MPCC-2013-026-Interference

This complaint arose from events during the complainant Military Police (MP) member's deployment on an overseas mission. During the course of duties, the complainant and others became involved in a case of suspected breach of security. The subject of this interference complaint was the Commanding Officer (CO) of the overseas military base at which the events occurred.

During the deployment, an allegation arose that a soldier had arranged for employees of a contractor to enter the base grounds to install portable toilets without the proper security documentation being in place. This matter was reported to the Chain of Command (CoC) and later to the MP as an alleged breach of security.

The MP initiated an investigation. The member who conducted the investigation attempted to contact the soldier alleged to have caused the security breach. An email exchange with the soldier led the MP to understand that the subject had instructed the soldier not to provide a statement prior to the CoC investigation into the allegations regarding a possible security breach.

The complainant filed an interference complaint with the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) concerning the subject officer's actions.

Based on the evidence, and taking into account communication gaps, the MPCC found that, while the supervisory inquiries by the CoC had caused a delay in the soldier's response to the MP, it did not affect the subject's ultimate decision not to participate in the investigation. However, the MPCC also observed that better communication at the forefront of the alleged investigation between the MP and the CO may have alleviated issues in this case and in particular the delays in the soldier's ultimate response not to participate in an interview with the MP.

The MPCC concluded that this interference complaint was not substantiated.

Date modified:

CPPM-2013-026-Ingérence

La plainte se rapporte à des événements survenus au cours d'une mission à l'étranger à laquelle participait le membre de la PM lors de son déploiement. Pendant son affectation, le plaignant et d'autres personnes ont été appelés à enquêter sur une affaire d'infraction présumée à la sécurité. Le sujet de la plainte pour ingérence était le commandant (CO) de la base militaire outre-mer où les événements se sont produits.

Au cours du déploiement, il a été allégué qu'un militaire avait fait entrer dans la base des employés d'un entrepreneur pour qu'ils installent des toilettes portatives sans avoir instauré la documentation appropriée de sécurité. L'incident a été signalé à la chaîne de commandement (CdC), puis à la PM comme une infraction à la sécurité.

La PM a ouvert une enquête. Le membre qui en a été chargé a cherché à communiquer avec le militaire soupçonné de l'infraction à la sécurité. Un échange de courriels avec ce dernier a amené la PM à comprendre que le sujet avait donné au militaire la consigne de ne faire aucune déclaration avant que la CdC n'ait enquêté sur les allégations concernant une possible infraction à la sécurité.

Le plaignant a déposé une plainte pour ingérence auprès de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) relativement à la façon d'agir du sujet.

Compte tenu des faits et du manque de communication, la CPPM a conclu que, même si les enquêtes de surveillance de la CdC avaient amené le militaire à retarder sa réponse à la PM, cela n'avait eu aucune incidence sur la décision finale du sujet de ne pas participer à l'enquête. La CPPM a néanmoins fait remarquer que, s'il y avait eu une meilleure communication entre la PM et le CO dans l'enquête présumée, cela aurait peut-être atténué les problèmes dans ce cas et, en particulier, le militaire aurait peut-être moins tardé à informer la PM qu'il ne participerait pas à une entrevue.

La CPPM est arrivée à la conclusion que cette plainte pour ingérence était non vérifiée.

Date de modification :