Information on the Commission Reports

Interim Report

Once a review or investigation of a complaint has been completed by the Commission, with or without a public hearing, the Chair is required to prepare an interim report including all findings and recommendations.

This interim report is submitted to the Minister of National Defence, the Chief of the Defence Staff or the Deputy Minister, depending on the circumstances, the Judge Advocate General, and the Provost Marshal.

Depending on the nature of the complaint, the report is reviewed by one of the people mentioned above and that person notifies both the Chair and the Minister of any action that has been taken or will be taken with respect to the complaint.

While the Chair's report is not binding, if there is a refusal to act on any of the findings or recommendations, the response to the Chair and the Minister must provide an explanation.

Final Report

After considering the official written response to the interim report, the Chair prepares a final report of findings and recommendations.

Copies of the final report are given to the following:

Date modified:

Information sur les rapports de la Commission

Rapport intérimaire

Une fois que le président ou la Commission a complété un examen ou une enquête sur une plainte, qu'il y ait ou non audience publique, le président doit préparer un rapport intérimaire où il fait état de ses conclusions et recommandations.

Ce rapport intérimaire est remis au ministre de la Défense nationale, au chef d'état-major de la Défense ou au sous-ministre, selon que la personne visée par la plainte est un militaire ou un cadre supérieur du ministère, au grand prévôt et au juge-avocat général.

Selon la nature de la plainte, l'une de ces personnes examine le rapport et remet une notification au président et au ministre de la Défense dans laquelle il indique toute mesure prise ou projetée concernant la plainte.

Un refus de prendre des mesures pour appliquer les conclusions ou les recommandations du président exige un avis motivé à le président et au ministre.

Rapport final

Après avoir étudié la réponse officielle au rapport intérimaire laquelle est faite par écrit, le président prépare un rapport final de ses conclusions et recommandations.

Une copie du rapport final est remise :

Date de modification :