MPCC-2006-032, MPCC-2006-033, MPCC-2006-037

Following a Department of National Defence (DND) audit investigation, a criminal investigation of the complainant was undertaken by the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (CFNIS). As a result of the CFNIS investigation, the complainant was arrested and charged with one count of fraud on the government and one count of breach of trust by a public officer under the Criminal Code of Canada. The complainant pled guilty to one count of fraud on the government contrary to paragraph 121(1) (c) of the Criminal Code of Canada (government employee accepting an unauthorized benefit from anyone having dealings with that government) and received a conditional discharge.

The complainant made the following six allegations against the CFNIS investigation:

As the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal’s (CFPM’s) delegate, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards (DPM PS) was tasked with investigating the complainant’s allegations. Following the completion of the investigation, the DPM PS issued its report and findings. The complainant then requested the Commission review this report in accordance with the National Defence Act (NDA) section 250.31.

Prior to its review of the complaint, the DPM PS investigation and report in this case became the subject of new complaints from two other individuals.

Due to the voluminous nature of the information associated with these three complaints, their related fact patterns, and in the interests of economy and efficiency, the Commission proposed, and the CFPM agreed, that the investigation of these three complaints should be conducted jointly. However, this significantly complicated and lengthened the timeline of this investigation which involved the review of thousands of pages of evidence and many recorded interview tapes, as well as interviewing multiple witnesses.

The Commission carried out a comprehensive and lengthy investigation and determined none of the complainant’s six allegations were substantiated. However, the Commission did find the inaccuracies and imprecisions in various reports and other documentation prepared during the course of the CFNIS investigation, including documents presented to prosecutorial and judicial authorities, were the result of: investigator inexperience; deficient methodology used by the investigators to prepare interview summaries; and inadequate supervisory and quality assurance practices in the CFNIS Special Investigations detachment at the time.

The Commission recommendations, which were accepted by the CFPM, involved policy, procedures, training, and supervision matters. For example:

The two other complaints pertaining to the DPM PS investigation and report involved multiple allegations generally concerning scope, completeness, objectivity and supervision. For example, it was alleged the DPM PS failed to effectively monitor and supervise the PS investigation; and the DPM PS investigation failed to interview CFNIS personnel including the primary investigator.

The Commission found some of these allegations were substantiated. For example, the Commission found that the DPM PS investigation was deficient in failing to interview personnel who supervised the CFNIS investigation.

Date modified:

CPPM-2006-032, CPPM-2006-033, CPPM-2006-037

Par suite d’une enquête de vérification du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) a mené une enquête criminelle. Le plaignant a ensuite été arrêté; un chef d’accusation fut porté contre lui pour fraude envers le gouvernement, et un autre chef pour bris de confiance par un fonctionnaire, aux termes du Code criminel du Canada. Le plaignant a plaidé coupable au chef d’accusation de fraude envers le gouvernement, au sens de l’alinéa 121(1)c) du Code (employé du gouvernement qui accepte un bénéfice non autorisé de quiconque ayant des relations d’affaires avec le gouvernement). Il s’est vu accorder une absolution conditionnelle.

Le plaignant a fait les allégations concernant l’enquête du SNEFC :

En sa qualité de délégué du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC), le grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles (GPA NP) a fait enquête sur ces allégations. Il a ensuite présenté son rapport et ses conclusions. Le plaignant a demandé à la Commission d’examiner sa plainte aux termes de l’article 250.31 de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Cependant, avant qu’on entreprenne l’examen de la plainte, l’enquête par le GPA NP et le rapport s’y rattachant ont fait l’objet de nouvelles plaintes déposées par deux autres personnes.

En raison du fort volume d’information relative à ces trois plaintes ainsi que les interrelations, et par souci d’économie et d’efficacité, la Commission a proposé de mener une seule enquête pour ces trois plaintes; le GPFC a accepté. Cependant, cette nouvelle équation est venue compliquer et prolonger considérablement l’enquête, qui consistait en l’examen de milliers de pages et en l’écoute de nombreuses heures d’entrevues sur bande sonore, de même qu’à entendre de nombreux témoins.

La Commission a examiné longuement et en profondeur les plaintes et déterminé qu’aucune des six allégations n’était fondée. Toutefois, elle a relevé des inexactitudes et des imprécisions dans divers rapports et documents préparés durant l’enquête, dont des documents transmis à la poursuite et aux autorités judiciaires. Ces inexactitudes et ces imprécisions étaient dues au manque d’expérience des enquêteurs, à des lacunes dans la méthodologie servant à préparer les résumés d’entrevues, ainsi qu’à des pratiques de supervision et d’assurance de la qualité inadéquates employées au Détachement des enquêtes spéciales du SNEFC à l’époque.

Les recommandations de la Commission, acceptées par le GPFC, touchaient les politiques, les procédures, la formation et la supervision :

Les deux autres plaintes touchant l’enquête et le rapport du GPA NP comportaient de multiples allégations relatives entre autres à la portée, à l’intégralité, à l’objectivité et à la supervision. Par exemple, le GPA NP n’aurait pas efficacement coordonné et supervisé l’enquête par les Normes professionnelles, et aurait omis d’interroger le personnel du SNEFC, dont l’enquêteur principal.

La Commission a conclu que certaines des allégations étaient fondées, notamment que le GPA NP n’avait pas interrogé le personnel du SNEFC qui supervisait l’enquête du SNEFC.

Date de modification :