MPCC-2012-030

The complainant sent copies of a letter dated July 5, 2012 to various offices of the Canadian Forces (CF) as well as the Commission. The letter generally related to the complainant’s release from the CF in 2006 on medical grounds, but contained wide-ranging allegations against government officials. (In terms of the MP-related allegations in this letter, the Commission denied the complainant’s request for an extension of the one year limitation period specified by section 250.2 of the NDA.)

As a result of receipt of the complainant’s letter by the CF, two Corporals of the local Military Police (MP) Unit were assigned to look into the matter. Their initial research on provincial police databases indicated that the complainant required long term medical care and was flagged as a high risk for violence. On July 12, 2012, the two Corporals attended the complainant’s residence to follow up on the letter, and at the request of the complainant, met with him in a park near his residence.

After a period of discussion with the complainant, the two Corporals determined the complainant was not a threat to himself or others, and ended the meeting.

On July 13, 2012, in a new letter to the Commission the complainant made allegations against the two Corporals concerning what he said was his illegal and forced detention at a Park on July 12, 2012. The Commission forwarded the letter to the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal (CFPM) for investigation in the first instance.

On July 20, 2012, the CFPM’s delegate for MP Professional Standards, the Deputy Commander CF MP Group, wrote to the complainant to advise his review of the complaint concerning his illegal and forced detention had led to a determination that no investigation or further action be undertaken in respect of this complaint, as he deemed the complaint to be frivolous.

The complainant requested a review by the Commission in a letter dated October 28, 2012.

Having reviewed the relevant MP file and conducted interviews with the relevant witnesses, the Commission was satisfied the two Corporals acted appropriately in meeting with the complainant on July 12, 2012. The complainant’s participation in the meeting appears to have been informed and voluntary and took place in public. No physical contact was made to keep him at the meeting, nor does there appear to have been any psychological coercion, including no evidence of threats of arrest or detention made by the MPs.

The Commission confirmed the Deputy Commander’s determination not to pursue this complaint further. While the Deputy Commander chose to rely upon subsection 250.28(2)(a) of the NDA finding that “the complaint is frivolous, vexatious or made in bad faith”, it is the opinion of the Commission that subsection 250.28(2)(c) of NDA may have been a more appropriate statutory section to use in the circumstances: “having regard to all the circumstances, investigation or further investigation is not necessary or reasonably practicable.”

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-030

Le 5 juillet 2012, le plaignant a fait parvenir une lettre à différents bureaux des Forces canadiennes (FC), ainsi qu’à la Commission. En gros, la lettre portait sur la libération du plaignant des FC pour des raisons médicales, en 2006; elle contenait toutefois diverses allégations concernant des représentants du gouvernement. (Selon les termes allégués du PM dans cette lettre, la Commission a refusé la demande du plaignant de prolongation de la période maximale d’un an prescrite par l’article 250.2 de la LDN.)

Après avoir reçu la lettre du plaignant, les FC ont assigné deux caporaux de l’unité de la police militaire locale pour vérifier le dossier. Leur recherche initiale dans les banques de données provinciales leur a indiqué que le plaignant avait besoin de soins médicaux à long terme et qu’il avait été désigné comme posant un risque élevé de violence. Le 12 juillet 2012, les deux caporaux se sont présentés à la résidence du plaignant pour donner suite à la lettre; à la demande du plaignant, la rencontre a eu lieu dans un parc près de chez lui.

Après avoir discuté avec le plaignant, les deux caporaux ont conclu qu’il ne posait pas de danger pour lui-même ou les autres et ils ont mis fin à leur visite.

Le 13 juillet 2012, dans une nouvelle lettre adressée à la Commission, le plaignant a prétendu que les deux caporaux l’ont retenu illégalement et contre son gré dans un parc, le 12 juillet 2012. La Commission a transmis la lettre au Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC) pour une enquête en première instance.

Le 20 juillet 2012, le délégué du GPFC aux Normes professionnelles de la PM, le commandant adjoint du Groupe de la Police militaire des Forces canadiennes, a écrit au plaignant pour lui indiquer qu’après un examen de la plainte concernant la détention illégale et forcée, il avait déterminé qu’aucune enquête n’aurait lieu et qu’aucune autre mesure ne serait prise concernant la plainte en question, puisqu’il jugeait la plainte frivole.

Dans une lettre datée du 28 octobre 2012, le plaignant a réclamé que la Commission fasse un examen.

Après avoir étudié les dossiers pertinents de la PM et mené des entrevues avec les témoins concernés, la Commission a conclu que les deux caporaux ont agi de façon appropriée durant leur rencontre avec le plaignant, le 12 juillet 2012. Le plaignant semble avoir participé volontairement et en toute connaissance de cause à la rencontre, qui s’est déroulée en public. Rien ne porte à croire qu’il y a eu contact physique pour retenir le plaignant à la rencontre, ou de coercition psychologique, y compris des menaces d’arrestation ou de détention formulées par les membres de la PM.

La Commission a confirmé la détermination du commandant adjoint de ne pas poursuivre cette affaire. Bien que le commandant adjoint ait choisi d’invoquer le paragraphe 250.28(2)(a) de la LDN, parce qu’il jugeait la plainte futile ou vexatoire ou ayant été portée de mauvaise foi, la Commission considère que le paragraphe 250.28(2)(c) de la LDN est plus approprié dans le cas présent : « compte tenu des circonstances, il est inutile ou exagérément difficile de procéder à l’enquête ou de la poursuivre. »

Date de modification :