Interference Complaints

The Commission has the exclusive authority to deal with interference complaints. Any member of the Military Police (MP) who conducts or supervises an investigation and believes a member of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) or a senior official of the Department of National Defence (DND) has interfered with or attempted to influence a MP investigation, may file a complaint with the Commission. This process recognizes the special situation of the MP members, who are both peace officers and members of the CAF subject to military command.

Interference Complaints Process

Interference Complaint Filed

Members of the MP who conduct or supervise investigations may complain about interference in their investigations.

Commission Investigates

A preliminary review is conducted to determine whether an investigation should be commenced, the scope of the investigation and how to approach the investigation. Once this is completed the Commission commences an investigation.

Commission Releases Interim Report

The Interim Report includes a summary of the Commission’s investigation, as well as its findings and recommendations. This report goes to the Minister of National Defence (MND), the Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) if the alleged interference was carried out by a member of the military or to the deputy minister (DM) if the subject of the complaint is a senior official of the DND, the Judge Advocate General (JAG) and the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM).

Notice of Action

This official response to the Interim Report indicates the actions, if any, which have been or will be taken to implement the Commission’s recommendations.

The Commission Releases Final Report

Taking into account the response in the Notice of Action, the Commission prepares a Final Report of its findings and recommendations on the case. The Final Report is provided to the MND, the DM, the CDS, the JAG, the CFPM, the complainant and the subject(s) of the complaint, as well as anyone who has satisfied the Commission that they have a direct and substantive interest in the case.

Date modified:

Plaintes pour ingérence

La Commission a compétence exclusive pour traiter les plaintes pour ingérence. Le policier militaire qui mène ou supervise une enquête de la police militaire (PM) et qui estime qu’un membre des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) ou un cadre supérieur du ministère de la Défense nationale s’est ingéré dans l’enquête policière ou a tenté d’influencer celle-ci, peut présenter une plainte à la Commission. On reconnaît ainsi la situation particulière des PM, qui sont à la fois des agents de la paix et des membres des FAC assujettis au commandement militaire.

Processus de traitement des plaintes pour ingérence

Présentation d’une plainte pour ingérence

Tout policier militaire qui effectue ou supervise une enquête et qui estime qu’un membre des FAC ou un cadre supérieur du MDN s’est ingéré dans cette enquête ou a tenté de l’influencer peut déposer une plainte auprès de la Commission.

La Commission enquête sur la plainte

On réalise un premier examen afin d’établir s’il y a lieu d’entamer une enquête, la portée de l’enquête et la façon d’aborder l’enquête. Une fois ce travail accompli, la Commission ouvre une enquête.

La Commission présente un rapport préliminaire

On retrouve dans le rapport préliminaire un résumé de l’enquête de la Commission et ses conclusions et recommandations. Ce rapport est présenté au ministre de la Défense, au chef d’état-major de la défense (CEMD) si l’ingérence alléguée était de la part d’un membre des forces militaires ou au sous-ministre (SM) si la personne visée par la plainte est un cadre supérieur du ministère, au juge-avocat général (JAG) et du grand prévost des Forces canadiennes (GPFC).

Avis d’action

L’avis d’action est la réponse officielle au rapport préliminaire. On y décrit les mesures entreprises ou prévues, s’il y a lieu, afin de mettre en œuvre les recommandations de la Commission.

La Commission présente un rapport final

En tenant compte de la réponse dans l’avis d’action, la Commission prépare un compte rendu final de ses conclusions et recommandations. Le rapport final est remis au ministre, au SM, au CEMD, au JAG, au GPFC, au plaignant et à la (aux) personne(s) visée par la plainte, de même qu’à toute personne ayant convaincu la Commission qu’elle a un intérêt direct et important dans le dossier.

Date de modification :