MPCC-2009-022

The complainant wrote to the Military Police Complaints Commission (the Commission) on various occasions requesting that the Commission expand the scope of its then ongoing public interest hearings regarding detainee transfers by the Canadian Forces (CF) to Afghan security forces to include an examination of CF detainee transfers in Afghanistan to U.S. forces. He requested answers to the following questions:

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards (DPM PS) responded that his office would not take further action in this matter on the basis that there was “no indication of alleged wrongdoing by military police personnel…” In response to the DPM PS’ assessment, the complainant submitted a request for review to the Commission.

While the Commission agreed with the complainant that the handling of detainees is a traditional responsibility of military police personnel, it is not exclusive to military police. The information available to the Commission suggests that, while CF personnel did transfer Afghan detainees in the period between 2002 and 2005, there was a very limited number of military police serving in-theatre in that period. The Commission takes allegations of that nature very seriously, as should be evident from the Commission’s public interest hearing into similar complaints by Amnesty International Canada and the BC Civil Liberties Association. However, the Commission has no mandate to act on allegations absent any indication of military police involvement, therefore lacked the authority to investigate the complaint further.

Date modified:

CPPM-2009-022

Le plaignant a écrit à la Commission d’examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission) à plusieurs reprises, pour réclamer que la Commission élargisse la portée des audiences d’intérêt public, qui se déroulaient alors au sujet du transfert des détenus afghans par les Forces canadiennes (FC) aux forces de sécurité afghanes, pour inclure un examen des transferts des détenus des FC aux forces américaines en Afghanistan. Le plaignant réclamait des réponses aux questions suivantes :

Le Grand prévôt adjoint – Normes professionnelles (GPA NP) a répondu qu’il ne répondrait pas à cette demande, parce qu’il n’y avait aucune « indication du manquement présumé de la part du personnel de la police militaire... » Après avoir reçu la réponse du GPA NP, le plaignant a réclamé un examen de la Commission.

Bien que la Commission convienne que le traitement des détenus relève traditionnellement de la police militaire, cette responsabilité ne revient pas exclusivement à celle-ci. L’information dont dispose la Commission semble indiquer que le personnel des FC a bel et bien vu au transfert des détenus afghans de 2002 à 2005, mais que très peu de membres de la police militaire en service se trouvaient sur le théâtre durant cette période. La Commission traite les allégations de cette nature avec le plus grand sérieux, comme l’indique la tenue d’audiences publiques qu’elle a ordonnée au sujet de plaintes semblables déposées par Amnistie internationale Canada (AIC) et la British Columbia Civil Liberties Association. La Commission n’a toutefois pas le mandat d’enquêter sur des accusations qui ne touchent nullement les activités de la police militaire; elle n’a donc pas le pouvoir d’approfondir l’enquête sur la plainte.

Date de modification :