MPCC-2004-012

Facts and complaint

Two parties had a signed contract for the provision of day care services and when a disagreement arose the day-care provider gave formal notice that the contract was being terminated. During the course of discussions over the payment of fees owed and the provision of a receipt for fees paid the client (a military police member) made certain statements, which the day care provider perceived to be threatening. Following this, the day-care provider lodged a complaint against the member with his Military Police unit. At the time the complainant stated that she wanted to have a record if the military police member initiated any follow-up on his statements. Subsequently, the military police member forwarded a letter to the local Children's Aid Society (CAS) alleging that he had some serious concerns with the day-care provider. His allegation initiated an investigation of the day-care provider by the Society; however, the CAS investigation concluded that there were no problems with the operation of the day care service.

At this point, the day-care provider filed a conduct complaint alleging that the military police member had:

A Professional Standards investigator was tasked to look into the allegations and prepare a report

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

In her letter of final disposition further to the Professional Standards investigation the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards supported the allegation that the subject member had retaliated against the complainant and by doing so had engaged in conduct likely to discredit the Military Police. However, the investigation did not support the allegation that the subject member had knowingly falsified a report nor had he used his Military Police status for a non-work related matter.

The complainant was not satisfied with the disposition of his complaint and requested that the Complaints Commission conduct a review.

Findings of the Complaints Commission

The National Defence Act specifies that the Complaints Commission's mandate is to review the conduct of Military Police members in the performance of their policing duties or functions. The Acting Chairperson of the Complaints Commission reviewed the file and noted that the subject member was acting as a private citizen and not as a Military Police member. As such, the allegations against the subject member did not directly relate to the performance of policing duties and functions of Military Police members as prescribed in the regulations made under the National Defence Act and the Complaints Commission, therefore, did not have the mandate to address the allegations. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards, however, did have the mandate to investigate, as the Military Police Professional Code of Conduct includes behaviour both on duty and off duty. The Acting Chairperson agreed that the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards had used the correct process to deal with the allegations.

The Acting Chairperson also noted that, although he was precluded from making a determination in the matter, he was pleased to have had the opportunity to review the file.

Date modified:

CPPM-2004-012

Faits pertinents et plainte

Deux parties avaient signé un contrat pour la prestation de services de garde d'enfants. Toutefois, un désaccord est survenu et une des parties - l'éducatrice du service de garde -a décidé de mettre un terme au contrat. Au cours des discussions à propos du paiement des frais et de la préparation d'un reçu officiel, le client - un membre de la Police militaire - a tenu des propos qui, selon l'éducatrice, paraissaient menaçants. Par la suite, l'éducatrice a porté plainte contre le membre en question auprès de son détachement de la Police militaire. À ce moment, la plaignante a demandé à savoir si le membre de la Police militaire visé avait pris des mesures de son côté. Le policier a par la suite écrit à la société d'aide à l'enfance locale (SAE), prétendant qu'il avait de sérieux doutes au sujet des compétences de l'éducatrice concernée. Ces allégations ont été soumises à une enquête; toutefois, la SAE n'a relevé aucun problème dans le fonctionnement du service de garde.

Par ailleurs, l'éducatrice a déposé une plainte pour inconduite, alléguant que le membre de la Police militaire avait :

Un enquêteur des Normes professionnelles a été chargé d'examiner ces allégations et de faire rapport.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

À la suite de l'enquête des Normes professionnelles, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a rédigé une lettre de règlement finale dans laquelle il estime que le policier militaire en question a effectivement usé de représailles envers la plaignante et, par conséquent, qu'il a eu une conduite pouvant nuire à la réputation de la Police militaire. Toutefois, l'enquête n'a pas permis de corroborer les allégations selon lesquelles le membre a sciemment falsifié un rapport et qu'il a utilisé son statut de policier militaire dans un contexte hors du travail.

La plaignante n'étant pas satisfaite du traitement de sa plainte, elle a demandé à la Commission de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions de la Commission

La Loi sur la défense nationale prévoit que le mandat de la Commission est d'examiner la conduite des membres de la Police militaire dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions de nature policière. Le président intérimaire de la Commission a révisé le dossier. À son avis, le membre visé agissait à titre de civil et non d'agent de police. De fait, les allégations portées contre lui ne portaient pas directement sur les fonctions et les responsabilités qui lui incombent en tant que policier militaire. C'est pourquoi, en vertu de la Loi, la Commission n'avait pas le mandat de les examiner. Toutefois, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a le mandat de mener une enquête en vertu du Code de déontologie de la police militaire, qui porte sur la conduite des policiers militaires en tout temps. Le président intérimaire a jugé que le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a eu recours au processus approprié pour donner suite à ces allégations.

En outre, le président intérimaire a déclaré que, bien qu'il n'avait pas à donner son avis sur la question, il apprécie le fait d'avoir eu la possibilité de réviser le dossier.

Date de modification :