MPCC-2012-020

On November 17, 2011, the complainant wrote to the Commanding Officer (CO) of CFNIS seeking a criminal/service discipline investigation into allegations of wrongdoing against members of his former CF chain of command and others, including military police members, at the base where he worked in 2006–2008. The complainant wrote a further letter dated November 29, 2011, to the CO CFNIS inquiring whether the CFNIS had conducted any previous investigations into certain matters which the complainant alleges formed at least part of the basis of his 2007 release.

The then Deputy CO CFNIS replied on December 22, 2011 advising that after review of the correspondence received, it was determined that the complainant’s allegations would be not subject of a CFNIS investigation as they fell outside of the unit’s mandate.

On May 16, 2012, the Commission received a conduct complaint from the complainant regarding the CFNIS response to his allegations, which was forwarded to the CF Provost Marshal (CFPM) in accordance with NDA subsection 250.21(2).

Oh behalf of the CFPM, the Deputy Commander issued a letter of disposition of the complaint on August 14, 2012, stating that, after an extensive review of all relevant documentation, he concluded the CFNIS decision was correct. He further noted the complainant’s allegations to the CFNIS had already been primarily addressed in a previous MP Professional Standards investigation and in the related review by the Commission (MPCC 2010-012). The Deputy Commander concluded that the complaint regarding the CFNIS decision of December 22, 2011 was “frivolous and vexatious” in nature and would not be investigated pursuant to NDA paragraph 250.28(2)(a).

On August 17, 2012, the complainant wrote to the Commission requesting a review of his complaint.

After an extensive review of the MP files and correspondence received from the complainant, the Commission determined it was reasonable for the CFNIS to decline to investigate the complainant’s allegations. The Commission also considered it was reasonable for the Deputy Commander to decline to investigate the complainant’s conduct complaint under NDA subsection 250.28(2). The Commission accepts that this complaint could be construed as being “frivolous and vexatious” in nature within the meaning of NDA paragraph 250.28(2)(a). The Commission notes it could well fall within the category of complaints exempt from the requirement to investigate set out in paragraph (b) of the same subsection: matters better suited to another statutory process.

It was apparent to the Commission that the allegations the complainant sought to raise with the CFNIS all pertained to the circumstances surrounding his involuntary release from the CF in 2007. In the Commission’s view, such matters are more properly suited for the CF Grievance process, the DND/CF Ombudsman and/or civil courts, rather than the police. The mere fact that impugned actions or decisions can theoretically be characterized in terms of criminal or CF Code of Service Discipline liability does not suffice to trigger MPs’ duty to investigate.

Date modified:

CPPM-2012-020

Le 17 novembre 2011, le plaignant a écrit au commandant du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC), pour réclamer la tenue d’une enquête sur une infraction criminelle ou d’ordre militaire concernant des allégations d’actes répréhensibles de la part de certains membres de son ancienne chaîne de commandement et d’autres membres des FC, dont des agents de la police militaire, de la base où il travaillait en 2006–2008. Le 29 novembre 2011, le plaignant a écrit une autre lettre au commandant du SNEFC, où il lui demandait s’il avait mené des enquêtes précédemment sur certaines questions qui, selon le plaignant, sont à l’origine de son renvoi en 2007.

Le 22 décembre 2011, le commandant adjoint du SNEFC de l’époque a répondu que, après avoir examiné la correspondance reçue, il avait conclu que le SNEFC n'enquêterait pas sur les accusations portées par le plaignant, puisque celles-ci ne relèvent pas du mandat de l’unité.

Le 16 mai 2012, la Commission a reçu une plainte pour inconduite de la part du plaignant concernant la réponse du SNEFC à ses accusations. La plainte a été transmise au Grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes (GPFC), conformément au paragraphe 250.21(2) de la LDN.

Le 14 août 2012, le commandant adjoint a envoyé une lettre de règlement de la plainte au nom du GPFC, où il indiquait qu’après un examen approfondi de tous les documents pertinents, il avait conclu que la décision du SNEFC était fondée. Il a souligné par ailleurs que les accusations du plaignant présentées au SNEFC avaient déjà fait l’objet d’une enquête par l’unité responsable des normes professionnelles de la PM et d’un examen connexe par la Commission (MPCC 2010‑012). Pour ces raisons, le commandant adjoint a déclaré « futile ou vexatoire » la plainte concernant la décision du SNEFC, rendue le 22 décembre 2011, et qu’elle ne ferait pas l’objet d’une enquête en vertu de l’alinéa 250.28(2)(a) de la LDN.

Le 17 août 2012, le plaignant a écrit à la Commission pour réclamer un examen de sa plainte.

À la suite d’un examen approfondi des dossiers de la PM et de la correspondance reçue du plaignant, la Commission a conclu qu’il était raisonnable de la part du SNEFC de refuser d’enquêter les accusations portées par le plaignant. Par ailleurs, la Commission juge raisonnable que le refus du commandant adjoint de mener une enquête sur la plainte pour inconduite déposée par le plaignant, en vertu du paragraphe 250.28(2) de la LDN. La Commission considère que cette plainte peut être jugée de nature « futile ou vexatoire » aux termes de l’alinéa 250.28(2)(a) de la LDN. La Commission note que cela pourrait bien tomber dans la catégorie des plaintes exemptées de l'obligation d'enquêter énoncée à l’alinéa (b) du même paragraphe: des questions mieux adaptées à une autre procédure légale.

De l’avis de la Commission, il était manifeste que les accusations dont le plaignant a fait part au SNEFC étaient toutes liées aux circonstances entourant sa libération recommandée des FC, en 2007. Selon la Commission, ce genre de questions relève davantage du processus de règlement des griefs des FC, de l’Ombudsman du MDN et des FC, ou des cours civiles, que de la police. Le simple fait que les actions ou les décisions contestées peuvent, en théorie, se caractériser en termes de la responsabilité criminelle ou par des infractions militaires ne suffit pas pour déclencher l’obligation de la PM d’enquêter.

Date de modification :