Conduct Case Summary MPCC-2013-024

In 2012, an individual entered the Military Police (MP) Detachment on a Canadian Forces Base (CFB) looking for assistance because he had locked his keys in his vehicle. The MP members suspected the individual was impaired, and had reasons to believe he had been driving the vehicle. He failed a roadside test and was arrested and transported to a nearby Royal Canadian Mounted Police Detachment.

Two individuals who had been passengers in the vehicle were brought to the MP Detachment to be interviewed. Due to the contradictory information they provided about who was driving the vehicle and where the passengers were seated, the MP member who conducted the interviews began to suspect that one or both of the passengers were providing false information. After consultation with the Detachment Warrant Officer (WO), the MP member brought one of the passengers back to the interview room for a second interview. She confronted him with the contradictions and told him he could be charged with an offence for lying to the police. He eventually admitted he had lied and that the individual already arrested had in fact been driving the vehicle. No charges were laid against either of the two passengers. The impaired driving charges laid against the driver were later withdrawn by the Crown Attorney’s Office.

The complainant became aware of the incident in the course of his duties and, in 2013, he transmitted a complaint to the Military Police Complaints Commission (MPCC, or Commission). He alleged that the Detachment WO misled the MP member who conducted the interviews and caused her to conduct the interviews in an inappropriate manner, including by forcing the individual interviewed to provide a written statement and by failing to advise him of his rights and jeopardy. The complainant also alleged that the Detachment Lieutenant inappropriately failed to impose a remedial measure on the WO when he decided to impose the remedial measure on the MP member involved, and failed to refer the matter to the Canadian Forces Military Police Group (CF MP Gp) Professional Standards (PS) Section or to the MPCC for investigation.

The Deputy Commander for the CF MP Gp conducted a preliminary review of the complaint and determined that the matters complained about did not involve policing duties or functions, and directed that no PS investigation be started.

The complainant requested a review of his complaint by the MPCC pursuant to section 250.31 of the National Defence Act (NDA).

The Commission identified five separate allegations of misconduct brought by the complainant, three relating to the conduct of the interview, one relating to the alleged involvement of the WO and one relating to the Lieutenant’s response. The Commission conducted an investigation and interviewed several witnesses, including the complainant and two of the subjects of the complaint.

The Commission concluded the allegation about the Lieutenant’s conduct does not relate to the performance of policing duties or functions and, as such, cannot be considered as part of a conduct complaint. As a result, the Commission made no finding or comment with respect to this allegation. However, the Commission found all of the other allegations substantiated. In particular, the Commission found that the individual interviewed should have been treated as a suspect when he was brought back for a second interview, as there were reasons to believe an offence had been committed, and one of the purposes of the second interview was to ascertain whether the individual was involved in that offence. As such, he should have been immediately cautioned and advised of his rights and jeopardy, and the MP member should not have been wearing her side arm during the interview. In addition, the individual should not have been told he had to provide a written statement.

The Commission found that these failures were largely the result of advice and guidance provided by the Detachment WO. While the MP member involved does retain some responsibility for the manner in which they approached the interview, they cannot be completely faulted for following their superior’s advice. The WO provided faulty guidance and also failed to intervene to correct the situation, even though the WO was monitoring the interview and could see the conduct unfold.

To address these issues, the Commission recommended that the WO receive additional training related to the conduct of interviews and applicable MP policies. The Commission also recommended that the WO receive specific guidance about the circumstances when individuals being interviewed need to be treated as suspects. The Commission concluded that no recommendations were necessary to address the conduct of the MP member directly involved in the interviews, because training and coaching had already been received to address the issues.

In response to the Commission’s Report, the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) noted all of the Commission’s findings, and stated that the actions of the MP members involved were not in accordance with existing policies or procedures. The CFPM also accepted all of the Commission’s recommendations, and stated they will be implemented.

Date modified:

Résumé du dossier d'inconduite CPPM-2013-024

En 2012, un homme est entré dans le détachement de la Police militaire (PM) d’une base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) à la recherche d’aide, car il avait laissé ses clés dans son véhicule verrouillé. Les membres de la PM soupçonnaient que l’homme était en état d’ébriété et ils avaient des raisons de croire qu’il avait conduit son véhicule. Il a échoué au test d’ivressomètre et a été arrêté et transporté dans un détachement de la Gendarmerie royale canadienne à proximité.

Deux passagers du véhicule ont été amenés au détachement de la PM pour être interrogés. Étant donné l’information contradictoire recueillie quant à la question de savoir qui conduisait le véhicule et où les passagers étaient assis dans le véhicule, le membre de la PM qui menait l’entrevue a commencé à soupçonner qu’un des passagers, voire les deux, fournissait de fausses informations. Après avoir consulté l’adjudant du détachement, le membre de la PM a ramené l’un des passagers dans la salle d’entrevue pour une deuxième entrevue. Elle a souligné les contradictions dans les témoignages et l’a informé qu’il pouvait être accusé d’une infraction pour avoir menti aux policiers. Le passager a fini par avouer qu’il avait menti et que l’homme arrêté avait effectivement conduit le véhicule. Aucune accusation n’a été portée contre les passagers. Les accusations de conduite avec facultés affaiblies portées contre le conducteur ont par la suite été retirées par le Bureau du procureur de la Couronne.

Le plaignant a pris connaissance de l’incident durant l’exercice de ses fonctions et, en 2013, il a déposé une plainte auprès de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (CPPM, ou Commission). Il a allégué que l’adjudant du détachement avait induit en erreur le membre de la PM responsable des entrevues et que ce dernier avait, par conséquent, mené les entrevues de façon inappropriée, y compris en forçant la personne interrogée à fournir une déclaration écrite et en omettant de l’aviser de ses droits et du risque encouru. Le plaignant a aussi allégué que le lieutenant du détachement avait omis d’imposer des mesures correctives à l’adjudant, décidant plutôt d’imposer des mesures correctives au membre de la PM concerné, et qu’il avait omis d’imposer l’affaire à la section des Normes professionnelles (NP) du Groupe de la Police militaire des forces Canadiennes (Gp PM FC) ou à la CPPM pour enquête.

Le commandant adjoint du Gp PM FC a mené un examen préliminaire de la plainte et a établi que les questions en litige ne concernaient pas les devoirs ou fonctions de nature policière, et a ordonné qu’aucune enquête ne soit menée par la section des NP.

Le plaignant a demandé que sa plainte soit examinée par la CPPM en vertu de l’article 250.31 de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN).

La Commission a relevé cinq allégations d’inconduite distinctes soulevées par le plaignant : trois relatives à la façon dont les entrevues avaient été menées, une à la participation présumée de l’adjudant et une autre à la réponse du lieutenant. La Commission a mené une enquête et a interrogé plusieurs témoins, y compris le plaignant et deux des sujets de la plainte.

La Commission a conclu que l’allégation relative à la conduite du lieutenant n’était pas liée à ses devoirs ou fonctions de nature policière et qu’elle ne pouvait donc pas être examinée dans le cadre d’une plainte pour inconduite. Par conséquent, la Commission n’a pas formulé de conclusion ou de commentaire sur cette allégation. Cependant, la Commission a établi que toutes les autres allégations étaient vérifiées. En particulier, la Commission a conclu que la personne interrogée aurait dû être traitée comme un suspect quand elle a été ramenée pour une deuxième entrevue puisqu’il y avait des raisons de croire qu’une infraction avait été commise, l’un des objectifs de la deuxième entrevue étant d’établir si la personne avait participé à cette infraction. De ce fait, la personne interrogée aurait dû être immédiatement avertie et informée de ses droits et du risque encouru, et le membre de la PM n’aurait pas dû porter son arme courte durant l’entrevue. Par ailleurs, la personne interrogée n’aurait pas dû être avisée qu’elle devait fournir une déclaration écrite.

La Commission a conclu que ces échecs étaient d’abord et avant tout dus à l’orientation et aux conseils offerts par l’adjudant du détachement. Bien que le membre de la PM soit responsable dans une certaine mesure de la façon dont l’entrevue a été menée, il ne peut être entièrement blâmé pour avoir suivi les conseils de son supérieur. L’adjudant a donné des conseils erronés et n’est pas intervenu pour corriger la situation, bien qu’il ait surveillé l’entrevue et pouvait voir ce qui s’y passait.

Pour régler ces problèmes, la Commission a recommandé que l’adjudant reçoive une formation supplémentaire sur la tenue des entrevues et les politiques de la PM applicables. La Commission a également recommandé que l’adjudant reçoive une orientation précise sur les circonstances dans lesquelles les personnes interrogées doivent être traitées comme des suspects. La Commission a conclu qu’aucune recommandation n’était requise relativement à la conduite du membre de la PM directement responsable des entrevues puisqu’il avait déjà reçu la formation et le coaching nécessaires sur ces questions.

Le Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) a pris connaissance de toutes les conclusions du rapport de la Commission et a indiqué que les actions des membres de la PM concernés n’étaient pas conformes aux politiques ou procédures en vigueur. Le GPFC a également accepté toutes les recommandations de la Commission et a affirmé qu’elles seraient appliquées.

Date de modification :