MPCC-2007-029

The MP complainant alleged that there was collusion amongst various members of his MP unit to get as many members as possible to complain about various incidents that had taken place over the past seven years, with the intent of causing him harm. The subject MPs were alleged to have either conducted investigations themselves or had investigations launched to get revenge or to serve their personal interests. There were three investigations underway, including two harassment investigations and one relating to his handling of the procurement of equipment and assault. He further alleged that the subjects breached the rules of the MP Professional Code of Conduct, breached or failed to comply with the professional standards, and failed to comply with the Harassment Prevention and Resolution Guidelines.

After reviewing the material and information provided by the complainant, the Commission determined that the investigations at issue were internal unit matters of an administrative nature, rather than law enforcement investigations. As such, the Commission found that the complaint did not relate to “policing duties and functions” within the meaning of the applicable provisions in Part IV of the National Defence Act governing the Military Police complaint procedure.

Consequently, the Commission agrees with the analysis of the Deputy Provost Marshal, Professional Standards in his letter of September 6, 2007, and has accordingly decided not to proceed with a more thorough investigation in relation to this complaint.

Date modified:

CPPM-2007-029

La plaignant PM allègue que dans un but de lui faire du tort, il y a eu collusion entre divers membres de son unité de PM pour que le plus de membres possibles se plaignent de divers incidents ayant eu lieu au cours des sept dernières années. Les sujets PM ont allégué avoir soit, conduit eux même ou ont fait déclencher des enquêtes dans un but de vengeance ou pour servir leurs intérêts personnels. Il y avait trois enquêtes en cours dont deux pour harcèlement et une sur sa façon de gérer l’achat d’équipement et pour voie de fait. Il allègue aussi que les sujets ont enfreint les règles du Code de déontologie de la PM, ont fait preuve de manquements et non-respect des normes professionnelles et n’ont pas respecté les lignes directrices sur la prévention et la résolution du harcèlement.

Après avoir examiné les documents et les renseignements que le plaignant a fournis, la Commission a déterminé que les enquêtes en cause étaient des questions d'unité internes de nature administrative, plutôt que des enquêtes en application de la loi. Ainsi, la Commission a conclu que la plainte ne porte pas sur l’exercice de « fonctions de nature policière », au sens des dispositions applicables de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale qui régissent la procédure relative aux plaintes concernant la police militaire.

Par conséquent, la Commission est d’accord avec l’analyse du Grand prévôt adjoint, Normes professionnelles dans sa lettre du 6 septembre 2007 et, en conséquence, la Commission a décidé de ne pas procéder à une enquête plus approfondie au sujet de cette plainte.

Date de modification :