Conduct Case Summary MPCC-2014-056 and MPCC-2015-001

The complainant was a civilian employee working as a supervisor in a support group on a Canadian Forces (CF) military base. The complainant requested a review of conduct complaints against the Military Police (MP) relating to two MP General Occurrence (GO) investigation files investigated by the same MP member, who is the only named subject in this review. As the subject matter of the complaints and the GO files are closely related, the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC or the Commission) issued a single report dealing with all 12 of the allegations in the two consolidated files.

The first MP GO file was an investigation into an allegation brought to the attention of the MP Detachment by two military Captains in the complainant’s Chain of Command (CoC). The allegation was that an employee in the complainant’s working group had threatened the complainant during a workplace dispute. The subject MP member determined that there were sufficient grounds to support a criminal charge of uttering threats, but with the implementation of a workplace separation arrangement by the complainant’s CoC the complainant concurred with not laying charges against the employee. The subject MP member marked the allegation in the file as “unfounded”.

The complainant alleged:

  1. that during an interview the subject MP member prompted the employee identified by the complainant as having threatened him to say that the complainant had provoked him during the workplace dispute, then improperly shared this information with the complainant’s superior in the CoC, who was the spouse of an MP member;
  2. that the subject MP member was biased in his investigation as he was attempting to reach a result favoured by the complainant’s superiors in the CoC;
  3. that the subject MP member failed to log several statements that he received from the complainant’s superior into evidence and, by failing to do so, was either grossly negligent or tampering with evidence; and
  4. that the subject MP member failed to log into evidence a statement provided by his superior.

The Commission found all four allegations to be unsubstantiated. With respect to the first allegation, the Commission found the subject MP member was simply summarizing what the employee was stating in his interview, not prompting him. With respect to the second allegation, there was no evidence supporting a claim of bias. With respect to the fourth allegation, there was no evidence that the superior provided a statement to the subject MP member at all beyond a brief telephone call which was summarized in the GO file.

With respect to the third allegation, although there was evidence that the CoC had brought written statements to the Detachment, with the passage of time, the subject MP member could not recall if he had seen these statements. If he did, at that time, due to his inexperience, the subject MP member would not have retained copies of those statements as they were not prepared by an MP member and it was his belief that only statements prepared by MPs should be included in investigative files. It was not possible for the Commission to conclude on the evidence that the subject failed to log statements in the file as even if he saw them, it could not be concluded that he in fact received them or retained possession of them. Given his greater level of experience and understanding of how to deal with statements at the time of the review, the Commission did not feel it was necessary to make any remedial recommendation concerning the proper way to deal with the receipt of non-MP member witness statements.

The second MP GO file was an investigation into allegations brought to the MP Detachment by the complainant’s superior in the CoC. The superior reported that the complainant said he remained fearful of the employee who was involved in the workplace dispute, yet the complainant appeared to be intentionally placing himself in proximity to the employee whereas the employee was attempting to comply with the agreement that the two remain separated in the workplace. The matter was investigated as a public mischief or harassment allegation with the complainant named as the subject of the complaint.

The subject MP member interviewed several people and determined that there was no foundation for a criminal charge. However the file was marked as “founded” in the conclusory text box. The subject concluded the file with a recommendation that the matter be dealt with administratively or as an employment matter.

The complainant alleged:

  1. that the subject MP member improperly failed to interview him during this investigation;
  2. that it was improper for the subject MP member to utilize any information from the first MP GO file in the second investigation because information in the first file had been determined to be false by the MP Professional Standards (PS) unit;
  3. that the subject MP member did not treat the CoC supervisor’s complaint skeptically even though the supervisor had made false statements in the earlier investigation, and this was motivated by the fact that this supervisor’s spouse was an MP member;
  4. that in determining there was no criminal conduct the subject MP member ought not to have suggested the matter be dealt with administratively or as an employment matter;
  5. that the subject MP member placed false information in the GO file by concluding that the allegation was “founded”, and by stating that evidence “corroborated” the complainant when the complainant was never interviewed;
  6. that the subject MP member was biased in the investigation in that he was attempting to reach a result favoured by the complainant’s superiors in the CoC;
  7. that the subject MP member coached two witnesses during their interviews in order to reach the result the subject MP member desired; and
  8. that the subject MP member did not log an audio-visual interview in the file.

The Commission found all of the allegations to be unsubstantiated. The Commission recommended with respect to the fifth allegation that indications in the GO file that the allegations were “founded” were typographical errors and should be corrected, and recommended that the case type should be changed from “mischief” to “public mischief”.

In response to the Commission’s Report, the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) accepted all of the MPCC’s findings but did not accept the MPCC’s recommendation, explaining that the notations in question were part of the Computer Assisted Dispatch (CAD) report, which cannot be altered as it marks the end of the initial call. The CFPM further explained that in this case the GO file was changed as noted, so effectively the concern raised by the MPCC has already been addressed.

The MPCC accepted the CFPM’s explanation and as a result no longer pursued the recommendation.

Date modified:

Résumé du dossier d'inconduite CPPM-2014-056 et CPPM-2015-001

Le plaignant était un employé civil qui travaillait comme superviseur dans un groupe de soutien dans une base des Forces canadiennes (BFC). Le plaignant a demandé un examen des plaintes pour inconduite déposées contre la police militaire (PM) relativement à deux dossiers d’enquête (dossiers d’événements généraux (EG)), qui avaient été réalisés par le même policier militaire, qui est la seule personne désignée à titre de personne visée dans cet examen. Puisque l’objet de ces plaintes et les dossiers EG sont étroitement liés, la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM ou la Commission) a publié un rapport unique pour traiter des 12 allégations contenues dans les deux dossiers groupés.

Le premier dossier EG comportait une enquête sur une allégation qui avait été portée à l’attention du détachement de la PM par deux capitaines dans la chaîne de commandement du plaignant. Selon l’allégation, un employé faisant partie du groupe de travail du plaignant l’aurait menacé lors d’un différend au travail. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte aurait déterminé qu’il y avait des motifs suffisants pour appuyer une accusation criminelle d’avoir proféré des menaces. Mais dans l’entente de séparation en milieu de travail, que la chaîne de commandement du plaignant a mis en place par la suite, le plaignant a accepté de ne pas déposer d’accusation contre l’employé. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a marqué dans le dossier que l’allégation était « Non fondée ».

Le plaignant allègue ce qui suit :

  1. Pendant un interrogatoire, le policier militaire visé par la plainte a incité l’employé identifié par le plaignant comme étant celui qui lui avait proféré des menaces à lui dire que le plaignant l’avait provoqué pendant un différend au travail, puis à tort, avait communiqué cette information au supérieur du plaignant dans la chaîne de commandement, qui est aussi le conjoint d’un policier militaire;
  2. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a mené une enquête peu objective, puisqu’il tentait d’obtenir un résultat qu’auraient privilégié les supérieurs du plaignant dans la chaîne de commandement;
  3. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a omis de consigner comme preuve plusieurs déclarations qu’il a reçues du supérieur du plaignant, et que ce manquement constitue une grossière négligence ou une manipulation de la preuve;
  4. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a omis de consigner dans les preuves une déclaration qui lui a été fournie par son supérieur.

La Commission a conclu que les quatre allégations étaient non vérifiées. En ce qui concerne la première allégation, la Commission a conclu que le policier militaire visé par la plainte avait simplement résumé les propos de l’employé pendant l’interrogatoire, et ne l’avait pas incité. En ce qui concerne la deuxième allégation, il n’y a pas de preuve de parti pris. En ce qui a trait à la quatrième allégation, aucune preuve n'indique que le supérieur a fourni une déposition au policier militaire visé par la plainte, au-delà d’un bref appel téléphonique, qui a été résumé dans le dossier EG.

Cependant, en ce qui concerne la troisième allégation, même s’il y a des preuves que la chaîne de commandement a apporté des déclarations écrites au détachement, le policier militaire visé par la plainte ne se souvient pas d’avoir vu ces déclarations, étant donné le temps qui s’est écoulé depuis. Même s’il les avait reçues, à l’époque, il ne les aurait pas gardées, parce qu’à cause de son inexpérience, il pensait que seules les déclarations rédigées par un policier militaire pouvaient être versées aux dossiers d’enquête. La Commission n’a pas pu conclure selon les preuves que le policier militaire visé par la plainte avait omis de consigner les déclarations au dossier, même s’il les a vues, puisqu’il n’était pas possible de conclure qu’il les avait reçues ou qu’il les avait gardées. Étant donné que le policier militaire visé par la plainte a acquis depuis une plus grande expérience et de meilleures connaissances sur la manière de traiter les déclarations, la Commission a jugé inutile de formuler une recommandation pour imposer des mesures correctives afin de traiter correctement la réception de déclarations de témoins non rédigées par un policier militaire.

Le deuxième dossier EG de la PM comportait une enquête sur des allégations déposées au détachement de la PM par le supérieur du plaignant dans la chaîne de commandement. Le supérieur a signalé que le plaignant a dit qu’il continuait de craindre l’employé impliqué dans le différend au travail. Or, le plaignant semblait se placer intentionnellement à proximité de l’employé, alors que celui-ci essayait de respecter l’entente selon laquelle ils devaient se tenir à distance l’un de l’autre. L’affaire a fait l’objet d’une enquête à titre de méfait public ou de harcèlement, dans laquelle le plaignant est désigné comme le sujet de la plainte.

Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a interrogé plusieurs personnes et a déterminé l’absence de motif pour une accusation criminelle. Ce dossier a toutefois été marqué « Fondé » dans la case de texte de conclusion. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a clos le dossier avec la recommandation que l’affaire soit traitée de manière administrative ou en tant que question liée à l’emploi.

Le plaignant allègue ce qui suit :

  1. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a omis à tort de l’interroger pendant cette enquête;
  2. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a eu tort d’utiliser de l’information du premier dossier EG dans la seconde enquête, parce que l’information dans le premier dossier avait été déterminée comme étant fausse par l’unité des Normes professionnelles (NP) de la PM;
  3. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte n’a pas traité la plainte du supérieur dans la chaîne de commandement avec scepticisme, même si le superviseur avait fait de fausses déclarations dans l’enquête précédente, et que ces déclarations étaient motivées par le fait que le conjoint du superviseur était un policier militaire;
  4. Dans la détermination qu’il n’y a pas eu de conduite criminelle, le policier militaire visé par la plainte n’aurait pas dû suggérer de traiter de l’affaire de manière administrative ou en tant que question liée à l’emploi;
  5. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a versé de l’information erronée dans le dossier EG en concluant que l’allégation était « Fondée », et en déclarant que la preuve corroborait le plaignant, alors que le plaignant n’a jamais été questionné;
  6. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a mené une enquête peu objective, puisqu’il a tenté d’atteindre un résultat qu’auraient privilégié les supérieurs du plaignant dans la chaîne de commandement;
  7. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte a influencé deux témoins pendant leur interrogatoire de manière à atteindre le résultat que le policier militaire visé par la plainte souhaitait;
  8. Le policier militaire visé par la plainte n’a pas consigné un interrogatoire audiovisuel dans le dossier.

La Commission a conclu que toutes les allégations étaient non vérifiées. La Commission a recommandé, en ce qui concerne la cinquième allégation, que l’indication dans le dossier EG, indiquant que les allégations sont « Fondées » constitue une erreur typographique et qu’elle soit corrigée, et a recommandé que le type de dossier soit changé de « méfait » à « méfait public ».

En réponse au rapport de la Commission, le Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) a accepté toutes les conclusions de la CPPM, mais n’a pas accepté sa recommandation, expliquant que les indications en question faisaient partie du rapport du système de répartition assisté par ordinateur, qui ne peut pas être changé, parce qu’il marque la fin de l’appel initial. En outre, le GPFC a expliqué que, dans ce cas, le dossier EG avait été changé comme indiqué, si bien que la préoccupation soulevée par la CPPM avait déjà été réglée.

La CPPM a accepté l’explication du GPFC et, par conséquent, n’attendait plus de suite à la recommandation.

Date de modification :