Conduct Case Summary MPCC-2014-010

In March 2014, the Military Police (MP) investigated a complaint made by an insurance company agent to the effect that the complainant had reportedly made threats towards her. When the MP contacted the complainant for his version of events, he contested the MP’s jurisdiction to investigate the matter, refused to meet with the investigator and asked that the file be transferred to the civilian police force.

An MP member questioned the complainant’s supervisor and obtained a formal statement from the insurance company agent. The investigation was then assessed as complete, and the MP recommended that criminal charges be laid. The results of the MP investigation were provided to the complainant’s chain of command for their information, as per standard procedure. When an MP member informed the complainant that the MP investigation was closed, the complainant asked why he had not been questioned, and he was told that it was because he had refused the request. The complainant did not agree and said he felt he was being intimidated by the MP.

In his complaint, the complainant alleges that the MP abused its power by using its authority to illegitimate ends in order to provide undue help to his unit to his detriment.

The Deputy Commander of the Canadian Forces Military Police Group reviewed the complaint in the first instance and concluded that it was unfounded.

The complainant requested that the MPCC review the complaint, under section 250.31 of the National Defence Act.

The Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC) reviewed the allegation by examining the following three issues: (1) the large number of MP members involved in the file; (2) the apparent changes in jurisdiction between the MP and the civilian police force; and (3) the link between the final decision on the file by the MP and the complainant’s chain of command.

The MPCC conducted an investigation and found that the complainant’s allegation was unsubstantiated. The MPCC’s investigation also revealed that the large number of investigators involved in the file was due to the investigators’ availability and the trial period with patrollers dedicated to another garrison. There was no evidence to indicate an attempt was made to ensure a specific investigator was assigned to the file in order to manipulate the investigation. Furthermore, the MPCC’s investigation confirmed that there was, at least at the outset, some confusion about which police agency had jurisdiction to investigate the matter. However, no information indicates that the MP illegitimately assumed jurisdiction in the investigation. Lastly, the information gathered by the MPCC reveals that the MP acted independently.

The MPCC’s recommendation in relation to this file was that the garrison’s Military Police members involved in this matter review their note-taking and documentation of measures taken in the Security and Military Police Information System (SAMPIS) to ensure they are adequate.

In reaction to the MPCC’s report, the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal noted the MPCC’s finding and accepted the MPCC’s recommendation.

Date modified:

Résumé du dossier d'inconduite CPPM-2014-010

En mars 2014, la Police militaire (PM) a enquêté une plainte d’une agente d’une compagnie d’assurance à l’effet que le plaignant lui aurait proféré des menaces. Lorsque le plaignant a été contacté par la PM pour fournir sa version des faits, il a contesté la compétence de la PM pour enquêter l’affaire, a refusé de rencontrer l’enquêteur et demandait que le dossier soit transféré aux autorités policières civiles.

Un membre de la PM a interrogé le superviseur du plaignant, et a obtenu une déclaration formelle de l’agente de la compagnie d’assurance. L’enquête a ensuite été jugée complète et la PM a recommandé que des accusations criminelles soient portées. Les résultats de l’enquête de la PM ont été transmis à la chaîne de commandement du plaignant pour leur information, selon la procédure habituelle. Lorsqu’un membre de la PM a informé le plaignant que l’enquête de la PM avait été conclue, le plaignant a demandé pourquoi il n’avait pas été interrogé, et on lui a dit que c’était parce qu’il avait refusé la demande. Le plaignant n’était pas d’accord et a dit avoir le sentiment de se faire intimider par la PM.

Dans sa plainte, le plaignant allègue que la PM a abusé de son pouvoir en utilisant son autorité dans un but illégitime, afin d’aider indûment son unité à son détriment.

Le commandant adjoint du Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes a procédé à un examen de la plainte en premier lieu et a conclu que la plainte était non fondée.

Le plaignant a demandé que la CPPM examine sa plainte, conformément à l’article 250.31 de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

La Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM) a examiné cette allégation en se penchant sur les trois questions suivantes : 1) le nombre élevé de membres de la PM impliqués au dossier; 2) les changements de compétence apparents entre la PM et l’autorité policière civile; et 3) le lien entre la disposition finale du dossier par la PM et la chaîne de commandement du plaignant.

La CPPM a mené une enquête et a conclu que l’allégation du plaignant était non vérifiée. L’enquête de la CPPM a révélé que le nombre élevé d’enquêteurs impliqués dans le dossier était dû aux disponibilités des enquêteurs et de la période d’essai avec des patrouilleurs dédiés à une autre garnison. Il n’y avait aucune preuve indiquant qu’une tentative a été faite pour qu’un enquêteur spécifique soit assigné au dossier afin de manipuler l’enquête. De plus, l’enquête de la CPPM a confirmé qu’il y avait, du moins au début, une certaine confusion quant à l’autorité policière compétente pour enquêter l’affaire. Cependant, aucune information n’indique que la PM assumait illégitimement la compétence sur l’enquête. Enfin, les informations recueillies par la CPPM révèlent que le PM a agi de façon indépendante.

La CPPM a formulé une recommandation dans cette affaire, soit que la façon adéquate de prendre des notes et de documenter les mesures prises dans le Système d’information – Sécurité et Police militaire (SISEPM) soit revue par les membres de la PM de la garnison ayant enquêté l’affaire.

En réaction du rapport de la CPPM, le Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes a noté la conclusion et a accepté la recommandation de la CPPM.

Date de modification :