Conduct Case Summary MPCC-2016-002

This complaint was based on allegations that, due to misconduct by various Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) personnel, including the investigating military police member (MP) himself, a closed MP investigation file from 2007 involving the complainant – which seems to have led to the complainant’s involuntary release from the military – needed to be reopened. The allegations were referred to members of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (CFNIS) for investigation. The CFNIS members reviewed the 2007 investigative file, as well as other related files dealing with MP conduct complaints subsequently made by the complainant regarding the foregoing.

At one point, the CFNIS member in charge of the complainant’s file wrote to the complainant to advise him of the action being taken in response to his allegations and indicating that he would be contacted for an interview when the lead investigator reached that stage.

Subsequently, the complainant was advised that, after careful review of the relevant material, there was no basis to re-open the earlier MP investigation and that the file would be concluded.

The complainant filed a conduct complaint alleging that the CFNIS investigation was biased and inadequate, and that he had wrongly been denied an interview with the investigator.

The Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC or Commission) reviewed the CFNIS investigation file and determined that the investigators conducted a conscientious review of the relevant material and came to the genuine determination that the earlier MP investigation did not need to be re-opened on the basis of the complainant’s submissions. The MPCC also concluded that an interview of the complainant was not necessary for the CFNIS to conclude its investigation. As such, the MPCC found the complaint to be unsubstantiated.

The MPCC did, however, recommend that the CFNIS take care in its correspondence with complainants to be more precise and not to create expectations of investigative steps that might not ultimately be warranted.

The MPCC noted that this was the sixth time since 2009 that this complainant had sought to use the MP conduct complaints process, as well as the services of the MPs, to re‑open and re‑examine matters pertaining to his release from the CAF. As such, this complaint is repetitive and redundant. The treatment of such complaints is not an appropriate use of public resources of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) or the MPCC. If such attempts continue, the MPCC indicated that the complainant should expect them to be disposed of in a summary fashion.

In response to the Commission’s Report, the CFPM accepted all of the Commission’s findings. The CFPM also accepted the Commission’s recommendation, and stated it will be immediately implemented.

Date modified:

Résumé du dossier d'inconduite CPPM-2016-002

Cette plainte faisait suite à des allégations comme quoi, à cause de l’inconduite de divers membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), notamment le policier militaire (PM) chargé de l’enquête, un dossier d’enquête clos de la PM concernant le plaignant datant de 2007 – qui semble avoir mené à la libération involontaire du plaignant des forces armées – devait être rouvert. Les allégations ont été acheminées au Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) afin qu’une enquête soit menée. Les membres du SNEFC ont fait l’examen du dossier d’enquête de 2007, ainsi que d’autres dossiers connexes de plaintes pour inconduite subséquentes portées par le plaignant à l’endroit de la PM, concernant ce qui précède.

À un certain moment, le membre du SNEFC responsable du dossier du plaignant a écrit à ce dernier pour l’informer des démarches en cours à la suite de ses allégations et lui dire qu’on le contacterait pour une entrevue, lorsque l’enquêteur principal en serait à cette étape.

Par la suite, on a indiqué au plaignant qu’après un examen minutieux des faits pertinents, il n’y avait pas lieu de rouvrir l’enquête antérieure de la PM et que le dossier allait être clos.

Le plaignant a déposé une plainte pour inconduite alléguant que l’enquête du SNEFC était partiale et inadéquate et qu’on lui avait à tort refusé une entrevue avec l’enquêteur.

La Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM ou Commission) a fait l’examen du dossier d’enquête du SNEFC et a conclu que les enquêteurs ont fait un examen consciencieux des faits pertinents pour déterminer sincèrement que l’enquête antérieure de la PM n’avait pas à être rouverte sur la base des allégations du plaignant. La CPPM a aussi conclu que le SNEFC n’avait pas besoin de rencontrer le plaignant en entrevue pour conclure son enquête. En conséquence, la CPPM a déterminé que la plainte était non vérifiée.

La CPPM a cependant recommandé que le SNEFC s’efforce d’être plus précis dans ses communications avec les plaignants et de ne pas créer d’attentes quant à des procédés d’enquête qui pourraient en fin de compte ne pas être requis.

La CPPM a noté qu’à six reprises depuis 2009, ce plaignant a eu recours au processus de plainte pour inconduite de la PM et aux services de la PM afin de faire rouvrir le dossier et réexaminer les circonstances de sa libération des FAC. Cette plainte est donc répétitive et redondante. Le traitement de ce type de plainte ne constitue pas un usage approprié des ressources publiques du Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) ou de la CPPM. Si le plaignant poursuit ses tentatives, la CPPM a indiqué qu’il devrait s’attendre à voir rejeter sommairement ses demandes.

En réponse au rapport de la Commission, le GPFC a accepté toutes les conclusions de la Commission. Le GPFC a aussi accepté la recommandation de la Commission et a déclaré qu’elle sera mise en œuvre sur-le-champ.

Date de modification :