MPCC-2010-031

This complaint involved allegations from a former military police (MP) member that certain of his former MP superiors had maintained a “shadow file” containing copies of selected records from the complainant’s Canadian Forces (CF) personnel file which cast the complainant in an unfavourable light, and that information from this “shadow file” was improperly provided to a prospective employer, which resulted in the complainant not getting a job. The complainant alleged that the MP members in question acted maliciously on the basis of an internal CF harassment complaint which the complainant had made against them.

The complainant’s allegations had already led to an investigation by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner, a CF unit summary investigation and an investigative assessment by the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service (CFNIS). The overall result of these investigations was that breaches of privacy rules were identified; however, since the complainant had signed a consent form with the prospective employer authorizing the collection of personal information, and since the CFNIS assessment did not reveal malicious intentions on the part of the subjects, a criminal/service offence investigation was not pursued. 

In disposing of the complainant’s MP conduct complaint, the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards (DPM PS) indicated that, since the alleged misconduct related to purely administrative matters, rather than the performance of “policing duties or functions” (per subsection 250.18(1) of the National Defence Act (NDA)), the complaint was outside the DPM PS’s mandate to investigate.

As a result of its review of the complaint, the Commission concluded that the DPM PS was correct in its assessment that the complaint did not relate to the performance of “policing duties or functions” under NDA subsection 250.18(1) and related regulations. As such, the complaint did not constitute a valid MP conduct complaint for the purposes of NDA Part IV.

Despite its finding that the complaint did not fall within NDA scheme for MP conduct complaints, in an observation the Commission expressed concern with the DPM PS’s apparent suggestion that he lacked the mandate to otherwise investigate the complaint. The Commission noted its understanding that the Military Police Professional Code of Conduct (MP Code of Conduct) – which the DPM PS, on behalf of the CF Provost Marshal (CFPM), is mandated to enforce – applied beyond the ambit of “policing duties or functions”. Alternatively, the CFPM could forward the complaint to the subject MPs chain of command.

In his response to the Commission’s interim report, the CFPM accepted the essential point of the Commission`s observation that the complainant should have been informed regarding the possibility of an internal professional standards investigation. (i.e., one conducted outside of the framework of the NDA Part IV). The DPM PS subsequently advised the complainant and the Commission that it had been decided not to conduct such an investigation in this case.

Date modified:

CPPM-2010-031

La présente plainte concernait les allégations d’un ancien policier militaire (PM), qui affirmait que certains de ses anciens supérieurs à la police militaire avaient tenu un « dossier parallèle » à son sujet renfermant des copies de documents sélectionnés tirés de son dossier d’employé des Forces canadiennes (FC) et qui le faisaient mal paraître. Les allégations portaient également sur le fait que des renseignements contenus dans ce « dossier parallèle » auraient été irrégulièrement transmis à un éventuel employeur de sorte que le plaignant n’a pas décroché un emploi. Le plaignant allègue que les PM mis en cause ont agi de façon malveillante en raison d’une plainte de harcèlement interne qu’il a déposée à leur égard aux FC.

Les allégations du plaignant avaient déjà donné lieu à une enquête par le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, à une enquête sommaire par une unité des FC et à une évaluation par le Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC). Ces enquêtes ont généralement établi l’existence d’atteintes aux règles de confidentialité. Toutefois, puisque le plaignant avait signé un formulaire de consentement auprès de l’employeur éventuel l’autorisant à recueillir des renseignements confidentiels, et compte tenu du fait que l’évaluation du SNEFC n’a pas révélé d’intention malveillante chez les personnes mises en cause, aucune enquête relative à une infraction criminelle ou d’ordre militaire n’a été menée.

Le grand prévôt adjoint – Normes professionnelles (GPA NP) a indiqué, dans sa décision relative à la plainte pour inconduite d’un PM, que la prétendue inconduite n’entrait pas dans son mandat d’enquêter puisqu’elle relevait de questions purement administratives plutôt que de l’exercice des « fonctions de nature policière » (aux termes du paragraphe 250.18(1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN)).

À la suite de sa révision de la plainte, la Commission est arrivée à la conclusion que c’est à bon droit que le GPA NP avait évalué que la plainte ne portait pas sur l’exercice de « fonctions de nature policière » aux termes du paragraphe 250.18(1) de la LDN et des règlements qui y sont connexes. Ainsi, la plainte ne constituait pas une plainte valide portant sur la conduite d’un PM au sens de la partie IV de la LDN.

Malgré qu’elle ait conclu que la plainte n’était pas visée par le mécanisme prévu dans la LDN relativement aux plaintes pour inconduite, la Commission a émis des réserves dans un commentaire quant à l’affirmation du GPA NP selon laquelle il n’avait apparemment d’aucune façon le mandat d’enquêter sur la plainte. La Commission a noté qu’à son avis le Code de déontologie de la police militaire, code que le GPA NP doit mettre en œuvre au nom du grand prévôt des FC (GPFC), avait une portée plus large que les « fonctions de nature policière ». À défaut, le GPFC pourrait transmettre la plainte à la chaîne de commandement des PM visés par la plainte. 

Dans sa réponse au rapport intérimaire de la Commission, le GPFC a accepté le point essentiel de l’observation de la Commission selon laquelle le plaignant aurait dû être informé de la possibilité d’une enquête interne par les normes professionnelles (c.-à-d., une enquête menée hors du cadre de la partie IV de la LDN). Le GPA NP a ultérieurement informé le plaignant et la Commission qu’il avait été décidé de ne pas mener une telle enquête en l’espèce.

Date de modification :