MPCC-2002-042-Interference

Facts and Complaint

A Military Police member filed an interference complaint with the Complaints Commission alleging that the Officer Commanding of his detachment interfered with one of his investigations “by revealing privileged information”.

While investigating a complaint of sexual assault against a member of the Military Police the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator learned that an anonymous letter containing other allegations against the Military Police member under investigation had been received at the local Royal Canadian Mounted Police detachment.

After determining that the allegations in the letter were false, the investigator expanded his investigation in an attempt to discover the identity of the author of the letter, whom he believed could be charged with public mischief. The investigator was subsequently able to identify of the author of the letter (another member of the Military Police and a colleague of the member being investigated for sexual assault).

The investigator then met with the Officer Commanding of the Military Police detachment and informed him of the anonymous note but did not provide a copy of the note or any additional information to his superior on the grounds that the information was passed to him personally in response to his official request to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. In fact, he did not inform the Officer Commanding that it was a Military Police member who was responsible for the note nor that the scope of his investigation had been enlarged to include other members of the detachment under the supervision of the Officer Commanding.

The Officer Commanding was upset that a letter containing allegations of misconduct against one of his subordinates had been sent to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and deduced that the letter had come from within his detachment. Shortly after his meeting with the investigator, the Officer Commanding sent an e-mail to all Military Police members under his command demanding that the author of the anonymous letter come forward and claim responsibility.

It is this e-mail that is the subject of the interference complaint.

The focus of the investigation was to determine whether the decision to send the e-mail constituted an improper intervention on the part of the Officer Commanding comparable to interference, intimidation or the abuse of authority as defined in section 250.19 of the National Defence Act.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

The Chairperson found that although the Officer Commanding was aware of the follow-up being conducted by the investigator regarding the allegations made in the anonymous letter, he did not know that these allegations had already been proven false. He also did not know that the investigator had identified the author of the letter and was close to laying a charge of public mischief. In fact, he told the investigator from the Complaints Commission that had he known he would not have sent the e-mail in question.

After reviewing all of the information, the Chairperson found that there was no abuse of authority, intimidation or improper intervention in the investigation by the Officer Commanding. However, the Chairperson found that the Officer Commanding should have erred on the side of caution before disclosing information pertinent to an ongoing investigation and recommended that administrative concerns regarding an investigation should be held in abeyance until the investigation has been completed, unless an urgent situation dictates otherwise.

Response of the Chairperson following the Notice of Action of the Chief of Defence Staff

This unique interference complaint was the result of a communication breakdown between two Military Police members (the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator and the Officer Commanding of the Military Police detachment). The Chairperson noted that there was reluctance on the part of these two people to cooperate with each other during the course of this investigation and strongly supported the direction of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards that both be counselled in this regard.

Date modified:

CPPM-2002-042-Ingérence

Faits pertinents et plainte

Un policier militaire a déposé une plainte pour ingérence auprès de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire, alléguant que le commandant de son détachement s'est ingéré dans l'une de ses enquêtes « en révélant des renseignements protégés ».

Au cours de son enquête concernant une plainte pour agression sexuelle portée contre un policier militaire, l'enquêteur du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes a appris que le détachement local de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada avait reçu une lettre anonyme contenant d'autres allégations contre le policier militaire faisant l'objet de l'enquête.

Après avoir établi que les allégations contenues dans la lettre étaient fausses, l'enquêteur a élargi le champ de son enquête en essayant de découvrir l'identité de l'auteur de cette lettre qui, selon lui, pouvait être accusé de méfait public. L'enquêteur a réussi à l'identifier par la suite : il s'agissait d'un autre policier militaire et collègue du policier faisant l'objet de la plainte pour agression sexuelle.

L'enquêteur a ensuite rencontré le commandant du détachement de la Police militaire et l'a informé de la lettre anonyme. Toutefois, il ne lui en a pas donné de copie et ne lui a pas fourni d'autres renseignements, en raison du fait que cette information lui avait été transmise personnellement à la suite de sa demande officielle auprès de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Il n'a pas informé le commandant qu'un policier militaire était responsable de la lettre, ni qu'il avait élargi le champ de son enquête, afin d'inclure d'autres membres du détachement sous sa supervision.

Le commandant était contrarié par l'envoi, à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, d'une lettre contenant des allégations d'inconduite au sujet d'un de ses subordonnés et a déduit que cette lettre provenait d'un membre de son détachement. Peu de temps après sa rencontre avec l'enquêteur, il a envoyé un courrier électronique à tous les policiers militaires sous son commandement, demandant que l'auteur de la lettre anonyme sorte de l'ombre et admette sa responsabilité.

C'est ce courrier électronique qui fait l'objet de la plainte pour ingérence.

L'objet de l'enquête était de déterminer si la décision d'envoyer un courrier électronique constituait, de la part du commandant, une intervention inappropriée, comparable à une ingérence, à une intimidation ou à un abus d'autorité, aux termes de l'article 250.19 de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Conclusions et recommandations de la présidente de la Commission

La présidente a conclu que, même si le commandant était au courant du suivi effectué par l'enquêteur concernant les allégations contenues dans la lettre anonyme, il ne savait pas que ces allégations s'étaient révélées fausses. Il ne savait pas non plus que l'enquêteur avait identifié l'auteur de la lettre et s'apprêtait à porter une accusation pour méfait public. En fait, il a dit à l'enquêteur de la Commission qu'il n'aurait pas envoyé ce courriel s'il avait été au courant.

Après avoir examiné tous les renseignements, la présidente a conclu qu'il n'y avait pas eu d'abus d'autorité, d'intimidation ou d'intervention inappropriée de la part du commandant. Cependant, elle a conclu que le commandant aurait mieux fait de pécher par excès de prudence avant de divulguer un renseignement pertinent à une enquête en cours. De plus, elle a recommandé que les questions administratives liées aux enquêtes soient maintenues en suspens jusqu'à ce que celles-ci soient terminées, à moins qu'une situation urgente ne force à agir autrement.

Réponse de la présidente à la suite de la notification du chef d'état major de la défense

La présente plainte d'ingérence résulte d'un problème de communication entre deux membres de la Police militaire (l'enquêteur du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes et le commandant du détachement de la Police militaire). La présidente a remarqué que ces deux personnes étaient réticentes à collaborer durant l'enquête et appuie fermement la décision du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) d'ordonner que toutes deux reçoivent du counselling à cet égard.

Date de modification :