MPCC-2013-021

On July 13, 2013, the complainant, himself a Military Police (MP) member at the time, made a number of conduct and interference complaints with the Military Police Complaints Commission (the Commission). The complaints related to the actions of a Warrant Officer (WO) and raised several matters related to the general and daily operations at the MP Detachment.

The allegations in this specific complaint relate to an incident on June 26, 2013, involving the WO. The complainant alleged that on this date, the WO yelled at a Commissionaire in the MP dispatch office. The complainant learned the yelling was apparently related to an incident having occurred on public space over the weekend. The complainant alleges that, after the incident with the Commissionaire, the WO apologized to the Head Commissionaire, but not directly to the individual Commissionaire concerned. The complainant alleged that such yelling and bringing up of personal issues at work is unacceptable behaviour on the part of the WO, particularly in light of his rank.

Having reviewed this complaint, the Commission has determined it does not fall within the statutory definition of a conduct complaint reviewable by this Commission.

In this case, while the WO was an MP member at the time of the alleged events and he was at work, his conduct in no way related to the exercise of any of the policing duties or functions listed in the legislation. Any yelling by the WO in his interactions with colleagues or subordinates, if such conduct did in fact take place, would be interpersonal or employment-related conduct and not related to the exercise of any policing duty or function. As such, the impugned conduct itself does not fall within the category of subject matters about which a conduct complaint can be made.

Consequently, the Commission agreed with the determination of the Deputy Commander that no complaint investigation is necessary in this case, as the complaint is not a valid conduct complaint within the meaning of National Defence Act (NDA) Part IV.

Date modified:

CPPM-2013-021

Le 13 juillet 2013, le plaignant, lui-même membre de la police militaire (PM) au moment des faits, a déposé un certain nombre de plaintes d'inconduite et d'ingérence à la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire (la Commission). Les plaintes en question concernaient des actions posées par un adjudant et ont soulevé des questions au sujet du déroulement général et quotidien des activités au détachement de PM.

Les allégations formulées dans la plainte dont il est ici question se rapportent à un incident survenu le 26 juin 2013 impliquant l'adjudant concerné. Le plaignant allègue que l'adjudant a alors crié après un commissionnaire au bureau de répartition de la PM. Le plaignant a ensuite appris que la dispute était liée à un incident survenu au cours de la fin de semaine dans un lieu public. Le plaignant allègue qu'après l'incident avec le commissionnaire, l'adjudant s'est excusé auprès du commissionnaire en chef, mais pas directement auprès du commissionnaire concerné. Selon le plaignant, en criant de cette façon et en évoquant des problèmes personnels au travail, l'adjudant a fait preuve d'un comportement inacceptable, en particulier si l'on tient compte de son grade.

Après avoir étudié la plainte, la Commission a déterminé que celle-ci ne correspond pas à la définition statutaire d'une plainte relevant de sa compétence.

Dans ce cas précis, bien que l'adjudant était membre de la PM et qu'il était en fonction au moment des faits allégués, sa conduite n'a aucun lien avec l'exercice de fonctions de nature policière énumérées dans la loi. Si l'adjudant a bel et bien crié après un collègue ou un subalterne, cela constitue une inconduite sur le plan interpersonnel ou professionnel, mais qui n'a pas de lien avec l'exercice de fonctions de nature policière. Ainsi, le comportement reproché ne fait pas, en soi, partie des sujets de plainte du ressort de la Commission.

Par conséquent, la Commission, comme le commandant adjoint, est d'avis qu'une enquête n'est pas nécessaire dans ce cas, puisqu'il ne s'agit pas d'une plainte valide au sens de la partie IV de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN).

Date de modification :