MPCC-2006-024

This complaint arose following a search of the complainant’s residence on June 13, 2003, which was conducted by members of the local municipal police, the RCMP and the CFNIS. This search resulted in the seizure of a significant number of marijuana plants and a quantity of dried marijuana. The complainant was a civilian contractor who worked on local military base but resided off-base. Both the complainant and his spouse were arrested by the RCMP for offences under the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (CDSA). The CFNIS informed the base Provost Marshal (who is also the security officer) of the charges and, as a result, the complainant lost the necessary security clearance for his work on the base and was then laid-off by his employer.

On March 10, 2004, the complainant made an initial complaint to the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards (DPM PS), alleging that CFNIS members do not have the authority or jurisdiction to be involved in a civilian police criminal drug investigation of a civilian contractor who was living off DND property in a private residence. He further alleged that neither the Officer Commanding the CFNIS detachment, nor the CFNIS investigator had any authority or jurisdiction to inform the chain of command of the results of a police drug investigation of a civilian. It was further alleged that the then Officer Commanding the CFNIS detachment improperly reported that the complainant was “trafficking” in marijuana. In the complainant’s view, the improper and unauthorized involvement of members of CFNIS and members of the Military Police from the local military base in a police investigation of a civilian led to the complainant’s loss of employment.

Following a preliminary review of the complaint, the DPM PS determined that no investigation would be ordered. In accordance with subsection 250.31 (1) of the National Defence Act (NDA), on June 10, 2004, the complainant requested a review by the Military Police Complaints Commission (the Commission). On July 27, 2005 the Commission recommended that the complaint be investigated under Part IV of the NDA, which the DPM PS accepted.

On March 20, 2006, after having conducted an investigation into the allegations, the DPM PS advised the complainant that none of his allegations were substantiated. On July 14, 2006, the complainant requested a review by the Commission of the disposition of his complaint by the DPM PS, pursuant to subsection 250.31(1) of the NDA.

After a review of all documents received from the CFPM and interviews conducted by MPCC investigators, the Commission determined that the CFNIS investigators and the local Military Police Detachment had the authority, jurisdiction and duty to be involved in a civilian police investigation. The Commission also determined that the Officer Commanding the CFNIS Detachment and the investigator had the authority and duty to inform the base Provost Marshal. As such, the Commission found that the complaint was not founded.

Date modified:

CPPM-2006-024

Cette plainte fait suite à une fouille de la résidence du plaignant qui a eu lieu le 13 juin 2013, laquelle a été faite par un membre de la police locale municipal, la GRC et le SNEFC. Cette fouille fait suite à une saisie significative de plantes de marijuana et à une quantité de marijuana sèche. Le plaignant était un entrepreneur civil qui travaillait sur la base militaire locale, mais qui résidait en dehors de celle-ci. Le plaignant et son épouse ont tous les deux été arrêtés par la GRC pour des infractions commises sous la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances. Le SNEFC a avisé la base du Grand prévôt (qui est aussi un officier de sécurité) des charges et, par la suite, le plaigant a perdu sa cote de sécurité pour son travail sur la base et a donc été congédié par son employeur.

Le 10 mars 2004, le plaignant a déposé une plainte initiale au Grand prévôt adjoint, Normes professionnelles (GPA NP), où il prétend que des membres du SNEFC ont pris part à une enquête criminelle en matière de stupéfiants menée par la police civile , sans en avoir l’autorité ou la compétence. Le suspect était un entrepreneur civil vivant dans une résidence privée qui n’est pas située sur un terrain appartenant au MDN. Il a de plus allégué que ni le commandant du détachement du SNEFC, ni l’enquêteur du SNEFC n’avaient l’autorité ou la compétence pour informer la chaîne de commandement des résultats d’une enquête en matière de stupéfiants menée par la police sur un civil. Le plaignant prétend également que le commandant du détachement du SNEFC, aurait signalé à tort que le plaignant s’adonnait au trafic de marijuana. Selon le plaignant, la participation inappropriée et non autorisée des membres du SNEFC, et de certains membres de la police militaire de la base militaire locale à une enquête policière d’une personne civile aurait entraîné le congédiement du plaignant.

À la suite d’un examen préliminaire de la plainte, le GPA NP a décidé qu’aucune enquête ne serait menée. Le 10 juin 2004, conformément au paragraphe 250.31 (1) de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN), le plaignant a réclamé que la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission) effectue un examen de sa plainte. Le 27 juillet 2005, la Commission a recommandé qu’une enquête soit menée en vertu de la partie IV de la LDN, ce que le GPA NP a accepté.

Le 20 mars 2006, à la suite d’une enquête relative aux faits allégués, le GPA NP a signalé au plaignant qu’aucune de ses allégations n’était fondée. Le 14 juillet 2006, le plaignant a réclamé que la Commission examine la décision du GPA NP, conformément au paragraphe 250.31(1) de la LDN.

Après un examen de tous les documents reçus de la part du GPFC et des entrevues menées par les enquêteurs de la CEPPM, la Commission a conclu que les enquêteurs du SNEFC, et du détachement de la police militaire locale avaient l’autorité et le devoir de participer à l’enquête de la police civile. La Commission a également conclu que le commandant du détachement du SNEFC, et l’enquêteur avaient l’autorité et le devoir d’informer la base du Grand prévôt. Ainsi, la Commission a déterminé que la plainte était non fondée.

Date de modification :