MPCC-2006-042

Facts and complaint

A female Captain in the Canadian Forces (C) contacted the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (CFNIS) Central Region to submit a sexual assault complaint regarding an incident that occurred in 1995

Until recently, when C recalled the evening she thought of it merely as a bad experience. However, after attending a Sexual Harassment and Rape Prevention Course she reflected on what happened to her and identified the incident as a sexual assault. She reported the 1995 incident to the CFNIS and described the incident in her oral and written statements to the lead investigator tasked to the file. The investigator consulted with his superiors regarding the statute of limitations, jurisdiction and investigative actions required. He devised an investigative plan and requested a pre-charge legal opinion from the Regional Military Prosecutor’s office, providing C’s written statement and a copy of the audio and video taped interview. The Prosecutor responded that, based on the facts of the case as related by C in her statements, the elements of the offence of sexual assault and the law as it existed in 1995, it was his opinion that there would not be a reasonable prospect of conviction. Furthermore, during the time period in which the incident occurred, jurisdiction would belong to the local provincial Crown.

Accordingly, the investigator requested an opinion from a Crown Attorney. The following day, when C telephoned the investigator, he told her that as far as the CFNIS was concerned, the case was closed. Upon her request, C met with the investigator. He showed her the two written legal opinions and quickly paraphrased the contents. C quickly glanced at the letter from the Regional Military Prosecutor but read the legal opinion of the Crown Attorney. Later, she requested a meeting with the Crown Attorney. His subsequent written response to her stated, “…based upon your statement, there was no reasonable prospect of conviction”.

C submitted a complaint alleging: the existence of another version of the Crown Attorney’s written legal opinion; that the CFNIS investigator lacked knowledge with respect to the issue of consent; inadequate training was provided to the investigator and to CFNIS investigators generally; and that the investigation was not conducted in accordance with applicable regulations/orders.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

Before responding to the subject-matter of the complaint on behalf of the CFPM, the Deputy Provost Marshal, Professional Standards (DPM PS) did a preliminary review and met with C. It was agreed that the matter would be thoroughly reviewed by a “focused evaluation” which would review all pertinent information related to this complaint and conduct a systematic examination of the policy, training and allocation of resources in relation to sexual assault complaints.

Following the focused evaluation, the DPM PS issued his Report of Findings and Actions which stated that the actions of the military police were generally professional and sympathetic to the complainant. The MP was a competent investigator commensurate with skills and knowledge recognized by Canadian policing standards. It was also found that the CFNIS has an adequate mechanism in place to maximize the professional competencies of its members. Further, it is not within the professional duties of CFNIS investigators to address matters of law. Consistent with policing practices in Canada, CFNIS investigators rely on the expertise of legal personnel to review the relevant information and make determinations regarding issues such as consent. In this case, the investigator relied on the legal opinions given. There was no evidence that the CFNIS file had been altered or that another version of the Crown Attorney’s written opinion existed.

It was found that, overall, this investigation was conducted in accordance with applicable policies, regulations and orders which reflect common policing practices. Recommendations were made to update related policies, as well as to ensure that a Victim Services “package” be given to victims by the investigator at some point during first contact.

The complainant was not satisfied with the findings of the CFPM and asked the Complaints Commission to review the file.

Findings and Recommendations of the Chairperson of the Complaints Commission

The MPCC conducted a full review of the file, including audio and visual recordings, notebook entries as all relevant correspondence and documentation provided by the complainant and persons interviewed. As well, MPCC investigators interviewed eight individuals.

In C’s written complaint, as well as in her interviews with Commission investigators, she challenged the authenticity of one of the legal opinions on file. The Commission thoroughly investigated this matter by reviewing all MP information system entries and statements of the individuals involved. No evidence was found that a third legal opinion existed.

In response to the complainant’s concern that salient information regarding her level of intoxication was not obtained by the CFNIS, the Chair noted that the investigator questioned her about how much she had to drink. The facts were also noted in the Regional Military Prosecutor’s legal opinion.

C also alleged that the CFNIS investigator did not adequately explore the issue of withdrawal of consent. I t is not within the purview of the MPCC to review the legal opinions regarding the issue of consent; however, the Commission reviewed the facts to determine whether the military police failed to properly investigate the issue of consent. Clearly, the investigator followed the best practice in this case by obtaining the pre-charge legal opinion of the Regional Military Prosecutor. The investigator also obtained the legal opinion of the Crown Attorney. Both legal opinions considered the elements of the offence including the issue of consent and found there was no reasonable prospect of conviction. It would only be reasonable for the investigator to have followed the legal advice provided.

Overall, t he Chair found that the investigation and supervision of this file was appropriate and effective. The evidence did not substantiate the complaint.

Chairperson’s Reply following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

In his Notice of Action, the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal agreed with the Chairperson’s findings and confirmed that the recommendations made in the focused evaluation are currently being actioned.

Date modified:

CPPM-2006-042

Faits et plainte

Une capitaine des Forces canadiennes (C) a communiqué avec le bureau de la région du centre du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) pour déposer une plainte d’agression sexuelle au sujet d’un incident survenu en 1995.

Jusqu’à récemment, lorsque C se rappelait les événements de la soirée en question, elle pensait simplement qu’il s’agissait d’une mauvaise expérience. Cependant, après avoir assisté à un cours sur le harcèlement sexuel et la prévention du viol, elle a réfléchi sur ce qui lui était arrivé et a conclu que l’incident était une agression sexuelle. Elle a signalé l’incident de 1995 au SNEFC et l’a relaté dans les déclarations orales et écrites qu’elle a présentées à l’enquêteur principal auquel le dossier a été confié. L’enquêteur a consulté ses supérieurs au sujet de la prescription, de la compétence et des mesures d’enquête requises. Il a élaboré un plan d’enquête et a demandé un avis juridique préalable à l’inculpation au bureau du procureur militaire régional en lui fournissant la déclaration écrite de C et une copie de l’entrevue enregistrée sur bande sonore et sur bande vidéo. Le procureur a répondu que, d’après les faits de l’affaire que C avait relatés dans ses déclarations, les éléments de l’infraction d’agression sexuelle et le droit en vigueur en 1995, il estimait qu’il n’y avait pas d’espoir raisonnable d’obtenir une déclaration de culpabilité. De plus, pendant la période au cours de laquelle l’incident est survenu, l’affaire relevait vraisemblablement de la poursuite provinciale.

En conséquence, l’enquêteur a demandé l’avis d’un avocat de la Couronne. Le lendemain, lorsque C a téléphoné à l’enquêteur, celui-ci lui a dit que, en ce qui concernait le SNEFC, le dossier était classé. C a demandé à l’enquêteur de la rencontrer et il a accepté. Il lui a alors montré les deux avis juridiques écrits et en a paraphrasé rapidement le contenu. C a jeté un bref coup d’oeil à la lettre du procureur militaire régional, mais elle a lu l’avis juridique du procureur de la Couronne. Plus tard, elle a demandé une rencontre avec celui-ci. Dans sa réponse écrite subséquente, le procureur de la Couronne a souligné que [traduction] « d’après votre déclaration, il n’y avait pas d’espoir raisonnable d’obtenir une déclaration de culpabilité ».

C a déposé une plainte dans laquelle elle a allégué qu’une autre version de l’avis juridique écrit du procureur de la Couronne existait, que l’enquêteur du SNEFC n’avait pas suffisamment de connaissances au sujet de la question du consentement, que, de façon générale, la formation donnée à l’enquêteur en cause et aux autres enquêteurs du SNEFC était inadéquate et que l’enquête n’a pas été menée conformément aux règlements et ordonnances applicables.

Décision du Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Avant de répondre à la plainte au nom du GPFC, le Grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles (GPA NP) a fait un examen préliminaire du dossier et a rencontré C. Il a été convenu que l’affaire serait examinée à fond dans le cadre d’une évaluation ciblée qui couvrirait tous les renseignements pertinents liés à la plainte et qu’un examen systématique de la politique, de la formation et de l’attribution des ressources à l’égard des plaintes d’agression sexuelle serait fait.

Après l’évaluation ciblée, le GPA NP a remis son rapport sur les conclusions et les mesures prises, dans lequel il a souligné que, de façon générale, la police militaire s’était comportée de façon professionnelle et sympathique à l’endroit de la plaignante. Le policier était un enquêteur compétent qui possédait les compétences et les connaissances requises par les normes canadiennes relatives aux fonctions policières. Il a également été conclu que le SNEFC avait mis en place un mécanisme adéquat pour maximiser les compétences professionnelles de ses membres. De plus, l’examen des questions de droit ne relevait pas des tâches professionnelles des enquêteurs du SNEFC. Conformément aux pratiques policières suivies au Canada, les enquêteurs du SNEFC se fondent sur la compétence du personnel juridique pour examiner les renseignements pertinents et pour prendre des décisions sur des questions comme le consentement. Dans la présente affaire, l’enquêteur s’est fondé sur les avis juridiques reçus. Aucun élément de preuve ne montrait que le dossier du SNEFC avait été modifié ou qu’une autre version de l’avis écrit du procureur de la Couronne existait.

Le GPA NP a conclu que, dans l’ensemble, l’enquête avait été menée conformément aux politiques, règlements et ordonnances applicables, qui traduisent les pratiques policières courantes. Il a été recommandé de mettre à jour les politiques connexes et de veiller à ce que l’enquêteur remette aux victimes une trousse de renseignements sur les services aux victimes au cours de la première rencontre.

Insatisfaite des conclusions du GPFC, la plaignante a demandé à la Commission de réviser le dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations du président de la Commission d’examen des plaintes

La CPPM a procédé à un examen complet du dossier, y compris les enregistrements sonores et visuels, les notes ainsi que la correspondance et les documents pertinents fournis par la plaignante et les personnes interrogées. De plus, les enquêteurs de la CPPM ont interrogé huit personnes.

Dans sa plainte écrite et lors de ses entrevues auprès des enquêteurs de la Commission, C a contesté l’authenticité de l’un des avis juridiques se trouvant au dossier. La Commission a examiné à fond cette question en révisant tous les renseignements entrés dans le système informatique de la PM ainsi que les déclarations des personnes concernées. Aucune preuve de l’existence d’un troisième avis juridique n’a été trouvée.

En réponse à l’allégation de la plaignante selon laquelle le SNEFC n’avait pas obtenu certains renseignements importants au sujet du degré d’intoxication de celle‑ci, le président a souligné que l’enquêteur l’avait interrogée relativement à la quantité d’alcool qu’elle avait bue. Les faits ont également été soulignés dans l’avis juridique du procureur militaire régional.

De plus, C a allégué que l’enquêteur du SNEFC n’avait pas exploré adéquatement la question du retrait du consentement. Il n’appartient pas à la CPPM d’examiner les avis juridiques concernant la question du consentement; cependant, la Commission a révisé les faits pour savoir si la police militaire avait mené une enquête adéquate au sujet de cette question. De toute évidence, l’enquêteur a suivi les meilleures pratiques possibles dans la présente affaire en obtenant du procureur militaire régional l’avis juridique préalable à l’inculpation. Les auteurs des deux avis en question ont examiné les éléments de l’infraction, y compris la question du consentement, et ont conclu qu’il n’y avait aucun espoir raisonnable d’obtenir une déclaration de culpabilité. Il était donc tout à fait raisonnable que l’enquêteur suive l’avis juridique fourni.

Dans l’ensemble, le président a conclu que l’enquête menée et la surveillance exercée dans le présent dossier avaient été adéquates et efficaces. La preuve n’étayait pas la plainte.

Réponse du président après la notification du Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Dans sa notification, le Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes a souscrit aux conclusions du président et confirmé que des mesures sont actuellement prises à l’égard des recommandations formulées dans l’évaluation ciblée.

Date de modification :