MPCC-2003-033

Facts and complaint

An anonymous letter was received by the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service alleging that computer equipment on a military base had been purchased improperly, that other computers had been stolen from cadets and that several persons had computers in their homes. Part of the investigation plan prepared by the National Investigation Service stated that a thorough stock check of all equipment within cadet organizations should be ordered conducted. An audit was also conducted and the report produced indicated that there was a serious potential for fraud, theft, and/or misuse or misappropriation of National Defence material. The Commanding Officer supported an immediate investigation into the matter and ordered a verification of all equipment. Materials were gathered, interviews were conducted with certain individuals and one individual was arrested; however, the person was later released and was informed shortly thereafter that no charges would be laid. The individual was also suspended from duty but reinstated a short while later.

The conduct complaint that was subsequently received alleged that the complainant had been unjustifiably arrested, had not been told the reason for the interview and had been pressured to continue with the interview after declining to do so, and had been humiliated and embarrassed. In addition, it was alleged that the subject member had abused his authority and intimidated the complainant.

Decision of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal

The Letter of Final Disposition of the Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards supported the findings of the Canadian Forces National Investigation Service investigation report. The report concluded that the allegation that the complainant was not advised of the reason for the interview was not supported as the complainant had been informed from the beginning of the nature of the interview. The allegation that the subject member tried to intimidate the complainant was supported based on the actions of the Military Police member throughout the interview. The allegation that the complainant had been falsely arrested was supported by the investigation, which found that the subject members had the mistaken belief that they had reasonable and probable grounds to proceed with an arrest.

The Deputy Provost Marshal Professional Standards also observed other anomalies with respect to the investigation and concluded that the Military Police members had contravened Military Police Policies and Procedures and the Military Police Professional Code of Conduct.

The complainant was not satisfied with the results of the investigation and requested that the Complaints Commission conduct a review.

Findings and recommendations of the Complaints Commission

The Acting Chairperson of the Complaints Commission found that the interview conducted by the subject members was not in and of itself improper as the police are not required in law to be completely open and transparent in their dealings with suspects and witnesses during the course of an ongoing investigation. The complainant had been informed that she was a suspect in the investigation and was advised that she had the right to legal counsel. However, the failure to properly caution the complainant during the interview was problematic as this type of omission could lead to a suspect's rights being breached and the process being jeopardized.

The Acting Chairperson found that the subject member improperly attempted to pressure the complainant into continuing the interview, in clear violation of established policies, which would have jeopardized the process if the attempt had been successful.

As well, the Acting Chairperson found that the subject members lacked reasonable grounds to arrest the complainant. In fact, this presented a serious concern as the subject members' misunderstanding of the concept of reasonable grounds was highlighted when they continued to defend their actions and to deny that they lacked legal grounds for the arrest. The Acting Chairperson recommended that the relevant policies and procedures be reviewed and amended as needed. As well, the arrest of the complainant at her workplace and the use of mechanical restraints were unwarranted and needlessly contributed to the embarrassment of the complainant.

The Acting Chairperson noted that the final letters of disposition sent to the complainant and the subject members differed somewhat. In particular, the complainant did not receive any information regarding the measures taken regarding the subject members; this sort of omission can leave complainants with the impression that their complaints have not been adequately addressed.

Reply of the Complaints Commission following the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal Notice of Action

The Acting Chairperson is satisfied with the response of the Canadian Forces Provost Marshal regarding the steps to be taken to ensure that the subject member fully understands the importance of timely cautioning of suspects and the distinction between cautioning them and informing them of their rights under the Charter.

Date modified:

CPPM-2003-033

Faits pertinents et plainte

Une lettre anonyme a été envoyée au Service national des enquêtes des Forces canadiennes (SNEFC), alléguant que sur une base militaire du matériel informatique avait été acheté de façon inappropriée, que d'autres ordinateurs avaient été volés à des cadets et que plusieurs personnes avaient des ordinateurs à la maison. Dans son plan d'enquête, le SNEFC indiquait qu'une vérification complète des stocks de l'organisation des cadets devrait être menée. Un rapport préparé à la suite d'une vérification mentionnait la forte possibilité qu'il y ait eu fraude, vol et/ou mauvais usage ou détournement de biens appartenant à la Défense nationale. Le commandant a appuyé la tenue immédiate d'une enquête dans cette affaire et a ordonné une vérification de tout l'équipement. Les preuves ont été recueillies, certains individus ont été interrogés, et un membre des Forces canadiennes a été arrêté; cependant, cette personne a été relâchée par la suite et informée qu'aucune accusation ne serait portée contre elle. En outre, elle a été suspendue de ses fonctions, mais les a réintégrées quelques temps après.

La plainte pour inconduite envoyée par la suite alléguait que cette personne avait été arrêtée injustement, qu'elle n'avait pas été informée des motifs de l'interrogatoire et qu'on l'avait forcée à poursuivre l'interrogation même si elle avait refusé de s'y soumettre, et qu'elle avait été humiliée et embarrassée. Par ailleurs, on indiquait que le policier militaire avait abusé de son autorité et l'avait intimidée.

Décision du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

La lettre de règlement final du grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) appuyait les conclusions du rapport du SNEFC, c'est à dire que l'allégation à l'effet que la plaignante n'avait pas été informée du motif de l'interrogatoire n'était pas fondée puisque cela avait été fait dès le départ. L'allégation concernant le policier militaire, qui aurait tenté d'intimider la plaignante pendant toute la durée de l'interrogatoire, était fondée. Les résultats de l'enquête ont confirmé l'allégation selon laquelle l'arrestation de la plaignante était illégale, et ont démontré que le policier militaire croyait, à tort, avoir des motifs raisonnables et valables pour procéder à l'arrestation.

Par ailleurs, le grand prévôt adjoint (Normes professionnelles) a observé d'autres anomalies au sujet de cette enquête et conclu que les policiers militaires avaient contrevenu aux Politiques et directives techniques de la police militaire et au Code de déontologie de la police militaire.

La plaignante, insatisfaite des résultats de l'enquête, a demandé à la Commission de procéder à une révision.

Conclusions et recommandations de la Commission

Le président par intérim de la Commission a déterminé que l'interrogatoire effectué par les policiers militaires n'était pas en soi incorrect, puisque les policiers ne sont pas tenus par la loi de faire preuve d'ouverture et de transparence dans leur interaction avec les suspects et les témoins dans le cadre d'une enquête. La plaignante savait qu'elle était soupçonnée par la police et qu'elle avait le droit d'être représentée par un avocat. Cependant, l'omission d'avertir la plaignante de ses droits au cours de l'interrogatoire causait problème, puisque cette omission aurait pu porter atteinte à ses droits et compromettre le processus.

Le président par intérim a déterminé que le policier militaire avait fait des pressions indues sur la plaignante dans le but de poursuivre l'interrogatoire, ce qui contrevient directement aux politiques établies, et aurait pu compromettre le processus, si le policier avait réussi à persuader la plaignante.

En outre, le président par intérim a indiqué que les policiers militaires n'avaient pas de motifs raisonnables pour justifier l'arrestation de la plaignante. De fait, il s'agissait d'une importante préoccupation, puisque les policiers militaires semblaient ne pas bien saisir le concept de motifs raisonnables et ont persisté à se défendre et à nier le fait qu'ils n'avaient pas de preuves pour procéder à l'arrestation de la plaignante. Le président par intérim a recommandé que les politiques et les procédures pertinentes soient examinées et modifiées si nécessaire. Par ailleurs, l'arrestation de la plaignante à son lieu de travail et l'utilisation de moyens de contention l'ont embarrassée et étaient superflus.

Le président par intérim a signalé que les lettres de décisions finales envoyées à la plaignante différaient quelque peu de celles envoyées aux policiers militaires. La plaignante, en particulier, n'a pas été informée des mesures prises contre les policiers militaires; cette omission pourrait lui donner l'impression que les plaintes n'ont pas été traitées adéquatement.

Réponse de la Commission à la notification du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes

Le président par intérim est satisfait de la réponse du grand prévôt des Forces canadiennes concernant les mesures prises pour garantir que le policier militaire saisisse bien l'importance d'informer les suspects de leurs droits en temps opportun en vertu de la Charte, et qu'il sait faire la distinction entre fournir une mise en garde aux plaignants et les informer de leurs droits.

Date de modification :