MPCC-2008-052

This conduct complaint arose from a military police investigation of the complainant on suspicion of illegal drug use while undergoing initial training as an officer-cadet at a military recruit school. The brief investigation concluded that the suspicions of illegal drug use by the complainant and another officer-cadet were unsubstantiated and no further action was taken.

The complainant took issue with the way in which the investigation was handled. In particular, the complainant objected to: the grounds on which the investigation was initiated; the manner in which he was summoned for his interview with the military police (MP) investigators, the request being transmitted through his chain of command at the recruit school; and the fact that, in his view, the MP investigation unfairly targeted him and the other officer-cadet because they are black. In the complainant’s view, the grounds for suspecting him of illegal drug use were insufficient to warrant investigation and, moreover, as the suspicions were brought forward by his sergeant (with whom he did not get along), they should not, in his view, have been taken at face value. The complainant alleged that he and the other officer-cadet who was the subject of the investigation were victims of racial profiling since other white officer-cadets who displayed similar symptoms at that time (nasal congestion, watery eyes) were not investigated. The complainant also alleged that the manner in which the duty warrant officer at the recruit school transmitted the MPs’ request that he attend the MP detachment to make a voluntary statement undermined its voluntary nature and thereby infringed his rights. Finally, the complainant objected to the fact that the MPs would not tell him who suspected him of using drugs and that he was not advised of the results of the investigation.

The Commission’s investigation revealed that, contrary to the complainant’s suspicions, it was a fellow officer-cadet, not his sergeant, who was the source of the allegations of suspected drug use. Although the indications of drug use by the complainant were not strong, the MPs nonetheless had a duty to investigate the allegations in light of the policies both of the MPs and of the recruit school.

Moreover, as the allegations under investigation were specific to the two officer cadets in question, and were based on observed behaviour rather than racial factors, racial profiling was not a factor in the investigation. While the manner in which the duty warrant officer urged the complainant to attend the MP detachment for an interview could well have undermined the voluntary nature of the interview, the MP made appropriate efforts to rectify the situation and properly advised him of his rights. Moreover, as no charges were laid against the complainant, the MPs were under no obligation to identify the source of the allegations concerning the complainant, and it would have been contrary to good police practices and to the informant’s privacy interests to have done so. Finally, in this type of case, it was not the responsibility of the MPs to notify the complainant of the results of the investigation, although the complainant was informally advised. Rather, the MPs are required to report their findings to the suspect’s chain of command and it is for the chain of command to decide on further action, including informing the subject of the investigation of its results.

Date modified:

CPPM-2008-052

La plainte d’inconduite dont est saisie la Commission porte sur une enquête de la police militaire visant le plaignant, soupçonné de consommation de drogue illicite pendant qu’il suivait son entraînement de base d’aspirant-officier à une école militaire de. Cette brève enquête avait conclu que les soupçons de consommation de drogue illicite pesant sur le plaignant n’étaient pas fondés et l’affaire a été classée sans suite.

Le plaignant se plaint de la façon dont l’enquête a été menée. En particulier, il se plaint des motifs sur le fondement desquels l’enquête a été engagée, de la façon dont il a été convoqué à l’entrevue avec les enquêteurs de la police militaire, par une convocation transmise par voie hiérarchique à l’école, et du fait qu’à son avis, l’enquête de la police militaire a injustement singularisé lui-même et un autre aspirant-officier parce qu’ils sont des personnes de race noire. Selon le plaignant, les motifs invoqués pour faire peser sur lui les soupçons de consommation de drogue illicite n’étaient pas suffisants pour justifier une enquête et, qui plus est, ces suspicions ayant été avancées par son sergent (avec lequel il ne s’entendait pas), elles ne devraient pas être acceptées telles quelles. Le plaignant fait valoir que lui-même et l’autre élève-officier soumis à l’enquête étaient victimes de profilage racial puisque d’autres aspirants-officiers, des personnes de race blanche, qui présentaient à l’époque les mêmes symptômes (congestion nasale, épiphora) n’étaient pas enquêtés. Le plaignant fait aussi valoir que la façon dont l’adjudant de service à l’école transmettait la demande faite par la police militaire qu’il aille pour faire une déclaration volontaire en anéantissait la nature volontaire et, de ce fait, portait atteinte à ses droits. Enfin, le plaignant se plaint du fait que la police militaire refusait de lui dire qui l’avait soupçonné de consommer des drogues et du fait qu’il n’a pas été informé des résultats de l’enquête.

Il ressort de l’enquête de la Commission que contrairement aux soupçons du plaignant, c’était un autre aspirant-officier, et non son sergent, qui était la source des allégations de suspicion de consommation de drogues. Bien que ces soupçons ne fussent pas forts, la police militaire était quand même tenue d’enquêter là-dessus conformément à ses politiques propres comme à celles de l’école.

Qui plus est, comme les allégations donnant lieu à l’enquête ne portaient que sur les deux élèves-officiers en question et étaient fondées sur des symptômes observés et non sur des facteurs raciaux, le profilage racial n’était pas un facteur dans l’enquête. La façon dont l’adjudant de service pressait le plaignant de se présenter à l’entrevue du détachement de police militaire aurait pu certes en anéantir la nature volontaire, mais la police militaire a fait des efforts nécessaires pour rectifier la situation et l’a informé comme il fallait de ses droits. D’autre part, puisqu’aucun chef d’accusation n’a été retenu contre le plaignant, la police militaire n’était nullement tenue de révéler la source des allégations le concernant, et pareille révélation aurait été contraire aux bonnes pratiques de police et au droit à la vie privée du dénonciateur. Enfin, dans les cas de ce genre, il n’incombait pas à la police militaire de notifier au plaignant les résultats de l’enquête, bien qu’il en ait été officieusement informé. Au contraire, elle est tenue de présenter ses conclusions aux supérieurs hiérarchiques du suspect et il appartient à ceux-ci de décider des mesures à prendre, y compris la notification des résultats de l’enquête à celui qui en fait l’objet.

Date de modification :