MPCC-2005-050

Facts and Complaint

A complaint was lodged concerning the conduct of the subject member regarding his actions taken to convince other individuals that they should not donate money to assist the complainant to hire a lawyer.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

After conducting some preliminary research, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards found that, given all the circumstances, it would not be useful or would be extremely difficult to continue with the investigation of the complaint.

Findings and Recommendations of the Complaints Commission

The complainant then communicated with the Complaints Commission and asked that a review of his file be conducted. The complainant also submitted new allegations concerning the same incident and these new allegations implicated the original subject member, as well as other military police members. Given that the request for review was received at the same time as the new complaints, and that the handling of both files would involve interviews with the same people, the Complaints Commission recommended that all allegations should be handled by the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards at the same time, to avoid both offices conducting simultaneous investigations into the same incident.

The DPM PS agreed with the Commission’s recommendation and indicated that their office would investigate all of the allegations in the first instance and the parties would be notified of the results.

Date modified:

CPPM-2005-050

Faits et plainte

Une plainte a été déposée au sujet de la conduite du membre en cause, qui aurait tenté de convaincre d’autres personnes qu’elles ne devraient pas donner de l’argent pour aider le plaignant à retenir les services d’un avocat.

Décision du Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Après avoir fait des recherches préliminaires, le Grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles a conclu que, eu égard à l’ensemble des circonstances, il ne serait pas utile ou il serait très difficile de poursuivre l’enquête concernant la plainte.

Conclusions et recommandations de la Commission des plaintes

Le plaignant a alors communiqué avec la Commission d’examen des plaintes et lui a demandé de réviser son dossier. Le plaignant a également soumis de nouvelles allégations au sujet du même incident et ces nouvelles allégations concernaient le membre en cause initial ainsi que d’autres membres de la police militaire. Étant donné que la demande de révision a été reçue en même temps que les nouvelles plaintes et que le traitement des deux dossiers nécessiterait des entrevues auprès des mêmes personnes, la Commission d’examen des plaintes a recommandé que le Grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles traite toutes les allégations en même temps, afin d’éviter que les deux organismes mènent des enquêtes simultanées au sujet du même incident.

Le GPA NP a accepté la recommandation de la Commission et fait savoir que son bureau enquêterait sur toutes les allégations dans l’exercice de sa compétence en première instance et que les parties seraient informées des résultats.

Date de modification :