MPCC-2012-053-Interference

This complaint arose from events during the complainant Military Police (MP) member's deployment to an international military exercise that took place on land and at sea. During the course of assigned duties, the complainant and others became involved in the investigation of a sexual assault complaint made by a foreign sailor (the victim) to the local police department (LPD). The victim believed, based on limited information, that the attacker was a Canadian sailor. Canadian Forces involved in the exercise were therefore contacted by the LPD for their assistance in the investigation.

The subject naval officer of the complaint was the complainant's superior during the time of the deployment. After learning the complainant was involved in the distribution of composite sketches prepared by the LPD of two suspects in the sexual assault, the subject offered the complainant guidance as to through which channels the sketches should best be distributed to CF units in the area. The subject also requested that daily update reports be provided by the complainant on the progress of the local police investigation, so the Chief of Staff for the Commander of the Canadian contingent could be aware of any potential impact on exercise operations, including developing any possible diplomatic repercussions.

The complainant took exception to the subject's guidance on sketch distribution, and the requirement for daily updates, even on days when no new information had been provided by the LPD. The complainant was ultimately criticized by both the subject and the Chief of Staff for not keeping the Chain of Command (CoC) sufficiently informed about developments in the LPD investigation, and was ultimately repatriated to Canada prior to the conclusion of the military exercise.

The complainant filed an interference complaint with the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) concerning the subject's conduct.

Differing perceptions and understandings by the complainant and the complainant's superiors concerning the roles the complainant was required to fulfil at the exercise, as well as the legitimate informational requirements of the CoC, appear to be at the root of the complaint. The complainant was directly answerable and accountable to the field CoC in operational duties, and only in policing duties did the complainant exercise a certain degree of required independence. But even here, it is well established that commanders have a need to know certain information about the nature and status of investigations involving persons under their command. In addition, it is not improper interference for a member of the non-MP CoC to provide good-faith guidance on logistical aspects of an investigation, such as the manner of distributing the suspect sketches among relevant Canadian personnel.

After an extensive investigation the MPCC concluded that this interference complaint was unsubstantiated.

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-053-Ingérence

La plainte se rapporte à des événements survenus au cours d'un exercice militaire international sur terre et en mer auquel participait le membre de la PM lors de son déploiement. Pendant son affectation, le plaignant et d'autres personnes ont été appelés à enquêter sur une plainte pour agression sexuelle faite par un marin étranger (la victime) auprès du service de police local. En se fondant sur des renseignements limités, la victime a cru que l'agresseur était un marin canadien. La police locale a donc demandé aux FC participant à l'exercice de l'aider dans l'enquête.

L'officier de marine faisant l'objet de la plainte (le sujet) était le supérieur du plaignant au moment du déploiement. Après avoir appris que le plaignant participait à la diffusion des portraits robots de deux suspects établis par la police locale, il a indiqué au plaignant la meilleure façon de faire circuler ces portraits robots dans les unités des FC présentes dans la région. Le sujet lui a également demandé de fournir des rapports quotidiens sur l'avancement de l'enquête de la police locale, afin que le chef d'état-major du commandant du contingent canadien sache si l'affaire pouvait avoir une incidence sur les opérations et même entraîner des répercussions diplomatiques.

Le plaignant s'est opposé aux conseils du sujet concernant la diffusion des portraits robots et à la demande de comptes rendus quotidiens, même les jours où la police locale n'avait rien signalé de nouveau. Blâmé par le sujet et par le chef d'état-major parce qu'il n'informait pas suffisamment la chaîne de commandement (CdC) des progrès de l'enquête de la police locale, il a finalement été renvoyé au Canada avant la fin de l'exercice militaire.

Le plaignant a déposé une plainte pour ingérence auprès de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) relativement à la façon d'agir du sujet.

Le plaignant et ses supérieurs percevaient et comprenaient différemment les rôles que le plaignant était appelé à remplir lors de l'exercice de même que les exigences en matière d'information de la CdC, et ce sont ces divergences de vues qui semblent à l'origine de la plainte. Le plaignant relevait directement de la CdC locale pour ce qui est de ses tâches opérationnelles, et c'est uniquement dans l'exercice de ses fonctions relatives au maintien de l'ordre qu'il pouvait jouir d'une certaine indépendance. Même alors, il est bien établi que les commandants doivent absolument prendre connaissance de certains renseignements sur la nature et la progression des enquêtes portant sur des personnes sous leur commandement. En outre, qu'un membre de la CdC ne faisant pas partie de la PM donne de bonne foi des conseils sur les aspects logistiques d'une enquête, par exemple sur la manière de diffuser des portraits robots auprès du personnel canadien concerné, ce n'est pas de l'ingérence indue.

Après une enquête approfondie, la CPPM est arrivée à la conclusion que cette plainte pour ingérence était non vérifiée.

Date de modification :