MPCC-2001-061-Interference

Facts and Complaint

The complainant, a Military Police supervisor, filed a complaint with the Military Police Complaints Commission (“Complaints Commission”) alleging that an officer interfered with two Military Police members under his command while in the lawful performance of their duties. The incident happened when the subject of the complaint ordered the members to come into his office to explain their actions while they were in the process of issuing a traffic ticket to a Canadian Forces member. The complainant further alleged that the subject of the complaint was hostile and belligerent.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

A- The Military Police Members' Actions

The Military Police members were conducting an investigation when the subject of the complaint ordered them into his office. The fact that they had let the Canadian Forces member to whom they were giving the traffic violation ticket enter the building did not interrupt the investigation. Allowing the person to leave the scene for a few minutes during the traffic stop is an example of the use of enforcement discretion. This person was known and was not going to escape justice. The Military Police members showed some compassion by letting the person go for a few minutes. Also, the vehicle was parked and did not present a danger to the public.

B- Interference with the Investigation

Despite his motivation, the subject of the complaint did, without authority, interfere with the two members' investigation while they were on duty, in a marked patrol car and in uniform. No officer or official in the Canadian Forces or in the Department of National Defence has the discretionary authority to interfere with Military Police members when they are conducting policing duties. If a member informs another member of the Canadian Forces or an employee of the Department of National Defence that he cannot obey an order because he is performing a policing duty, this decision must be respected and not interfered with. Military Police members must be able to operate independently without undue interference from the Chain of Command.

Recommendation

The subject of the complaint should attend a familiarization program concerning the role of the Military Police as police officers and their need to be able to operate independently of the Chain of Command when performing policing duties.

Ranks have significant importance in the Military, and it is understandable that not all non-commissioned Military Police members conducting an investigation are at ease with an officer and able to express an opposing point of view. In order to dispel any ambiguity, while ensuring that consideration and mutual respect are maintained, rank should not enter into the relationship between an officer and a Military Police member conducting policing duties or functions; the latter should take precedence over hierarchical considerations.

This case highlights the need for additional training to raise awareness among military and civilian personnel in the Canadian Forces and the Department of National Defence regarding the distinct functions carried out by the Military Police.

Chairperson's Reply following the Chief of Defence Staff's Notice of Action

After reading the Notice of Action from the Chief of the Defence Staff, the Report of the Somalia Inquiry, the Dickson and Belzile reports, as well as Parliamentary debates that preceded the creation of Part IV of the National Defence Act, the Chairperson disagreed with the Chief of the Defence Staff's interpretation of section 250.19 of the Act. The Chairperson believes that any interference or intervention by a non-Military Police member is improper and damages the military justice system.

The Chief of the Defence Staff argued that sometimes interference with Military Police investigations by non-Military Police superiors is proper. He stated that there could be situations where intervention is necessary to ensure that commanders are able to carry out their responsibilities or when there is an obvious abuse or improper situation occurring. He further held that since the National Defence Act refers to “improper” interference, “proper” interference could exist.

According to the Chairperson, proper interference could happen, for instance, when a Military Police subordinate has abused his power or has neglected to interview a witness and his superior gets involved in an attempt to correct the situation. There is a clear distinction between a Military Police member properly exercising his supervisory capacity and a non-Military Police superior who attempts to interfere with an investigation.

The distinction between “Interference” and “Intervention” must be made with caution. There is a very fine line to be drawn between the Chain of Command who gives appropriate instructions and the one who actually intervenes in an investigation. The latter could be perceived as, and could constitute, “interference” with a police investigation. Complaints of interference will be vigorously pursued by the Complaints Commission and the Chairperson solicits the Chief of the Defence Staff's support in encouraging independence and discouraging interference or intervention in military policing.

Finally, regarding the Chief of the Defence Staff's objection to the phrase “Military Police, and police in general, have a duty to serve and protect”, the Chairperson believes that, even though the Military Police is a specialized police force, its pivotal role is to serve and protect, the same as civilian police forces.

Date modified:

CPPM-2001-061-Ingérence

Faits pertinents et plainte

Le plaignant, un superviseur de la Police militaire, a déposé une plainte auprès de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (« la Commission »), alléguant qu'un officier des Forces canadiennes s'est ingéré dans le travail de deux policiers militaires sous ses ordres. L'incident s'est produit quand l'officier en question a fait venir les deux policiers dans son bureau pour qu'ils s'expliquent au sujet d'une contravention qu'ils étaient sur le point d'émettre à un membre des Forces canadiennes. Le plaignant a également allégué que cet officier a eu, à leur endroit, une attitude hostile et belliqueuse.

Conclusions et recommandations de la présidente de la Commission

A- Actions des policiers militaires

Les policiers militaires menaient une enquête lorsque l'officier visé par la plainte les a fait venir dans son bureau. Le fait qu'ils aient laissé entrer dans l'immeuble le membre des Forces canadiennes, à qui ils s'apprêtaient à donner une contravention, ne termine pas l'enquête. Permettre à la personne de quitter la scène quelques minutes lors d'une intervention est un exemple de pouvoir discrétionnaire permis dans l'exécution de la loi. L'intéressé était connu et n'allait pas échapper à la justice. Les policiers militaires se sont montrés généreux en lui permettant de s'éloigner pendant quelques minutes. Finalement, le véhicule était stationné et ne représentait donc aucun danger pour le public.

B- Ingérence dans l'enquête

Quels qu'aient été ses motifs, l'officier visé par la plainte s'est ingéré sans autorisation dans le travail de deux policiers en service, et en uniforme, qui occupaient une auto-patrouille identifiée. Aucun officier ni cadre supérieur des Forces canadiennes ou du ministère de la Défense nationale ne possède de pouvoir discrétionnaire leur permettant de s'ingérer dans le travail de policiers militaires dans l'exercice de fonctions de nature policière. Si un policier militaire informe un membre des Forces canadiennes ou un employé du ministère de la Défense nationale qu'il ne peut exécuter l'ordre donné parce qu'il exerce des fonctions de nature policière, sa décision doit être respectée. Les policiers militaires doivent pouvoir exercer leurs fonctions de façon indépendante et libre de toute ingérence provenant de la chaîne de commandement.

Recommandation

L'officier visé par la plainte devrait suivre un programme de sensibilisation sur le rôle d'agent de police que sont appelés à jouer les membres de la Police militaire et sur la nécessité qu'ils puissent agir indépendamment de la chaîne de commandement lorsqu'ils exercent des fonctions de nature policière.

Les grades ont une grande importance chez les militaires et il n'est pas donné à tous les militaires du rang qui mènent une enquête policière de discuter librement avec un officier supérieur et de soutenir un point de vue contraire. Afin de dissiper toutes ambiguïtés, tout en veillant à maintenir la considération et le respect mutuel, les rapports entre un officier et un policier militaire dans l'exercice de ses fonctions et devoirs de nature policière devraient faire abstraction du grade; ces fonctions et devoirs devraient avoir préséance sur les considérations d'ordre hiérarchique.

Ce cas illustre la nécessité d'une sensibilisation plus poussée du personnel militaire et civil des Forces canadiennes et du ministère de la Défense nationale à la particularité des fonctions exercées par les policiers militaires.

Réponse de la présidente à la notification du chef d'état-major de la défense

Après avoir pris connaissance de la notification du chef d'état-major de la défense, du rapport sur l'enquête de la Somalie, des rapports Dickson et Belzile, de même que des débats parlementaires relatifs à la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale, la présidente a rejeté l'interprétation que fait le chef d'état-major de l'article 250.19 de la Loi. Elle est d'avis que toute ingérence ou intervention de la part d'un officier qui n'est pas membre de la Police militaire est inappropriée et nuit au système de justice militaire.

Le chef d'état-major a fait valoir que certaines interventions dans les enquêtes de la Police militaire par des supérieurs hiérarchiques sont appropriées, par exemple, lorsqu'il est évident qu'il y a abus ou que la situation est irrégulière, et qu'en certaines situations il peut devenir nécessaire d'intervenir pour s'assurer que les commandants sont en mesure de s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités. Il a de plus soutenu que la notion « d'ingérence inappropriée » reconnue dans la Loi sur la défense nationale laisse en même temps supposer la possibilité de ce qu'on peut qualifier « d'ingérence appropriée ».

Selon la présidente, l'ingérence est justifiée (ingérence appropriée) lorsque, par exemple, un policier militaire s'est livré à un abus de pouvoir ou qu'il a négligé d'interroger un témoin et que son supérieur doit tenter de corriger la situation. Il faut distinguer clairement entre le cas où un policier militaire exerce ses fonctions de superviseur et celui où un supérieur hiérarchique ne faisant pas partie de la Police militaire tente de s'ingérer dans une enquête.

Il faut faire preuve de prudence lorsqu'on tente d'établir une distinction entre « l'ingérence » et « l'intervention ». La marge de manœuvres est très étroite entre le supérieur hiérarchique qui donne des instructions appropriées et celui qui intervient réellement dans une enquête. Cette intervention peut être perçue, et parfois à bon escient, comme de l'ingérence dans une enquête policière. La Commission va continuer d'examiner avec vigueur les plaintes de cette nature, et la présidente demande l'appui du chef d'état-major en vue de favoriser l'indépendance de la Police militaire et de décourager l'ingérence ou les interventions dans ses fonctions de nature policière.

Enfin, pour ce qui est de l'objection du chef d'état-major à la phrase « la Police militaire et la police en général ont le devoir de servir et de protéger », la présidente est d'avis que même si la Police militaire est une force de police spécialisée, son principal rôle est de servir et de protéger, tout comme les forces de police civiles.

Date de modification :