MPCC-2011-047-Interference

This report deals with allegations of interference in the investigation of a vehicle accident on a base. The particular circumstances are that a motor vehicle collided with marching troops, who happened to be MPs from that base, causing some minor injuries. The driver of the vehicle was charged with careless driving by the MP assigned to investigate the incident, who was from the same MP unit as those involved in the march. The investigator noticed that no one was wearing reflective safety vests and no one had been designated to act as pointers to alert approaching vehicles, both of which are required under standing orders for the base. Moreover, those who were leading the march, and who were responsible for this omission, were the investigator’s superiors.

The investigator proceeded with his investigation and submitted his report for supervisory review. It was determined that his superiors who would normally vet the file on review were involved in the incident under investigation, and so it was decided to send in someone from higher headquarters in a different city to come in and vet and complete the file. However, the manner in which it was done caused concerns for the investigator.

The investigator ended up filing an interference complaint against his supervisor and the member designated to review and complete the file (designated member) based on the following allegations:

  1. the supervisor’s attempt to leave the accident scene and carry on with the march, which was quickly abandoned;
  2. the supervisor not transferring the investigation to CFNIS, which the investigator considered necessary given the involvement of the chain of command in the incident;
  3. an alleged direction by the supervisor not to “overdo” the investigation;
  4. the supervisor’s alteration of the investigator’s report without his knowledge;
  5. the designated member’s conduct of a further interview without the investigator’s knowledge, and his use of the wrong caution form;
  6. alterations made to the report by the designated member, which the investigator was pressured to accept on short notice; and
  7. the pressure from the supervisor for the investigator to accept the designated member’s changes, which the investigator considered substantial.

The Commission’s investigation revealed the following. In terms of the initial decision of the leaders of the MP troop – including the supervisor – to leave the scene of the accident, this did not appear to be related to any attempt to thwart the ensuing investigation.

It was also learned that the supervisor actually tried twice to get CFNIS to take over the investigation, but to no avail. The CFNIS warrant officer at the local CFNIS office failed to see that anyone other than the vehicle driver would be a subject of the investigation. Therefore, there seemed to him to be no conflict of interest to justify CFNIS involvement.

The conduct of the additional interview was warranted, and the use of the wrong caution form was not done with a view to jeopardizing a potential prosecution. Indeed, the cautioning of the officer in question was a sign the designated member was not overlooking, or trying to downplay, the question of possible negligence of the investigator’s supervisors.

With regard to the other allegations, the Commission concluded both the supervisor and the designated member were authorized to make changes to the investigation report and the investigator was given the opportunity to review the changes to the report and ultimately was directed to change it back to its previous state.

The supervisor’s alleged statement not to “overdo” the investigation was actually found to be somewhat unclear, both in terms of what was said and what was being referred to. The supervisor may have been referring to the preparation of the report rather than the scope of the investigation.

For these reasons, the complaint was found to be unsubstantiated. Rather, the Commission noted there seemed to have been poor communication with the investigator by his chain of command, which contributed to the actions of the supervisor and the designated member seeming suspicious to him.

The Commission recommended MPs be provided with guidance about the need to initiate more than one investigation file in cases where, as in this case, an incident raises both law enforcement and disciplinary issues in relation to different subjects. The Commission also recommended policies be developed regarding the process for implementing supervisor modifications to investigation reports and the tracking of such changes.

Date modified:

CPPM-2011-047-Ingérence

Le présent rapport traite d'allégations d'ingérence dans le cadre d'une enquête sur un accident d’auto sur une base. Un véhicule motorisé a heurté des troupes à pied, qui étaient des membres de la police militaire de la base, causant des blessures mineures. Le conducteur du véhicule a été accusé de conduite imprudente par le membre de la PM qui a enquêté sur l'incident qui est de la même unité que ceux qui marchaient. L'enquêteur a remarqué que personne ne portait de gilets à bandes réflectrices et que personne n'avait été désigné comme pointeur pour prévenir les véhicules qui approchaient, deux conditions obligatoires aux termes des ordres permanents à la base. En outre, les personnes qui ouvraient la marche, responsables de cette omission, étaient les superviseurs de l'enquêteur.

L'enquêteur a mené son enquête et a soumis son rapport à un examen de supervision. Les supérieurs de l'enquêteur devaient vérifier le rapport, mais ils étaient impliqués dans l'enquête; on a donc été décidé d'envoyer quelqu'un du quartier général supérieur, d'une différente ville, pour vérifier et compléter le dossier. Toutefois, la façon dont le tout s'est déroulé a soulevé des préoccupations chez l'enquêteur.

Celui-ci a fini par déposer une plainte d'ingérence contre son superviseur et le membre désigné pour vérifier et compléter le dossier. Sa plainte est fondée sur les allégations suivantes :

  1. la tentative du superviseur de quitter les lieux de l'accident et de poursuivre la marche, tentative rapidement abandonnée;
  2. le superviseur n'a pas transféré l'enquête au Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC), ce qu’il jugeait nécessaire compte tenu de l'implication de la chaîne de commandement;
  3. une directive prétendue de la part du superviseur de ne pas « trop en faire »;
  4. la modification, par le superviseur, de son rapport, à son insu;
  5. la façon dont le membre désigné a réalisé une autre entrevue à son insu, et son utilisation du mauvais formulaire de mise en garde;
  6. des modifications au rapport apportées par le membre désigné; il a subi des pressions pour accepter rapidement ces changements;
  7. la pression de son supérieur pour l’inciter à accepter les changements du membre désigné, qu’il jugeait substantiels.

L'enquête de la Commission a révélé ce qui suit. En ce qui concerne la décision initiale des leaders de la troupe de la PM – y compris le superviseur – de quitter la scène de l'accident, celle‑ci ne semble pas liée à une tentative de miner l'enquête subséquente.

La Commission a également appris que le superviseur avait effectivement tenté à deux reprises de transmettre l'enquête au SNEFC, mais sans succès. L'adjudant du SNEFC, au bureau local du Service, a jugé que personne, à l’exception du conducteur du véhicule, ne devait faire l'objet d'une enquête. Ainsi, il estimait qu'aucun conflit d'intérêts ne justifiait la participation du SNEFC.

La réalisation de l'entrevue supplémentaire était légitime, et l'utilisation du mauvais formulaire de mise en garde ne visait pas à miner une poursuite potentielle. En effet, la mise en garde adressée à l'officier en question montre que le membre désigné n'ignorait pas la question de la négligence possible des supérieurs de l’enquêteur.

En ce qui a trait aux autres affirmations, la Commission a conclu que le superviseur et le membre désigné étaient autorisés à modifier le rapport d'enquête et que l'enquêteur a eu l'occasion d’examiner les changements; il a finalement reçu l'ordre de rétablir le rapport.

La déclaration alléguée du superviseur de ne pas « trop en faire » s'est révélée floue, en ce qui a trait tant aux paroles prononcées qu'à leur signification. Le superviseur pourrait avoir fait référence à la rédaction du rapport plutôt qu'à la portée de l'enquête.

Pour ces raisons, la plainte a été jugée non justifiée. La Commission a plutôt remarqué les communications déficientes avec l'enquêteur par la chaîne de commandement, et c'est pour cette raison que les mesures du superviseur et du membre désigné semblaient suspectes aux yeux de l'enquêteur.

La Commission a recommandé que les membres de la PM reçoivent des lignes directrices sur la nécessité d’ouvrir plus d'un dossier d'enquête lorsque, dans un cas comme celui-ci, un incident entraîne des enjeux liés à l'application de la loi et à des mesures disciplinaires pour des motifs différents. Elle recommande également l'élaboration de politiques relatives au processus de modification des rapports d'enquêteur par un superviseur et du suivi de ces changements.

Date de modification :