MPCC-2012-035

In his complaint, the complainant criticized the adequacy of the investigation conducted in February 2012 by a member of the Military Police in relation to his allegations that some civilian staff and military members had used a high-frequency electromagnetic weapon against his person, causing him personal injury. More precisely, the complainant complained about the apparent inability of the subject to confirm the existence of the names on the list of persons he alleged were involved in the actions against him. According to the written account, the subject had conducted a search in the National Defence database but had been unable to find any of the names provided by the complainant.

The complainant moreover submitted that “anonymous sources” had spoken to him about the weapon used and had indicated that the electromagnetic shocks he was receiving were being administered by a person working in “sector 5” at CFB Valcartier. On February 7, 2012, the complainant wrote a letter to the Commander of CFB Valcartier to ask him to deal with the matter. The Base Commander’s office forwarded the letter to the Military Police. The investigator consequently contacted the complainant and was apprised of the complainant’s allegations.

On August 23, 2012, the Deputy Commander of the Canadian Forces Military Police Group, the representative of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal for matters involving MP professional standards, wrote to the complainant to advise him that the investigator’s review of the actions revealed no breaches of the Military Police Professional Code of Conduct or the Military Police Policies and Technical Procedures. The Deputy Commander determined that there was no need to investigate any further or take further action.

In a letter dated September 23, 2012, the complainant asked that his misconduct complaint be reviewed.

Upon reviewing the file, the Commission noted that, in his investigation, the subject MP had pointed out that the complainant had no evidence of the alleged injuries despite the fact that he had indicated that he had undergone a number of medical examinations. In addition, the MP had contacted the complainant’s father, who had told him that the complainant had received a diagnosis of “severe psychosis.” Additionally, the complainant’s father had stated that his son had stopped taking his medication and was refusing to see a doctor.

The subject MP determined that the complainant’s allegations were the result of mental health problems and brought the matter to a close on that basis. The Deputy Commander of the Canadian Forces Military Police Group approved the manner in which the investigator had dealt with the file and concluded that no further investigation was needed or reasonably possible under the circumstances. The Commission agreed with this outcome.

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-035

Dans sa plainte, le plaignant a critiqué la justesse de l’enquête menée en février 2012 par un membre de la police militaire relativement à ses allégations selon lesquelles certains membres du personnel civil et militaire avaient utilisé une arme électromagnétique à haute fréquence contre sa personne, lui causant des lésions corporelles. Plus précisément, le plaignant s’est plaint de l’incapacité apparente du sujet de confirmer l’existence des noms figurant sur la liste de personnes qui participaient selon lui aux activités contre lui. D’après le compte-rendu écrit, le sujet avait fait une recherche dans la base de données de la Défense nationale, mais n’a trouvé aucun des noms fournis par le plaignant.

Le plaignant avançait en outre que des «  sources anonymes  » lui avaient parlé de l’arme utilisée et avaient indiqué que les chocs électromagnétiques qu’il subissait étaient provoqués par une personne travaillant dans le «  secteur 5  » de la BFC Valcartier. Le 7 février 2012, le plaignant a écrit une lettre au Commandant de la BFC Valcartier afin de lui demander de s’occuper de la situation. Le bureau du Commandant de la base a transféré la lettre à la police militaire. C’est ainsi que l’enquêteur est entré en contact avec le plaignant et a pris connaissance de ses allégations.

Le 23 août 2012, le représentant du Grand prévôt des forces canadiennes en ce qui a trait aux normes professionnelles de la PM, le Commandant adjoint du Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes, a écrit au plaignant pour l’aviser que l’étude des actions par l’enquêteur n’avait révélé aucune infraction au Code de déontologie de la police militaire ni aux Consignes et procédures techniques de la police militaire. Le Commandant adjoint a décidé qu’il n’y avait pas lieu de pousser l’enquête ou de prendre d’autres mesures.

Dans une lettre datée du 23 septembre 2012, le plaignant demanda que sa plainte pour inconduite fasse l’objet d’un examen.

En examinant le dossier, la Commission a remarqué dans cette enquête, que le sujet PM avait indiqué que le plaignant n’avait aucune preuve des blessures alléguées, malgré le fait qu’il avait déclaré avoir subi un certain nombre d’examens médicaux. De plus, la PM avait communiqué avec le père du plaignant, qui lui a appris que le plaignant avait reçu un diagnostic de «  psychose sévère  ». De plus, le père du plaignant avait indiqué que son fils avait cessé de prendre ses médicaments et refusait de voir un médecin.

Le sujet PM a déterminé que les allégations du plaignant s’expliquaient par son trouble de santé mental et a conclu l’affaire en fonction de cela. Le Commandant adjoint du Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes a approuvé la manière dont l’enquêteur a traité le dossier et conclu qu’aucune autre enquête n’était nécessaire ou raisonnement possible dans ces circonstances. La Commission est en accord avec cette conclusion.

Date de modification :