de renseignements sur l’adresse d’une personne, sa date de naissance, de renseignements délicats de nature médicale, pour n’en nommer que quelques‑uns. La CPPM s’efforce de ne mentionner de tels renseignements que dans la mesure où ils sont pertinents et nécessaires.

En raison des avancées technologiques et de la possibilité de publier des documents de manière électronique, y compris les décisions de la Commission, la CPPM reconnaît qu’il peut être approprié, dans certains cas, de limiter le concept de transparence quand il s’agit de renseignements portant sur des personnes qui sont parties aux audiences d’intérêt public ou qui en sont des témoins.

Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, la CPPM peut ne pas respecter ses principes de justice transparente et, ce faisant, approuver les demandes visant à préserver la confidentialité d’éléments de preuve précis et adapter ses décisions en vue de protéger les renseignements personnels d’une personne.

La politique de la CPPM se conforme à la déclaration du Forum pour les présidents des tribunaux administratifs fédéraux (approuvée par le Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens) ainsi qu’aux principes énoncés dans le Protocole pour l’usage de renseignements personnels dans les jugements approuvé par le Conseil canadien de la magistrature.

Les rapports finaux d’intérêt public de la CPPM sont offerts en version électronique sur le site Web de celle-ci. Dans un effort visant à établir un équilibre entre l’accès du public à ses décisions et les préoccupations liées à la protection des renseignements personnels, la CPPM a pris des mesures pour empêcher que des recherches puissent être menées à partir d’Internet dans les versions intégrales des décisions affichées sur son site Web. Elle a notamment utilisé un « protocole d’exclusion des robots Web » reconnu par les moteurs de recherche (p. ex., Google et Yahoo). Ainsi, si on cherche le nom d’une personne sur Internet, aucune information tirée des versions intégrales des décisions publiées sur le site Web de la CPPM n’apparaîtra. Nous ne pouvons garantir que les mesures techniques prises seront toujours respectées ou fonctionneront toujours bien. Veuillez communiquer avec à la greffière de la CPPM pour toute question ou préoccupation.

Langues officielles

Le site Web de la CPPM est assujetti à la Loi sur les langues officielles et aux politiques applicables du Conseil du Trésor. La CPPM veille à ce que toute l’information soit disponible simultanément en français et en anglais.

Conformément à la Loi sur les langues officielles, la Commission publie ses décisions et ses résumés dans les deux langues officielles sur son site Web. Il peut s’écouler une période de temps raisonnable entre le moment où un document est publié et le moment où sa traduction est affichée sur le site Web.

Date de modification :