MPCC-2012-042-1

On October 10, 2012, the complainant sent an email to a number of recipients, including the headquarters of the Canadian Forces National Counter-Intelligence Unit (CFNCIU) in Ottawa. In the email, the complainant provided some information about his past actions in reporting on a foreign student studying at the CF Leadership and Recruit School in St. Jean. He also made reference to various personal and employment-related issues including references to ongoing grievances and complaints about his treatment by CF personnel.

The Sergeant of the CFNCIU HQ unit replied to the email the next day. In the reply email, the Sergeant cautioned the complainant about disclosing too much personal information and noted that, since there was some allegation of mistreatment in the email, she would be forwarding it to his chain of command for follow-up.

After receiving the Sergeant’s reply, the complainant made a complaint to the Canadian Forces Military Police Group/Professional Standards (PS). In the complaint, he objected to the fact that the Sergeant forwarded his email to his chain of command. He also criticized the tone of the Sergeant in the email. On November 22, 2012, the complainant sent a further email to the PS Major providing more information about the complaint. He details a lack of ethics and a conflict of interest on the part of the Sergeant in that she should not have become involved in his personal matters.

The Final Letter of Disposition from the Deputy Commander, Canadian Forces Military Police Group/Professional Standards (Deputy Commander) was sent to the Complainant on December 14, 2012. In the letter, it was noted the complainant had already discussed with an officer in the CFNCIU his dissatisfaction with the conduct of the Sergeant. The Deputy Commander further explained that the Sergeant had been spoken to by her supervisor, so a similar situation would not happen again. Therefore, since the complaint was already acted upon by the chain of command, the Deputy Commander directed there be no investigation of the complaint.

The complainant requested a review of this decision on January 26, 2013.

After having reviewed the relevant MP files and all the documentation provided by the complainant and the Deputy Commander, the Commission considered the specific context of this complaint; specifically, that the Sergeant was posted to the CFNCIU. The CFNCIU is a national unit which is not exclusively comprised of MPs. It specializes in security and counter intelligence activities. The unit is assigned to the Deputy Chief of the Defence Staff and is under the functional control of J2/Director General Intelligence, rather than under the command of the CFPM. This is not to say that all activities of MPs posted to the CFNCIU are necessarily outside the jurisdiction of the MPCC. However, the sending of an email to the CFNCIU, as the complainant did in this situation, cannot be seen in and of itself as a request for policing services. As such, the content of the email, combined with the fact that it was sent to the CFNCIU, reinforces the lack of jurisdiction in this case.

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-042-1

Le 10 octobre 2012, le plaignant a envoyé un courriel à partir de son compte personnel à un certain nombre de destinataires, dont au quartier général (QG) de l’Unité nationale de contre-ingérence des Forces canadiennes (UNCIFC), à Ottawa. Son message relatait des faits passés en lien avec un étudiant étranger de l’École de leadership et de recrues des FC, à St-Jean. Il faisait également mention de diverses affaires personnelles et professionnelles, notamment des griefs et des plaintes relatives à la manière dont il est traité par le personnel des FC.

La sergente du QG de l’UNCIFC a répondu au courriel le lendemain. Dans sa réponse, la sergente prévenait le plaignant de ne pas communiquer trop de renseignements personnels et signalait que, comme son courriel présentait des allégations de mauvais traitement, elle le transférerait à sa chaîne de commandement, aux fins de suivi.

Après avoir reçu la réponse de la sergente, le plaignant a déposé une plainte au Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes/Normes professionnelles (NP). Dans sa plainte, il protestait contre le fait que la sergente avait transmis son courriel à sa chaîne de commandement. Il se plaignait également du ton adopté par la sergente dans son courriel. Le 22 novembre 2012, le plaignant a transmis un autre courriel au major des NP afin de communiquer de plus amples renseignements sur sa plainte. Il y faisait état d’un manque d’éthique de la part de la sergente et d’un conflit d’intérêts, soulignant qu’elle n’aurait pas dû s’immiscer dans ses affaires personnelles.

La lettre de règlement définitif du commandant adjoint, Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes/Normes professionnelles a été transmise au plaignant le 14 décembre 2012. Dans la lettre, on mentionnait que le plaignant avait déjà discuté avec un officier de l’UNCIFC, de son insatisfaction relative à la conduite de la sergente. Le commandant adjoint ajoutait que la sergente avait été avertie à ce sujet par son superviseur. Dans ces conditions, compte tenu du fait que la plainte avait déjà été traitée par la chaîne de commandement, le commandant adjoint a donné l’instruction de ne pas enquêter au sujet de la plainte pour inconduite.

Le plaignant a présenté une demande de révision de cette décision le 26 janvier 2013.

Après examen du dossier pertinent de la PM ainsi que la documentation fournie par le plaignant et le commandant adjoint, la Commission a examiné le contexte particulier de cette plainte, notamment le fait que la sergente servait au sein de l’UNCIFC, une unité nationale dont l’effectif ne se compose pas exclusivement de PM et qui œuvre dans le domaine de la sécurité et de la contre-ingérence. L’unité relève du sous-chef d’état-major de la Défense et est placée sous le contrôle fonctionnel du J2/Directeur général. Cela ne signifie pas que toutes les activités des PM affectés à l’UNCIFC ne relèvent pas de la compétence de la CPPM. Toutefois, l’envoi d’un courriel à l’UNCIFC, comme l’a fait le plaignant dans la présente affaire, ne peut être interprété en soi comme une demande d’intervention policière.

En tant que tel, le contenu du courriel et le fait qu’il était destiné à l’UNCIFC a confirmé le défaut de compétence de la Commission dans cette affaire.

Date de modification :