MPCC-2006-022

The complaint’s allegations related to the handling of an assault allegation against the complainant. It had been alleged that the complainant assaulted his estranged spouse in the parking lot of her residence on September 17, 2001. The estranged wife’s friend reported the allegation to the complainant’s chain of command the next day.

On September 24, 2001, the estranged spouse made a formal complaint of assault against the complainant to the local Military Police Detachment. Her complaint, however, did not mention any assault taking place on September 17, 2001. A Corporal at the MP Detachment was assigned to the file and he commenced an investigation. On September 25, 2001, local MP detachment members took a sworn and videotaped statement from the estranged spouse. An MP Captain (a subject of the complaint) administered the oath required for the statement. In her statement, the complainant’s estranged spouse talked about various times that she had been assaulted, threatened and harassed by the complainant, but she did not mention anything in relation to an alleged assault of September 17, 2001. Thus, no charges were ever laid in relation to that alleged assault.

However, based upon the Military Police investigation and the statement given by the estranged spouse, the complainant was arrested on September 25, 2001 for assaulting his estranged spouse in March of 2000. Following a review of the case by the Crown prosecutor, he was ultimately charged with assault, criminal harassment, and uttering threats. On September 19, 2002, subsequent to a plea agreement, he entered a plea of guilty to the charge of criminal harassment.

In December of 2002, the estranged spouse’s friend commenced a harassment complaint against the complainant. The complainant then requested disclosure of the documentation supporting the harassment complaint. As a result of this disclosure, he became aware of the September 17, 2001 assault allegation. The complainant subsequently complained to MPs that the September 18, 2001 report of an assault against the complainant’s estranged spouse was false.

The complainant also contended that the subject MP Captain, had previously been aware of the September 18, 2001 assault allegation but failed to disclose certain information relating to this alleged incident. He felt that the subject member’s failure to disclose could have affected the outcome of his court case surrounding the March 2000 incident that led to his conviction.

The complainant’s allegations against his estranged spouse’s friend led to a CFNIS investigation. The investigator was mandated to investigate whether or not the friend had committed public mischief by reporting the September 17, 2001 assault allegation, knowing that the assault did not happen. In November 2003, the investigator concluded that no charges were warranted against the complainant’s estranged spouse’s friend.

Upon reviewing the CFNIS’s investigation of the estranged spouse’s friend, the complainant, on January 7, 2004, made a conduct complaint consisting of three separate allegations:

  1. that the subject Captain of the local Military Police Detachment withheld evidence;
  2. that the subject CFNIS investigator failed to report information he had learned in his investigation; and,
  3. that various members of the local MP detachment failed to act on various complaints put forth by himself.

DPM PS investigated these allegations and concluded that none of the allegations made by the complainant were supported. On July 4th, 2006 the complainant requested a review of the entire matter by the Complaints Commission.

After a review of all relevant information received from the CFPM and interviews done by MPCC investigators, the Chair found that for allegation “a”, the subject MP Captain had no knowledge of the September 17, 2001 assault allegation. As for allegation “b”, the CFNIS’ investigation was complete, thorough, objective and professional and that the subject investigator had not received any information about the alleged assault from the subject MP Captain. Finally, as for allegation “c”, the MPCC found no MP records of any complaints made by the complainant against his estranged spouse.

Date modified:

CPPM-2006-022

Les allégations de la plainte concernent le traitement d'une allégation de voie de fait contre le plaignant. Il a été allégué que le 17 septembre 2001, le plaignant a agressé son ex-conjointe dans le stationnement de sa résidence. Le compagnon de l'ex-conjointe a rapporté l'allégation à la chaîne de commandement du plaignant le lendemain.

Le 24 septembre 2001, l’ex-conjointe a déposé une plainte officielle pour voies de fait contre le plaignant au détachement de la police militaire (PM) locale. Toutefois, la plainte n’a pas mentionné l’agression du 17 septembre 2001. Un caporal du détachement de la PM a été assigné au dossier et a commencé son enquête. Le 25 septembre 2001, un membre du détachement de la PM locale, a recueilli, sur vidéo, une déclaration sous serment de la part de l’ex-conjointe. Un capitaine de la PM (un membre visé) a fait prêter le serment nécessaire à la déclaration. Dans sa déclaration, l’ex-conjointe du plaignant a déclaré avoir été agressée, menacée et harcelée à maintes reprises par le plaignant, mais elle n’a rien mentionné au sujet de l’incident présumé du 17 septembre 2001. Par conséquent, aucune mise en accusation n’a été portée concernant cette agression présumée.

Toutefois, à la suite de l’enquête de la PM et de la déclaration faite par l’ex-conjointe, le plaignant a été arrêté le 25 septembre 2001 pour avoir agressé son ex-conjointe en mars 2000. À la suite d’un examen effectué par le procureur de la Couronne, le plaignant a été accusé de voie de fait, de harcèlement criminel et de profération de menaces. Le 19 septembre 2002, après avoir conclu une entente de plaidoyer, le plaignant a plaidé coupable à l’accusation de harcèlement criminel.

En décembre 2002, le compagnon de l’ex-conjointe a déposé une plainte de harcèlement contre le plaignant. Le plaignant a alors réclamé la divulgation des documents justifiant la plainte de harcèlement. C’est lors de cette divulgation que le plaignant a été informé de l’agression alléguée, qui aurait eu lieu le 17 septembre 2001. Le plaignant a par la suite déposé une plainte à la PM, selon laquelle le rapport daté du 18 septembre 2001, faisant état des voies de fait contre son ex-conjointe était faux.

Le plaignant a également soutenu que le capitaine de la PM, était précédemment au courant de l’agression alléguée du 18 septembre 2001, mais qu’il a omis de divulguer certains renseignements concernant le présumé incident. Le plaignant considère que cette omission de la part du militaire concerné aurait peut-être influencé l’issue de sa cause liée à l’incident de mars 2000, qui a entraîné sa condamnation.

Les accusations du plaignant à l’endroit du compagnon de son ex-conjointe ont provoqué une enquête du SNEFC. L’enquêteur avait pour mandat de déterminer si le compagnon avait commis un méfait public en signalant l’agression du 17 septembre 2001, sachant que l’incident n’avait pas eu lieu. En novembre 2003, l’enquêteur a conclu qu’aucune accusation n’était justifiée à l’égard du compagnon de l’ex-conjointe du plaignant.

Le 7 janvier 2004, après avoir examiné l’enquête au sujet du compagnon de son ex-conjointe, le plaignant a déposé une plainte pour inconduite comportant trois allégations :

  1. le membre visé, le capitaine du détachement de la PM locale, a omis de divulguer des preuves;
  2. le membre visé, l’enquêteur du SNEFC, a omis de rapporter des renseignements recueillis durant l’enquête;
  3. plusieurs membres du détachement de la PM locale ont omis de donner suite aux différentes plaintes qu'il a déposées.

Le GPA NP a enquêté sur les allégations formulées par le plaignant et a conclu qu’aucune d’entre elles n’était fondée. Le 4 juillet 2006, le plaignant a demandé un examen de l’ensemble de la situation par la CPPM.

Après un examen de tous les renseignements reçus de la part du GPFC et des entrevues menées par les enquêteurs de la CPPM, le président est arrivé aux conclusions suivantes : en ce qui concerne l’allégation « a », le membre visé, le capitaine de la PM, ne détenait pas d’information qu’il aurait pu omettre de divulguer au sujet de la présumée agression du 17 septembre 2001; pour l’allégation « b », l’enquête du SNEFC était complète, exhaustive, objective et menée de manière professionnelle, et l’enquêteur, membre visé, n’a pas été informé au sujet de l’agression présumée par le membre visé, le capitaine de la PM. Finalement, pour l’allégation « c », la CPPM n’a trouvé aucun dossier de la PM concernant une plainte déposée par le plaignant contre son ex-conjointe.

Date de modification :