MPCC-2002-017-Interference

Facts and Complaint

An interference complaint was submitted to the Chairperson of the Military Police Complaints Commission following a training accident in which crewmembers were injured. The complainant, a Military Police superior, alleged that three Military Police members arrived on the scene to investigate the accident and were turned away by the unit chain of command (the subject of the complaint) who advised them that, as it was a training accident, the Military Police members were not required.

Further, the complainant alleged that the Military Police members were impeded when they attempted to interview members of the unit. This allegation stemmed from a second incident, which occurred a few days later when the subject of the complaint would not allow Military Police members to interview members of his unit until he first spoke to the investigators.

Findings of Canadian Forces Provost Marshal on Investigation by Canadian Forces National Investigation Service

  1. The Military Police Members' Action

    Following the training accident, the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (“CFNIS”) was asked by a Military Police detachment to investigate the alleged incident of obstruction/interference. The investigation revealed that the Military Police investigators did not feel that the subject of the complaint had attempted to impede them in their investigation.

    Furthermore, the subject of the complaint had requested to speak with the Military Police investigators prior to their interviews with the injured members of his unit, as he was concerned for the well being of his soldiers. He also wanted to be certain that there would be no conflict between his investigation of the accident and the Military Police investigation. The investigation report stated that the subject of the complaint did not demonstrate a willful intent to obstruct the investigation.

  2. Interference with the Investigation

    The complainant indicated that, although he had not been involved in the incident, he filed the interference complaint with the Complaints Commission because he thought it was his duty to do so after the obstruction/interference complaint was submitted to the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service by a Military Police member under his command.

Findings and Conclusions of the Chairperson of the Military Police Complaints Commission

On the basis of the materials and information provided by the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards and after reviewing the interference complaint, the Chairperson concluded that the Complaints Commission has no authority under subsection 250.19(1) of the National Defence Act to examine this complaint. Subsection 250.19(1) of the National Defence Act (“NDA”) limits interference complaints to Military Police members conducting or supervising an investigation. In this case, the complainant had neither conducted nor directly supervised the investigation.

The Chairperson considers that the complainant acted appropriately in bringing this matter to the attention of the Complaints Commission and stated her intention to raise her concerns about the limitations of this subsection during the five-year review of the National Defence Act.

Date modified:

CPPM-2002-017-Ingérence

Faits pertinents et plainte

Une plainte pour ingérence a été déposée auprès de la présidente de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« la Commission »), suite à un accident survenu lors d'un entraînement, au cours duquel des membres ont été blessés. Le plaignant, un officier supérieur de la police militaire, a allégué que trois policiers militaires, arrivés sur les lieux pour faire enquête sur l'accident, ont été refoulés par la personne assurant le commandement de l'unité (la personne faisant l'objet de la plainte), sous prétexte que s'agissant d'un accident survenu lors d'un entraînement, les policiers militaires n'avaient pas à intervenir.

De plus, le plaignant a allégué que les policiers militaires ont été retardés lorsqu'ils ont tenté d'interviewer des membres de l'unité. Cette allégation a pour origine un deuxième incident, qui a eu lieu quelques jours plus tard. La personne faisant l'objet de la plainte a refusé de laisser des policiers militaires interviewer des membres de son unité tant qu'elle n'avait pas parlé aux enquêteurs.

Conclusions du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes à propos de l'enquête du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes

  1. Intervention des policiers militaires

    Suite à l'accident survenu lors de l'entraînement, un détachement de la police militaire a demandé au Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (« SNEFC ») de faire enquête sur l'incident ayant donné lieu à des allégations d'entrave/d'ingérence. Cette enquête a révélé que les enquêteurs de la police militaire ne pensaient pas que la personne faisant l'objet de la plainte avait tenté de les empêcher de mener leur enquête.

    De plus, c'est par souci du bien être de ses soldats que cette personne avait souhaité parler aux enquêteurs de la police militaire avant que ces derniers n'interviewent les membres de son unité qui avaient été blessés. Il tenait en outre à s'assurer qu'il n'y aurait pas conflit entre son enquête et l'enquête de la police militaire. Le rapport d'enquête indiquait que le comportement de cette personne ne démontrait pas qu'elle cherchait délibérément à entraver l'enquête policière.

  2. Ingérence dans la conduite de l'enquête

    Le plaignant a indiqué que, même s'il n'avait pas été impliqué dans l'incident, il avait déposé une plainte pour ingérence auprès de la Commission parce qu'il estimait qu'il était de son devoir de le faire, étant donné qu'une plainte pour entrave/ingérence avait été déposée auprès du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes par un policier militaire sous son commandement.

Constatations et conclusions de la présidente de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire

En se fondant sur les documents et les renseignements transmis par le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) et après avoir examiné la plainte pour ingérence, la présidente a conclu que la Commission n'avait pas la juridiction pour examiner cette plainte, puisque aux termes du paragraphe 250.19(1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale, seuls des policiers militaires qui mènent ou supervisent une enquête peuvent porter plainte pour ingérence. Dans cette affaire, le plaignant n'avait ni mené, ni supervisé directement l'enquête.

La présidente considère que le plaignant a agi de façon appropriée en portant cette affaire à l'attention de la Commission et elle a déclaré avoir l'intention de faire part de ses préoccupations à propos du caractère restrictif du paragraphe en question, dans le cadre de l'examen quinquennal de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Date de modification :