How to Make a Complaint

Conduct Complaints

Anyone, civilian or military, directly affected or not, can make a complaint about the conduct of Military Police members in the performance of their policing duties, e.g., during an investigation, the enforcement of laws or the arrest or custody of a person.

Interference Complaints

Only a member of the Military Police who conducts or supervises a military police investigation and believes a member of the Canadian Armed Forces or the Department of National Defence has interfered with or attempted to influence an investigation may file a complaint of interference.

Time limit

A complaint must be made within one year of the incident in question. However, the MPCC Chairperson can extend the time limit if circumstances warrant. In requesting a time extension, include as much detail as possible and explain the delay in making the complaint.

Complaints to the MPCC can be sent by:

Telephone or fax

Courier, mail or hand delivery

The MPCC encourages the use of its complaint form (Adobe PDF version, 273 KB). Print and complete the form and mail or fax to:

Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada
270 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, ON, K1P 5G8

Conduct or interference complaints may also be made by phone, fax, mail or hand delivered to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal or the Judge Advocate General. Conduct complaints may be made to any member of the Military Police.

Addresses

Canadian Forces Provost Marshal
2200 Walkley Road
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0K2

Telephone: 613-949-1000 | Fax: 613-949-1637

Office of the Judge Advocate General
National Defence Headquarters
Constitution Building, 305 Rideau Street
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0K2

Telephone: 613-992-3019 | Fax: 613-995-3155

Case summaries of the conduct and interference complaints the MPCC has investigated are available online.

Date modified:

Comment porter plainte

Plaintes pour inconduite

Toute personne, civile ou militaire, directement affectée ou non, peut déposer une plainte concernant la conduite des membres de la Police militaire dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions de nature policière, par exemple, au cours d'une enquête, l'application des lois ou l'arrestation ou la détention d'une personne.

Plaintes pour ingérence

Uniquement un membre de la Police militaire qui mène ou supervise une enquête de la Police militaire et qui estime qu’un membre des Forces armées canadiennes ou le ministère de la Défense nationale s’est ingéré dans l’enquête policière ou a tenté d’influencer celle-ci, peut déposer une plainte pour ingérence.

Délai prescrit

Une plainte doit être déposée au courant de l'année suivant la survenance de l'incident qui en est à l'origine. Toutefois, le président de la CPPM peut prolonger ce délai si les circonstances le justifient. En demandant une prorogation du délai, veuillez inclure autant de détails que possible et expliquer le retard à porter plainte.

Vous pouvez porter plainte auprès de la CPPM par:

Téléphone ou télécopieur

Messager, la poste ou en personne

La CPPM vous invite à utiliser le formulaire de plainte (version PDF Adobe, 273 ko). Veuillez imprimer et remplir le formulaire et l’envoyer ou le faxer à :

Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire du Canada
270, rue Albert, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5G8

Les plaintes pour inconduite ou pour ingérence peuvent également être déposées par téléphone, par télécopieur, par la poste ou en personne auprès du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes ou du juge-avocat général. Les plaintes pour inconduite peuvent aussi être faites auprès d'un policier militaire.

Adresses

Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes
2200, rue Walkley
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K2

Numéro de téléphone : 613-949-1000 | Numéro de télécopieur : 613-949-1637

Le Cabinet du juge-avocat général
Quartier général de la Défense nationale
Édifice Constitution, 305, rue Rideau
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K2

Numéro de téléphone : 613-992-3019 | Numéro de télécopieur : 613-995-3155

Les résumés des dossiers des plaintes pour inconduite ou ingérence pour lesquelles la CPPM a enquêté sont disponibles en ligne.

Date de modification :