MPCC-2000-011-Interference

Facts and Complaint

The complainant, a Military Police member, alleged that a superior officer interfered with the conduct of his investigation into the presence of narcotics in the room of a Canadian Forces member. Evidence was discovered during a health inspection. Specifically, the Military Police member alleged that the superior officer may have compromised the investigation, flouting legal procedure, by ordering members of his unit to search the room without a warrant.

Report of the Chairperson of the Military Police Complaints Commission

Following the investigation, the Chairperson, in her interim report, advised the Chief of Defence Staff that she preferred to resolve the complaint informally.

A- Chairperson's observations

Under the terms of informal resolution, the Chairperson made the following observations to the concerned authorities. These observations could serve to stimulate discussions on the theme of interference at conferences, forums or symposiums attended by commanding officers, among others.

(i) Inspection procedure

In the context of this complaint, a health inspection can give rise to trespassing or breach of the right to inviolability of domicile, and can jeopardize administrative measures or criminal proceedings undertaken subsequently. The teams conducting the health inspections should include someone who has the necessary skills and authority to make appropriate decisions in irregular situations. This person could be the regimental sergeant major.

(ii) Relationship between a Military Police member and an officer

The relationship between an officer and a non-commissioned member is heavily influenced by the authority conferred by rank. It can be difficult for a non-commissioned Military Police member to talk with a superior officer and express an opposing point of view. To facilitate exchanges and dispel any ambiguity, the duties and responsibilities of a Military Police member conducting policing functions should take precedence over hierarchical considerations.

Although hierarchical relations are part of the military culture, senior managers in the Military Police and the Canadian Forces should use the various forums available to sensitize Canadian Forces members to the special nature of the functions carried out by the Military Police.

(iii) Information which the Military Police can communicate to a unit commander

Provided it does not risk undermining the investigation, a unit commander should be advised of an investigation being held concerning one or more members of his unit. At the conclusion of the investigation, he must receive the necessary reports and documents in order to be able to take decisions regarding the case. However, the commander has no right to intervene in the police investigation. Moreover, by doing so he risks compromising his objectivity and impartiality when charges are laid and at summary trial - procedures he may be called on to preside over.

(iv) Recourse to services of the Military Police

Section 106 of the Queen's Regulations and Orders for the Canadian Forces states that a commanding officer can conduct an investigation in order to determine whether a service infraction has been committed. A commanding officer enjoys wide discretion, therefore, to decide whether or not to use the services of the Military Police. Caution and judgment are called for, since it may be preferable in some situations to obtain the assistance and expertise of the Military Police.

Date modified:

CPPM-2000-011-Ingérence

Faits pertinents et plainte

Le plaignant, un policier militaire, allègue qu'un officier supérieur s'est ingéré dans la conduite de son enquête relativement à la présence de stupéfiants dans la chambre d'un membre des Forces canadiennes. Des preuves ont été découvertes à la suite d'une inspection de salubrité. Le policier militaire se plaint plus précisément que l'officier supérieur a peut-être compromis l'enquête en ordonnant à des membres de son unité de perquisitionner la chambre sans mandat, faisant fi de la procédure légale.

Rapport de la présidente de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire

À la suite de l'enquête, la présidente, dans son rapport intérimaire, a avisé le chef d'état-major de la défense qu'elle souhaitait tenter un règlement à l'amiable dans ce dossier.

A- Observations de la présidente

Aux termes du règlement à l'amiable, la présidente a formulé les observations suivantes auprès des autorités concernées. Ces observations pourraient, entre autres, alimenter les discussions relativement à l'ingérence à l'occasion de colloques, de forums ou de symposiums qui rassemblent, entre autres, les commandants.

(i) La procédure d'inspection

Dans le contexte de cette plainte, une inspection de salubrité peut donner lieu à des entrées abusives, au non-respect du droit à l'inviolabilité du domicile et peut mettre en péril les mesures administratives ou les poursuites criminelles entreprises subséquemment. Les équipes faisant les inspections de salubrité devraient inclure une personne ayant l'autorité et les compétences requises afin de prendre les décisions appropriées lors de situations irrégulières. Cette personne pourrait être le sergent-major régimentaire.

(ii) Les rapports entre un policier militaire et un officier

Les rapports entre un officier et un militaire du rang sont fortement conditionnés par l'autorité conférée par le grade. Il peut s'avérer difficile pour un policier, militaire du rang, de discuter avec un officier supérieur et de soutenir un point de vue différent du sien. Afin de faciliter les échanges et de dissiper les ambiguïtés, les devoirs et les responsabilités d'un policier exerçant ses fonctions de nature policière devraient avoir préséance sur les considérations d'ordre hiérarchique.

Bien que les relations hiérarchiques fassent partie de la culture militaire, les gestionnaires supérieurs de la Police militaire et des Forces canadiennes devraient utiliser les différentes tribunes offertes pour sensibiliser les militaires à la particularité des fonctions exercées par la Police militaire.

(iii) Les informations que la Police militaire peut communiquer à un commandant d'unité

En autant que cela ne risque pas de nuire à l'enquête, un commandant d'unité devrait être informé de la tenue d'une enquête concernant un ou des membres de son unité. Au terme de l'enquête, il doit recevoir les rapports et les documents requis afin de pouvoir prendre des décisions relativement au dossier. Toutefois, le commandant n'a pas intérêt à intervenir dans l'enquête policière. De plus, ce faisant, il risque de compromettre son objectivité et son impartialité au stade des procédures d'accusation et du procès sommaire, procédures qu'il pourrait être appelé à présider.

(iv) Le recours aux services de la Police militaire

L'article 106 des Ordonnances et règlements royaux applicables aux Forces canadiennes prévoit qu'un commandant peut mener ou superviser une enquête afin de déterminer si une infraction d'ordre militaire a été commise. Un commandant dispose donc d'une grande discrétion pour décider de recourir ou non aux services de la Police militaire. La prudence et le discernement sont de mise, car il est peut-être préférable dans certains cas d'avoir recours à l'aide et à l'expertise de la Police militaire.

Date de modification :