MPCC-2013-023

On July 13, 2013, the complainant, himself a Military Police (MP) member at the time, made a number of conduct and interference complaints with the Military Police Complaints Commission (the Commission). These complaints related to the actions of a Warrant Officer (WO) and raised several matters related to the general and daily operations at the MP Detachment.

The allegations in this specific complaint relate to an incident that occurred in the winter of 2013, when the WO was delivering a pizza as part of a second job he had taken for personal financial reasons. The complainant alleged that, in the course of this employment, the WO facilitated a woman’s violation of a judicial no-contact order by forwarding half a pizza to her former spouse, despite an active domestic assault investigation involving the two parties by the MP Detachment. The complainant further alleges the WO then failed to report this “known information about a breach of recognizance (conditions)” to his MP colleagues until the next day.

Having reviewed this complaint and relevant file material, the Commission determined this matter does not fall within the statutory definition of a conduct complaint subject to review by this Commission.

While the WO was an MP member at the time of the alleged events, the conduct at issue did not relate to the exercise of any of the policing duties or functions listed in the legislation.

Rather, the subject MP’s conduct occurred while the WO was off duty, engaged in other employment. If the WO did act as alleged in the complaint (and this has not been determined one way or the other by this Commission), it is clear these actions did not take place in the context of any policing duties or functions, and did not involve theWO putting himself on duty or invoking his status or responsibilities as an MP member. In other words, it is not for the Commission to pass judgment on the WO’s alleged actions, as they did not relate to policing.

Consequently, the Commission agrees with the determination of the Deputy Commander that no investigation is necessary in this case, as the complaint is not a valid conduct complaint within the meaning of National Defence Act (NDA) Part IV.

Date modified:

CPPM-2013-023

Le 13 juillet 2013, le plaignant, lui-même membre de la police militaire (PM) au moment des faits, a déposé un certain nombre de plaintes d'inconduite et d'ingérence à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission). Les plaintes en question concernaient des actions posées par un adjudant et ont soulevé des questions au sujet du déroulement général et quotidien des activités au détachement de PM.

Les allégations formulées dans la plainte dont il est ici question se rapportent à un incident survenu au cours de l'hiver 2013, alors que l'adjudant avait décroché un deuxième emploi comme livreur de pizza pour des motifs financiers personnels. Le plaignant allègue que l'adjudant aurait, dans le cadre de cet emploi, permis à une femme de déroger à une ordonnance judiciaire de non-communication en acceptant de livrer la moitié d'une pizza à son ancien conjoint, alors que le détachement de PM menait une enquête sur des accusations de voies de fait conjugales impliquant les deux parties. Le plaignant ajoute que l'adjudant n'a signalé ce manquement aux conditions d'un engagement à ses collègues de la PM que le lendemain.

Après avoir étudié la plainte et les renseignements pertinents au dossier, la Commission a déterminé que celle-ci ne correspond pas à la définition statutaire d'une plainte relevant de sa compétence.

Bien que l'adjudant était membre de la PM au moment des faits allégués, la conduite en cause dans la plainte dont il est ici question n'a aucun lien avec l'exercice de fonctions de nature policière énumérées dans la loi.

Les faits se sont plutôt produits alors que l'adjudant n'était pas en service et qu'il exerçait les fonctions d'un autre emploi. Si l'adjudant a bel et bien agi comme il est décrit dans la plainte (ce que la Commission n'a pas réussi à établir), il est évident que les actions en cause n'avaient pas de lien avec des fonctions de nature policière et que l'adjudant ne les a pas posées alors qu'il était en service et n'a pas invoqué son statut ou ses responsabilités en tant que membre de la PM. En d'autres mots, il ne revient pas à la Commission de juger les actions attribuées à l'adjudant, puisque celles-ci ne sont pas liées à ses fonctions policières.

Par conséquent, la Commission, comme le commandant adjoint, est d'avis qu'une enquête n'est pas nécessaire dans ce cas, puisqu'il ne s'agit pas d'une plainte valide au sens de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN).

Date de modification :