Conduct Complaints

Anybody, whether they are a civilian or a member of the military and whether or not they were affected, may complain about the conduct of Military Police (MP) in the performance of “policing duties or functions.

To help ensure an effective and fair investigation, it is desirable that complaints be made in as timely a manner as circumstances permit (Note: there is a one-year deadline, subject to reasonable extension on application to the Chair of the Commission). Persons considering making a complaint should know that they are not required to provide evidence in support of their allegations when filing complaints. Unlike a court action, the complaints process is not adversarial. The Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) and the Commission will conduct their own investigations of the complaint and, in particular, they will obtain any MP or other Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) records necessary to investigate the complaint.

The Complaints about the Conduct of Members of the Military Police Regulations state that any of the following constitute “policing duties or functions”:

It should be noted that the regulations specifically exclude from the description of policing duties or functions “a duty or function performed by a member of the military police that relates to administration, training, or military operations that result from established military custom or practice.

Under the legislation, the CFPM is responsible for dealing with conduct complaints. The Commission monitors the CFPM’s handling and disposition of these complaints.

Conduct Complaints Process

Conduct Complaint Filed

Anyone may make a conduct complaint regarding the MP in the performance of their policing duties or functions, including individuals not directly affected by the subject matter of the complaint. Such complaints are initially dealt with by the CFPM.

Informal Resolution

The legislation encourages the CFPM to attempt, if appropriate and consistent with the regulations and with the consent of both sides, to resolve conduct complaints in an informal manner.

If a complaint is informal, the CFPM is required to prepare a written report of the details, to be signed by both sides, and provide notice of the informal resolution to the Chair of the Commission.

Complaint Investigated by the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

As the CFPM investigates a complaint, the Commission monitors the process. At the conclusion of the investigation, the CFPM provides a copy of the Report of Findings and Actions to the Commission. The Commission may, at any time during the CFPM investigation, assume responsibility for the investigation or call a public hearing if it is deemed to be in the public interest to do so.

Status Reports

If the CFPM’s examination and/or investigation of a conduct complaint is not completed within 60 days, the CFPM must provide a status report to both sides, and every 30 days thereafter, until the investigation is completed and the results have been reported to all concerned.

Time Limit

Normally, a complaint must be filed within one year of the incident in question. However, at the request of the complainant, the Chair can decide if it is reasonable in the circumstances to extend the time limit.

In applying for an extension of time to file their complaints, complainants should include as much detail as possible, including relevant dates and time periods, in explaining the reasons for the delay in bringing forward their complaint. The decision of the Chair of the Commission on a request for an extension of time to file a complaint is final, subject only to an application for judicial review in the Federal Court of Canada.

Request for Review

Complainants may request the MPCC review a conduct complaint if they are not satisfied with the results of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal’s (CFPM) investigation or disposition of the complaint.

A request for review must be made in writing. It may be submitted by email, fax, letter, or in person. There is no time limit to request a review.

The review process involves a review by the MPCC of documentation compiled by the CFPM’s office during its investigation, as well as reviews of relevant legislation and military and civilian police policies and procedures. It often includes interviews with the complainant, the subject(s) of the complaint, and other witness(es).

Chair's Review of the Complaint

After completing the investigation of a conduct complaint, the CFPM must provide a written report of the findings to both sides.

If a complainant is not satisfied with the CFPM's findings, he or she can ask the Commission to review the complaint. If so, the Commission is required to provide status reports as noted above.

This provision for review by the Commission also applies to conduct complaints that may be dismissed by the CFPM on the grounds the complaint is “frivolous, vexatious, or made in bad faith,” or that the complaint would be dealt with more appropriately under another legislated procedure.

Commission Reviews Complaint

At a minimum, this process involves a review of documentation related to the CFPM’s investigation. Most often, it also includes interviews with the complainant, the subject of the complaint and witnesses, as well as reviews of relevant legislation and police policies and procedures.

Commission Releases Interim Report

At the completion of the review, the Chairperson forwards the Interim Report to the Minister of National Defence (MND), the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) and the CFPM setting out the findings and recommendations regarding the complaints.

Notice of Action

The Notice of Action is the official response by the CAF to the Interim Report and it outlines what action, if any, has been or will be taken in response to the Commission’s recommendations.

Commission Releases Final Report

After considering the Notice of Action, the Commission issues a Final Report of findings and recommendations. The Final Report is provided to the MND, the Deputy Minister, and the CDS, the Judge Advocate General, the CFPM, the complainant and the subject(s) of the complaint, as well as anyone who has satisfied the Commission that they have a direct and substantive interest in the case.

Date modified:

Plaintes pour inconduite

Toute personne, qu'il s'agisse d'un civil ou d'un militaire, peut déposer une plainte sur l'inconduite d'un policier militaire dans l'exercice des « fonctions de nature policière », qu'elle en ait ou non subi un préjudice.

Dans le souci d’assurer la tenue d’enquêtes justes et efficaces, la Commission souligne que les plaintes devraient être déposées au moment le plus opportun possible compte tenu des circonstances – remarque : le délai pour déposer une plainte est d’une année mais le président de la Commission peut, sur requête, proroger ce délai de façon raisonnable. Pour les personnes qui envisagent de déposer une plainte, il importe de savoir qu’elles n’ont pas à présenter de preuve au soutien de leurs allégations lors du dépôt de leur plainte. Contrairement au processus régissant le traitement des actions présentées devant des cours, le processus de traitement des plaintes n’est pas contradictoire. Le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) et la Commission tiendront leur propre enquête relativement à la plainte. Par exemple, ils obtiendront tout dossier de la police militaire (PM) ou de toute autre entité des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) qui sera nécessaire pour enquêter sur la plainte.

Le Règlement sur les plaintes portant sur la conduite des policiers militaires stipule que l'expression « fonctions de nature policière » s'entend des fonctions suivantes :

Il faut signaler que le règlement exclut expressément de la description des fonctions de nature policière « les fonctions exercées par un policier militaire qui se rapportent à l'administration, à la formation ou aux opérations d'ordre militaire qui découlent de coutumes ou de pratiques militaires établies ».

En vertu de la Loi, le GPFC est responsable du traitement des plaintes pour inconduite. La Commission surveille la façon dont il traite et règle ces plaintes.

Processus de traitement des plaintes pour inconduite

Une plainte pour inconduite est déposée

Toute personne peut déposer une plainte sur l’inconduite d’un policier militaire dans l’exercice de ses fonctions de nature policière, y compris les personnes qui ne sont pas directement touchées par l’objet de la plainte. Ces plaintes sont d’abord traitées par le GPFC.

Règlement à l'amiable

La Loi encourage le GPFC à tenter de régler à l'amiable les plaintes pour inconduite, si c'est approprié conformément aux règlements et s'il a obtenu le consentement des deux parties.

Si la plainte est réglée à l'amiable, le GPFC est tenu de rédiger un rapport détaillé que signent les deux parties. Il doit aussi informer le président de la Commission du règlement à l'amiable.

Enquête sur la plainte par le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Pendant que le GPFC fait enquête sur une plainte, la Commission surveille le processus. À la fin de l’enquête, le GPFC présente à la Commission une copie du rapport sur les conclusions et les mesures prises. La Commission peut, à tout moment au cours de l’enquête du GPFC, assumer la responsabilité de l’enquête ou convoquer une audience publique si la Commission estime qu’elle est dans l’intérêt public.

Rapports d'étape

Dans le cas où le GPFC ne terminerait pas dans un délai de 60 jours l'examen d'une plainte pour inconduite ou l'enquête s'y rapportant, il doit fournir aux deux parties un rapport sur l'état d'avancement de l'affaire, et par la suite tous les 30 jours, jusqu'à ce que l'enquête soit terminée et que les conclusions qui en découlent aient été communiquées à tous les intéressés.

Délai prescrit

Normalement, une plainte doit être déposée au courant de l'année suivant la survenance de l'incident qui en est à l'origine. Toutefois, à la requête du plaignant, le président peut décider s'il est raisonnable, à la lumière des circonstances, de prolonger ce délai.

Lorsqu’un plaignant présente une requête en prorogation du délai applicable au dépôt d’une plainte, il a avantage à y inclure le plus de renseignements possible - y compris les dates et les périodes pertinentes - aux fins de justifier son retard à déposer la plainte. La décision du président de la Commission sur une requête en prolongation du délai pour déposer une plainte est définitive, à la seule réserve qu’elle peut être portée devant la Cour fédérale du Canada par voie de demande de contrôle judiciaire.

Demande d’examen

Les plaignants peuvent demander à la CPPM d’examiner une plainte pour inconduite en cas d’insatisfaction de la façon dont elle a été traitée ou des résultats de l’enquête du Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC).

La demande d’examen doit se faire par écrit. Elle peut être soumise par courriel, par télécopieur, par lettre ou en personne. Il n’y a pas de date limite pour une demande de révision.

Ce processus implique l’examen par la CPPM des documents compilés par le bureau du GPFC pendant son enquête, ainsi que l’examen des lois pertinentes et des politiques et procédures de la police militaire et civile. Il donne souvent lieu à des entrevues avec le plaignant, la/les personne(s) faisant l’objet de la plainte et les témoins.

Examen de la plainte par le président

Après avoir complété l'enquête sur une plainte pour inconduite, le GPFC doit remettre aux deux parties un rapport écrit dans lequel il fait état de ses conclusions.

Un plaignant insatisfait des conclusions du GPFC peut demander à la Commission de revoir la plainte. Dans ce cas, la Commission est tenue de remettre des rapports d'étape, comme il est indiqué ci-dessus.

Cette disposition prévoyant un examen de la Commission s'applique également aux cas où le GPFC refuse d'ouvrir une enquête sur une plainte pour inconduite parce qu'il estime que cette plainte est futile ou vexatoire ou a été portée de mauvaise foi, qu'il est préférable de recourir à une procédure prévue par une autre disposition ou loi fédérale.

La Commission examine la plainte

À tout le moins, ce processus implique un examen de la documentation liée à l’enquête du GPFC. Il est bien souvent question aussi d’entrevues avec le plaignant, la personne visée par la plainte et les témoins, de même que de l’examen des lois pertinentes et des politiques et procédures de la police.

La Commission présente un rapport intérimaire

Une fois l’examen terminé, le président transmet le rapport intérimaire, contenant les conclusions et les recommandations de la Commission, est présenté au ministre de la Défense nationale, au chef d’état-major de la Défense (CEMD) et au GPFC.

Avis d’action

L’avis d’action, qui est la réponse officielle des FAC au rapport intérimaire, décrit les mesures prises ou prévues, le cas échéant, à la suite des recommandations de la Commission.

La Commission présente un rapport final

Après avoir étudié l’avis d’action, la Commission présente un compte rendu final de ses conclusions et recommandations. Le rapport final est remis au ministre, au sous-ministre, au CEMD, au juge-avocat général, au GPFC, au plaignant et à la (aux) personne(s) visée par la plainte, de même qu’à toute personne ayant convaincu la Commission qu’elle a un intérêt direct et important dans le dossier.

Date de modification :