MPCC-2004-035

Facts and complaint

A Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator and a member of the local police force met to discuss information that the member of the local police force had received in confidence regarding a civilian employee of the Canadian Forces Base. The information concerned the alleged illegal drug activities of the employee and his spouse. Subsequently, the local police decided to execute a search warrant of the employee's residence, with the assistance of the RCMP, and requested the attendance of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator and a uniformed Military Police member. The warrant was served, the residence was searched, drugs were seized, and the RCMP arrested the employee and his spouse. Further to the arrest, the security clearance of the employee was suspended and he was advised not to return to work and to return his identification cards. As a result, the employee's contract with his third-party employer was terminated and he was laid-off. The employee then filed a conduct complaint with the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal containing numerous allegations against the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service and the Military Police.

The complainant alleged that: the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigator had not conducted a thorough or proper investigation, the investigator had been delinquent in the performance of his duties, the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigation report was defective and the actions of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service and the Military Police led to the complainant's loss of employment, caused him financial hardship and tarnished his reputation.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The complainant's file was reviewed by the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards and, based on the review, it was determined that the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service was not the policing body responsible for charging and prosecuting the complainant. Further, the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service had simply reported the information and the base authorities were the ones responsible for taking the actions regarding the security clearance and access to the base. As such, it was decided, pursuant to section 250.28(2)(c) of the National Defence Act, that a Professional Standards investigation was “not necessary or reasonably practicable” and the complainant was informed accordingly. Following this, the complainant submitted a letter to the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards expressing his dissatisfaction and raising additional allegations regarding the authority and jurisdiction of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service to investigate him. The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards again reviewed the file and again maintained the decision that further investigation was not necessary.

The complainant was not satisfied with the disposal of his complaint and asked the Complaints Commission to review his file.

Findings and Recommendations of the Complaints Commission

The Acting Chairperson of the Complaints Commission disagreed with the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards decision and the use of section 250.28(2)(c) of the National Defence Act as a rationale for not calling the investigation. In the Acting Chairperson's view, the Military Police members, although not primarily responsible for the complainant's arrest, actively participated in the execution of the search warrant and by doing so were performing policing duties and functions as identified in the National Defence Act. As such, an investigation into the complainant's allegations should have been conducted. The Acting Chairperson recommended that the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards initiate an investigation into the complaint, arrange for the preparation of a formal investigation report and complete a Report of Findings and Actions. The Acting Chairperson also noted that other Military Police members were involved in the execution of the search warrant but were not named as subject members in this complaint. He therefore recommended that the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards review this and name those members in order to ensure that the review is complete and the members' rights are respected.

Reply of the Complaints Commission following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

The Acting Chairperson was pleased to note that, in his Notice of Action, the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal clarified the rationale of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards for not initiating a formal investigation and indicated that, in future, the reasoning behind such a decision will be more clearly expressed. The Acting Chairperson is also satisfied that the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal will proceed with an investigation and prepare the necessary reports, as required by the Act. As well, if the complainant is not satisfied with the results of the new disposition of his conduct complaint the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards will inform him of his right to request a review.

Date modified:

CPPM-2004-035

Faits pertinents et plainte

Un enquêteur du Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC) et un membre du service de police local se sont rencontrés pour discuter des renseignements confidentiels transmis à un membre du service de police local au sujet d'un employé civil de la base des Forces canadiennes. Ce dernier et son épouse font l'objet d'une allégation concernant des activités illégales liées à des substances illicites. Un membre du service de police local a demandé un mandat de perquisition pour fouiller la résidence de l'employé en question avec la collaboration d'un membre de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), en précisant qu'ils seraient accompagnés de l'enquêteur du SNEFC et d'un policier militaire en uniforme. Ils ont donc procédé à la fouille de la résidence où ils ont trouvé et saisi des substances illicites. Le membre de la GRC a arrêté l'employé en question et son épouse. À la suite de l'arrestation, l'attestation de sécurité de l'employé a été suspendue et il a été sommé de remettre ses cartes d'identités. De plus, l'accès à son lieu de travail lui a été interdit. L'employé a également perdu son emploi chez un tiers employeur, ce dernier l'ayant congédié. Finalement, l'employé a présenté une plainte pour inconduite auprès du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes dans laquelle on retrouvait diverses allégations visant le SNEFC et la Police militaire.

Le plaignant allègue ce qui suit : l'enquête du SNEFC était incomplète; l'enquêteur du SNEFC a agit d'une manière inappropriée et non professionnelle; le rapport du SNEFC comportait des lacunes; la démarche du SNEFC et de la Police militaire a mené à son congédiement, ce qui lui a occasionné des problèmes financiers en plus de ternir sa réputation.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles a révisé le dossier du plaignant et a conclu que le SNEFC n'avait pas l'autorité nécessaire pour accuser et poursuivre le plaignant. En outre, le SNEFC n'avait qu'à rapporter l'information alors que les autorités de la base militaire étaient responsables de prendre les mesures nécessaires concernant l'attestation de sécurité et l'accès aux installations de la base militaire. C'est pourquoi, en vertu de l'alinéa 250.28(2)c) de la Loi sur la défense nationale, une enquête des Normes professionnelles a été jugée inutile ou exagérément difficile, et le plaignant en a été avisé. Par la suite, le plaignant a envoyé une lettre au grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles pour exprimer son insatisfaction et pour soulever d'autres allégations concernant le pouvoir et la compétence du SNEFC de mener une enquête à son endroit. Le grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles a révisé à nouveau le dossier et a maintenu la conclusion selon laquelle une enquête plus approfondie n'était pas nécessaire.

Le plaignant n'était pas satisfait du traitement de sa plainte et a demandé à la Commission de réviser son dossier.

Conclusions et recommandations de la Commission

Le président intérimaire de la Commission n'appuie pas la décision du grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles, ni l'invocation de l'alinéa 250.28(2)c) de la Loi sur la défense nationale pour justifier le refus de tenir une enquête. Le président intérimaire considère que les membres de la Police militaire, bien qu'ils n'étaient pas principalement responsables de l'arrestation du plaignant, ont participé activement à la fouille et en ce faisant, ont exercé des fonctions de nature policière telles qu'elles sont énoncées dans la Loi. Pour cette raison, il juge que les allégations du plaignant auraient dû faire l'objet d'une enquête. Le président intérimaire a recommandé au grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles de lancer une enquête portant sur les allégations du plaignant, de voir à la préparation d'un rapport d'enquête officiel et de remplir un rapport sur les conclusions et les mesures prises. Le président intérimaire indique également que d'autres membres de la Police militaire ont été impliqués dans l'exécution du mandat de perquisition, mais qu'ils n'ont pas été informés que la plainte les visait. Par conséquent, il a recommandé au grand prévôt adjoint d'examiner à nouveau le dossier afin d'aviser ces personnes, de s'assurer que la révision soit exhaustive et que les droits des membres visés soient respectés.

Réponse de la Commission à la suite de la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le président intérimaire s'est réjoui du fait que, dans sa notification, le grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles clarifié la justification énoncée par le grand prévôt adjoint pour ne pas lancer une enquête formelle en indiquant, qu'à l'avenir, les raisons d'une telle décision devront être mieux expliquées. Le président intérimaire est également satisfait de constater que le grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes mènera une enquête et préparera les rapports requis, comme le prévoit la Loi. En conclusion, si le plaignant est insatisfait des nouvelles mesures prises concernant sa plainte pour inconduite, le grand prévôt adjoint Normes professionnelles lui fera part de son droit de demander une révision.

Date de modification :