MPCC-2013-031

On August 29, 2013, the complainant, himself a military police member (MP), filed a complaint with the Office of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM). His complaint related to the actions of a Military Police Credentials Review Board official (subject no. 1) and of a senior MP commander (subject no. 2).

Both of the allegations pertained to the handling of the complainant’s case before the MPCRB. In the case of subject no. 1, the complainant alleged that he improperly modified the documents filed with the MPCRB. In the case of subject no. 2, the complainant took issue with unprofessional language contained in an email response to a message from the complainant raising concerns about the MPCRB documentary record. The email in question from subject no. 2 had been unintentionally sent to the complainant as well as to subject no. 2’s deputy.

In a letter dated September 25, 2013, the CF MP Group Deputy Commander (Deputy Commander) dismissed the complaint for the reasons which follow. In response to the allegation against subject no. 1, the Deputy Commander noted that, as the individual is – and at all material times has been – a civilian, he cannot be the subject of an MP conduct complaint under Part IV of the NDA. With respect to the allegation against subject no. 2, the Deputy Commander determined that the email in question constituted administrative activity, rather than a “policing duty or function” within the meaning of subsection 250.18(1) of the NDA and the regulations made thereunder. As such, such activity could not be the subject of an MP conduct complaint.

In correspondence received October 8, 2013, the complainant requested a review of his complaint by the Commission pursuant to section 250.31 of the NDA.

Having reviewed the relevant MP files and all the documentation provided by the complainant and the office of the CF MP Group Deputy Commander, the Commission is satisfied with the decision by the Deputy Commander that no MP professional standards investigation be pursued in this matter.

With regard to the allegation against subject no. 1, the legislation is clear that only someone who was an MP at the time of the impugned conduct can be the subject of an MP conduct complaint; whereas this individual was a civilian. Moreover, even if the conduct allegations at issue had been made against someone who was an MP at the time – as is obviously the case with subject no. 2 – it is clear that the handling of documents by the MPCRB, and any email discussions thereon, are administrative matters, and therefore cannot be the subject of a conduct complaint under NDA section 250.18.

Date modified:

CPPM-2013-031

Le 29 août 2013, le plaignant, qui est membre de la police militaire (PM), a déposé une plainte auprès du bureau du Grand Prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC). Sa plainte portait sur les actes posés par le Comité de révision des attestations de police militaire (CRAPM) officiel (sujet no 1) et par un commandant supérieur des PM (sujet no 2).

Les deux allégations étaient liées au traitement du cas du plaignant par le CRAPM. Dans le cas du sujet no 1, le plaignant allègue qu’il aurait modifié de façon irrégulière les documents déposés auprès du CRAPM. Dans le cas du sujet no 2, le plaignant a critiqué l’utilisation d’un langage non professionnel dans une réponse par courriel à ses préoccupations à l’égard du dossier documentaire du CRAPM. Le courriel en question, qui provenait du sujet no 2, avait été envoyé par erreur au plaignant ainsi qu’à l’adjoint du sujet no 2.

Dans une lettre datée du 25 septembre 2013, le commandant adjoint de la PM des FC a rejeté la plainte pour les motifs suivants. En réponse à l’allégation contre le sujet no 1, le commandant adjoint a déclaré qu’étant donné que la personne est, et a été durant toute la période pertinente, un civil, il ne peut faire l’objet d’une plainte relative à la conduite de la PM conformément à la partie IV de la LDN. En ce qui concerne l’allégation contre le sujet no 2, le commandant adjoint a conclu que le courriel en question était de nature administrative, plutôt que de nature policière au sens du paragraphe 250.18(1) de la LDN et des règlements qui en découlent. À ce titre, une telle activité ne peut pas faire l’objet d’une plainte relative à la conduite de la PM.

Dans la correspondance reçue le 8 octobre 2013, le plaignant demandait que la Commission examine sa plainte en vertu de l’article 250.31 de la LDN.

Après avoir examiné les dossiers pertinents de la PM et tous les documents fournis par le plaignant et le bureau du commandant adjoint de la PM des FC, la Commission est satisfaite de la décision du commandant adjoint selon laquelle il n’y aura aucune enquête sur les normes professionnelles de la PM dans cette affaire.

Pour ce qui est de l’allégation contre le sujet no 1, la Loi mentionne clairement que seule une personne occupant le poste de PM au moment du comportement reproché peut faire l’objet d’une plainte relative à la conduite de la PM. Le sujet no 1 était un civil. De plus, même si les allégations en question avaient été faites contre un PM à l’époque, ce qui est évidemment le cas pour le sujet no 2, il est clair que la façon dont le CRAPM a traité les documents, et toute discussion par courriel à ce sujet, sont de nature administrative et ne peuvent donc faire l’objet d’une plainte, conformément à l’article 250.18 de la LDN.

Date de modification :